Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
The rollocking theme music backdropped by a moonlit chase culminating in the silhouette of a gently swaying gallows both frightened and fascinated me as a small boy.
Coming back to the series as an adult I must say it's actually bloody good tv.
I bought all the series separately myself, at not some small expense, so this is an extremely good value, even at...
Published on 17 Jun 2010 by John Colman

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed viewing
I enjoyed this as a child and thought I would give it another go because of my academic interest in Jacobitism and the eighteenth century, about which I have had quite a few works published.

As an adventure drama aimed at children and others, its quite good. There's lots of fights and chases, the heroes always win and the villains lose, but no one's seriously...
Published 16 months ago by Junius


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 17 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The rollocking theme music backdropped by a moonlit chase culminating in the silhouette of a gently swaying gallows both frightened and fascinated me as a small boy.
Coming back to the series as an adult I must say it's actually bloody good tv.
I bought all the series separately myself, at not some small expense, so this is an extremely good value, even at MSRP.
The weakest of the 3 seasons is "Dick Turpin's Greatest Adventure" which was an attempt to reinvent the series with a longer story-arc however it's still well worth watching.
If you're familiar with anything else written by Richard Carpenter you'll probably recognise some of his favourite plot themes being recycled in this (at least twice *smileyface* ).
Expect to see some beautiful English countryside, ramshackle barns and old country houses.
Overall, great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stand & Deliver, 19 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This was a old TV series that I remembered from my childhood so I decided to buy it on DVD and to my surprise loved watching it all over again. as my title says this has stood the test of time and delivered 100% a must for anyone interested in Dick Turpin, although this portrays him as a good and hard dun by person its still good old television at its best. I Highly Recommend this set and hope this has helped you decide for your self.Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dick turpin, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
These are the tales of the famous 18th Century Highwayman Dick Turpin as seen through the eyes of the series creator Richard Carpenter.
Dick Turpin, played by Richard O`Sullivan (also known from series like Man about the house and Robins Nest) cheated out of his money while on war duty in Flanders, decides to regain his wealth by robbing people.
He has adversaries in the corrupt Sir John Glutton and his steward Spiker. But Dick has help from his own sidekick Swiftnick.
Highway robbery may not seem like a thing associated with a hero, but here Turpin is considered a folk hero since he is always helping people. He is always doing his bit for the common good.
The series is full of swashbuckling adventure as Dick and Swiftnick try to avoid the hangman's noose.
This series is packed with half hour episodes that were originally screened on ITV in the late 1970s and early 1980s at teatime on Sundays. The aim was at younger viewers although it is suitable as a family show.
The film print seems to have suffered a bit. The colours have faded a little. And the production is slightly dated but because it is set in the 18th Century and a sort of period drama it still works. The show is fast paced and quite entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't stand, get it delivered!, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this as a kid in the late 70's,
it seemed pretty good fun then, so I thought I would give it another go.
And I wasn't disappointed, made by a team including British quality TV stalwart Richard Carpenter,who also brought us the excellent Smuggler & Catweazle (as well as many others).
This is a quality show,from the moment Turpins horse rears up in the moonlight to the strains of the spooky theme tune, you are hooked! the stories are excellent, with the right mix of drama and comedy, with the 'Upright Man' being my favorite, Richard O'sullivan is excellent as Turpin,as are all the cast really, the villains ham it up nicely and It looks good,attention to detail has been paid to clothing and the way people spoke in the 18th Century, unlike later offerings such as BBC's Robin Hood where they all seemed to wear modern clothing and Robin himself spoke as if he had just walked out of an episode of Corrie!
If you are a fan of nostalgic British TV, when people made the effort, do yourself a favour and snap this up, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mixture of history & romance, 28 Mar 2009
By 
J. M. Harman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a marvellous period piece of story-telling, even if the character of Dick Turpin is somewhat romantisied! Although these series of progammes contain a great deal of swashbuckling, sword-play and humour, I am concentrating, in this review on Dick`s relationship with women. In series one, during the episode entitled "The Pursuit" the lovely Lady Belinda (Stacy Dorning) shows that she is a match for any man by adopting the career of a highwayrobber. She and Turpin fall in love, even though she outwits him by stealing his loot! The beautiful girl shows great enterprise when she declares to her cousin: "Here`s a small fortune Charles, and all got with a good horse, a pistol, and a `Damn you, you dog! Stand & Deliver!` Charles, however, proves a traitor, and it is left to our hero, Dick, to rescue this lovely heroine from being transported to Virginia U.S.A.

The programme: "The Hostages" is notable for the scene in which a lovely noblewoman, played by Mary Maude, falls from her horse into a river and is rescued by our highwayman hero. She awakes to find herself in bed and then realizes that she is unclothed! With what delicacy the scene is handled when this handsome man tells her, "Yes, I undressed you madam," and seeing that she is suffering from amnesia, nurses her back to health, showing a love and respect for the lady.

This is completely reversed in the second series when, in the programme: "Deadlier Than The Male" Turpin is seen being looked after and cared for by the beautiful heroine,(Lindsay Duncan) In the same context "The Fox" shows how Lady Julia Manderville, (Sarah Bullen) a proud, noble beauty, whose highwayman brother was killed by Lord Manderville`s men, is helped to escape by Dick who has fallen deeply in love with her. There is one noticeable thing when they set off: during the hunt sequence, her ladyship rode a big, roan-coloured horse; now she is well-mounted on a large, splendid black stallion, equal to Turpin`s mount, "Black Bess" It seems symbolic that these two handsome people should ride similar horses: the beautiful noblewoman riding a stallion, Turpin astride his black mare; a slight sexual connotation, one senses, for it seems to link them closer together. After Dick defeats Lord Manderville in a dual, he approaches the beautiful Julia, now re-mounted. The lovely noblewoman looks down fondly at this man who has obtained her freedom and loves him very much, "Goodb`ye, Turpin," she says tenderly, "good fortune on the road." Then, wheeling her magnificent horse away, canters off to a new life of happiness, leaving Dick with a joyful heart.

The episode entitled "The Hanging" has a similar theme, but this time Dick runs off with the gorgeous lady, played by the beautiful Jennie Linden; oh, how fabulous she looks on a horse in an earlier scene,plus when she tries to assume the `Foine country wench loike oi` accent. obviously false, for as Turpin says, a farmer`s wife would not ride a horse of such good quality. Note how Turpin`s sense of mischief is made apparent: when he and the lovely lady of the manor are riding away in the final scene, he declares, "Well, you`re Lady Harrington," she replies, "And you`re Dick Turpin," Dick acknowledges this with, "Your obedient servant Ma`am," she murmurs, "And yours". And we know from their seductive looks that their acquaintanceship will not end with mere words, for she asks, "And how long shall I be your...ahem...`hostage` Mr. Turpin!" her bright eyes dancing with merriment. "As long as you like!" he laughs, thinking of the pleasure to come when he beds her, for the lady is more than willing!

"Dick Turpin`s Greatest Adventure" however, strikes a more "adult" note, which prompted a "12" censorship ruling. The tone is set in the first scene, when a gibbet containing a man`s skeleton is shown. When Dick robs the Attorney General`s coach and the lovely Lady Melford (Susan Hampshire) asks fearfully, "Do you mean to harm (i.e.rape)me?" The question raises a smile; in fact this gorgeous noblewoman will later find that this dashing highwayman intends to do just the opposite, for in a later scene, the camera is in the lady`s boudoir and performs a smooth, sensuous "glide" down Turpin`s sword; a definite phallic symbol. We then hear soft moans of bliss from her ladyship, leading to the most beautiful, tender love-scene in the whole series. The camera pans to the bed and this handsome couple are shown lying together,Turpin having "serviced"(with her willing consent)this lovely noblewoman. Lady Melford expresses her contentment with this arrangement. "Then, if you`re content: I`m satisfied." Turpin declares. This brings a deep sigh of ecstasy from the beautiful lady - the scene being enhanced by the beautiful bird-song! - Her later remarks are significant. "They`ll hang you oneday I suppose; such a waste," she whispers tenderly, adding, "when Lord Melford visits America, you must call on me again". Deeply unhappy in her marriage,she has committed adultery, become Turpin`s mistress and in so doing has demonstrated her deep love for him. Thus, any class and social barrier that might have existed between them has been dissolved. However, the joy this radiantly beautiful noblewoman finds in the situation is tempered by the fact that she realizes it cannot last, therefore it is important to enjoy the present moment. Also, by the tender way she strokes this handsome robber`s hair and her fulsome looks of adoration, we know that she is receiving true and perfect love from Turpin which,in her "arranged" marriage with his lordship, she is denied. All this makes this a DVD worth purchasing, if, like me, you are a unashamed romantic!
John Harman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollicking Good Fun!, 6 Mar 2013
By 
C. Duff "CDuff" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I last watched these programmes as a 10 year old boy. The DVD set shows all the episodes, some of which I remember and are good quality drama fitted into 30 minute episodes. There's a strong cast and it's good to see Richard O'Sullivan in his prime as Dick Turpin, the 'Highwayman with a Heart'. The picture quality isn't your HD of today but I think it adds to the nostalgia. I would recommend this series to anyone who saw the original transmission and fans of a bit of rollicking good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All things must pass, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Dick turpin crossed the English channel and arrived on French tv in the early 80s. a very good tv series from britain. I am french and a very big fan of tv series from England. So many great tv shows such as "danger man", "the persuaders" , "space 1999", "the prisoner" and more recently "midsomer murders".Long live England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The good old days?, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a total nostalgia fest. Richard O`Sullivan plays Dick Turpin as not always so nice but even so if you know a little about the legend this is definitely a watered down version made for Saturday afternoon family viewing. Still very enjoyable for all that even if just for the scenery and watching Captain Spiker constantly being made a fool of. (Think Dukes of Hazzard on horseback with Black Bess instead of The General Lee).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why don't they make telly like this any more!, 3 May 2012
By 
R. Burrows - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this when I was a child, bought it on DVD expecting to quite enjoy seeing it again and love it! Sure my kids will love it too when they're a bit older! Definitely buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just as I remember when I was ten, 24 Jan 2010
By 
R. Rundle "nostalgiliser" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Adventure , charm, rogues, ruffians, fops, busty wenches, damsels in distress,dastardly double crosses and a grainy realism says all I need to say really!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD]
Dick Turpin The Complete Series [DVD] by James Allen (DVD - 2008)
13.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews