Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like this any more!
This is a concert DVD like almost no other released today.
The camera doesn't jump about all over the place or cut from one image to another with such lightning speed it sends the viewer dizzy. Nor is there constant cutting to the audience, showing people jumping up and down and exhaustively clapping with their hands above their heads, as it seems audiences feel...
Published on 6 Nov. 2008 by D. Evans

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but it's not right.
If you want to see the Arctic Monkeys performing songs from their 'Golden Era' then this DVD is for you.

What I don't really understand about this release is that whilst it does capture their performance, it doesn't feel like a live show. The crowd noise and shots have been kept to an absolute minimum and it feels more like a piece of art than a recording of...
Published 18 months ago by YorkiePete


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like this any more!, 6 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a concert DVD like almost no other released today.
The camera doesn't jump about all over the place or cut from one image to another with such lightning speed it sends the viewer dizzy. Nor is there constant cutting to the audience, showing people jumping up and down and exhaustively clapping with their hands above their heads, as it seems audiences feel obliged to do these days to show they are 'having a good time!' Indeed the audience aren't featured at all. The only time you can see them is from the backstage camera when they are viewed in the distance and individuals can't be picked out. The jumping up and down and clapping actually looks even sillier in microcosm.
No, this is a concert film that could have been made forty years ago in that the camera often lingers on the musicians long enough for the viewer to take in what's going on. Even the split screen technique is straight out of 1970 Woodstock, and rather than gimmicky seems quaintly old fashioned these days, certainly when compared with the lightning intercutting of most modern music DVD's
All this is actually quite refreshing and makes for a pleasant change. However the DVD isn't perfect.
The stage is often rather dark, again this is how concerts used to be and it takes a bit of getting used to after the frequently brightly lit modern concert films.
Although the number of songs is generous, featuring all the well known numbers a few of my favourites such as 'Mardy Bum', 'Riot Van' and the ep tracks 'Despair in The Departure Lounge' and 'Who The F Are the Arctic Monkeys?' are missing; and the extras which are supposed to be worth 'over an hour of extras' don't actually amount to that much. Why the two tracks featured in the extras 'Balaclava' and 'Bad Woman' aren't just included in the main feature I don't know. Apart from these and some more split screen and different mix stuff there is nothing else - no interviews or videos for example.
Although a refreshing change from most modern concert videos, the whole concert has rather an odd feel at times. With the lack of reference to the audience it almost feel sometimes like the band are playing in the studio or appearing on the Old Grey Whistle Test! Although I don't like lots of shots of the audience, I think a few are okay just to show the atmosphere. Similarly, although Alex Turner does talk to the audience, at times he seems rather self conscious and certainly self effacing, and the band sometimes give off an endearing amatuerism. There is certainly no rock star posing. Indeed what comes over mostly is their very ordinariness, especially when Alex starts talking about whether to take his jumper off or not. Most rock stars don't even wear jumpers!
All in all, this is an interesting and different concert DVD in that it's essentially old fashioned style makes it seem unusual when compared with virtually every other music DVD released in the past ten years.
However, I can't help feeling that the Arctic Monkeys perhaps have a better DVD release in them at some time in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arctic Monkeys In The Apollo, 10 Oct. 2008
By 
Charlotte (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to attend the premiere of this film at the Show Rooms in Sheffield on 5th October where it was very well received. This is an amazing film like no other I have ever seen. It is an intimate and exciting portrayal of the bands gig in Manchester in 2007. It is a slick, well shot film of a cracking, intense performance with a great song list. This brilliant, humourous film, with a few surprises, is well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but it's not right., 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
If you want to see the Arctic Monkeys performing songs from their 'Golden Era' then this DVD is for you.

What I don't really understand about this release is that whilst it does capture their performance, it doesn't feel like a live show. The crowd noise and shots have been kept to an absolute minimum and it feels more like a piece of art than a recording of them playing live. They may as well have cracked out the Old Grey Whistle Test set again and recorded in front of no one.

I was lucky enough to be at the Apollo that night and it was the best Arctic Monkeys concert I have been to before or since. So I was eagerly anticipating this live DVD. When I saw it I sat and just felt a little confused. It just seems a little cold for a live show, especially one that was so electric on the night.

As with everything though, it's each to their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Monkeys at their finest, 3 Nov. 2008
This review is from: At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
How do you capture a band like the Arctic Monkeys and still preserve their shear excellence? This is how. Shot like a film showing the band as a whole, no crowd capturing gimics like the BBC to show the crowd are enjoying themselves. A film, documenting the genius. Capturing the energy and brilliance. Great setlist. If you havent seen this band live, this is the closest you'll get to feeling the vibrance. If you have, this is the perfect way of reminding yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real insight into an Arctic Monkeys performance, 28 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a pretty good live DVD. The director (Richard Ayoade - star of The IT Crowd) has clearly tried to create a concert film rather than just a live recording. Almost the whole of the show is shot in close up and mid shot. This is great in some ways as you get to see the performance in real detail, the blood sweat and tears of Matt Helders on drums and the cheeky facial expressions of Alex Turner. I think some longer shots, crowd shots for example would have given the film more atmosphere, it almost feels like they are performing to an empty room. Plus it would have been great to see more of the lighting effects for example which are normally pretty good at Arctic Monkeys gigs. There are little tricks such as split screen used and this also follows through into the extras where you can see different angles and focus points.
All the best songs are there, except Mardy Bum (which I get the feeling the band may now exclude due to it's mainstream popularity) and they are all played brilliantly. This is despite the fact Alex Turner is completely wasted throughout, which is a little annoying. There's also a guest spot from Turner's Last Shadow Puppets band mate Miles Kane.
If you are a fan, you will know they don't release much official merchandise, so this is one to cherish. It's kind of a low key affair though so don't expect a rip-roaring party spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars front row seats, 13 Nov. 2008
By 
Jonathan E. Young (Flatts Bermuda) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
If you've never had the opportunity to be in the front row at an Arctic Monkeys gig then this is what you are missing. i've been near the front at a number of their early gigs (spitting distance from the bassist) and this video took me right back to that moment immediately. it's almost like being one of the band members - the cameras must have been right on the stage with them. it's intense. they're not the most talkative band (i kind of like between-song-banter) but that is a mere quibble. the energy from this video is intense. i have surround sound and cranked it up, turned out all the lights, sat back and enjoyed the show. It is so great to have a real CONCERT vid rather than all the back and forth to the crowd to remind you that you should be enjoying it (which i always thought was basically like laugh tracks on sitcoms). This way, it stands on its own two feet and it stands proud. Man! I'm gonna go watch it again now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 10 Nov. 2008
By 
JonnyC (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD is a good one, don't get me wrong i love watching/listening to the monkeys as the next guy but somehow i feel that the DVD has sucked all the energy out of the performance.
Firstly it shot using a lot of slow movements, e.g. a slow zooming in of the drummer. And secondly you can barely hear the audience at all. Together this means there is no feeling of rock or energy at all. It seems more like their '....Good On The Dancefloor' video, but at times that seems more exciting than this.

If your a Monkey's fan, buy it! If not, try renting it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Provably the best gig from the old Arctic Monkeys, no change of instruments, all focused in make music and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy with purchase, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Apollo (DVD)
great x love it worth the wait and i have enjoyed my purchase thank you very much good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... he is obsessed with the Arctic Monkeys and he loved it!, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I got this for my boyfriend's birthday as he is obsessed with the Arctic Monkeys and he loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At The Apollo [2008] [DVD]
At The Apollo [2008] [DVD] by Arctic Monkeys (DVD - 2012)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews