Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll either love it or hate it.
The Brown Bunny chronicles professional motorcyclist Bud Clay's journey from a race in the Northeast of America to his next race in California, and a meeting with his long lost love, Daisy.
What makes this film unique is it's almost entirely internal, you witness Bud's depression, loneliness and inner turmoil through a few interactions with people he meets along the...
Published on 19 July 2010 by Ernie

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hopping Over Landscapes
The hypnotic and multi-talented Vincent Gallo returns to the wounded puppy role portraying a man tormented by his memory for his one true love. He stars as Bud Clay a man who races motorbikes across the country whilst searching for his childhood sweetheart, Daisy. Along the way Bud meets, rather too easily, many female companions who also have flowery names (Rose, Violet...
Published on 6 Dec 2009 by The Critic Ali Insane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hopping Over Landscapes, 6 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (DVD)
The hypnotic and multi-talented Vincent Gallo returns to the wounded puppy role portraying a man tormented by his memory for his one true love. He stars as Bud Clay a man who races motorbikes across the country whilst searching for his childhood sweetheart, Daisy. Along the way Bud meets, rather too easily, many female companions who also have flowery names (Rose, Violet etc) but his interest in these women disappears as quickly as it forms. Between each encounter the viewer is treated to some beautiful landscapes of utter tranquillity creating a very subdued effect. One scene has Bud zoom off into the distance along the white sands and eventually arc in a semi-circle creating a rather special optical illusion of the bike and rider flying through the sky - brilliant. The majority of this indie art flick meanders along at a pedestrian pace and some viewers will find the experience rather tedious, others will praise it a masterpiece. Cloe Sevigny is cast as Daisy and her performance is a bit sloppy in places but, with Gallo as main star and director, it's probably just how he wanted it to be in the shocking sex scene at the end with a very disturbing twist to follow. I'm a big fan of Gallo's talent but I found this one to be a little underwhelming; especially when discovering that he has failed, yet again, to develop his female characters. Worth a viewing but not as good as his previous project Buffalo 66.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Road Trip Into Despair, 7 April 2006
By 
A. D. Bogle (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
With stunning landscape shots and explicit content this film is an abstract glimpse at dysfunctional love.
Bud is searching for Daisy, childhood friend and ex-lover, while travelling across America to a motorbike race he is due to take part in. He is drawn to several inappropriate young girls on his journey hinting at his troubled relations with the girl that he really wants to find. The audience is alone with Bud for most of the film which serves to engulf you in Bud's despair. Sparse awkward dialogue keeps the audience guessing as to what kind of relationship Bud and Daisy have. Vincent Gallo plays the disturbed guilt-ridden loner very convincingly. The portrayal is so real it leaves you unsure as to whether it is Bud or Vincent you are watching fighting insanity. This is particularly relevant considering Gallo's total authorship of the piece. Chole Sevigny plays an abused soul, prepared to go to extreme lengths just to be able to feel again, with her usual subdued brilliance. This film isn't easy to watch but as an essay on loneliness of 'misfits' it provokes thought without offering you any form of easy answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would Not Recommend, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (DVD)
After watching his debut, Buffallo '66, I was looking forward to 'The Brown Bunny'.

The first hour or so is utterly bleak. It follows Bud Clay (Gallo) as a motorcycle racer, on a journey to Los Angeles, CA. Along the way we see him interact with various dull women, with no character development or plot to be seen. He is obviously troubled but nothing is explained, I presume this is the point, but does not make me enjoy it any more, just made me want to actually have something to care about. (for more plot go to spoilers section) Mixed into these are what seems about 20 minutes of the film of emotionless driving sequences from the view of passenger seat looking through his grimy windshield. These add nothing to the film and feel like they are there to bulk it up to a decent length for a feature film. These scenes as well as the grainy and odd camera angles seem to be here to turn a very poor film into a `artsy' film. Though I think I may have enjoyed this film as a short film, i.e. <10 mins. The production values were ok, though deeply lacked content. I am a fan of all film types but this is not worth the watch or the small price tag.

<SPOILERS ALERT>

After these encounters, he meets his `Daisy' who he longs for. After an explicit oral sex scene, which does nothing for the character or plot, he then speaks properly about his feelings for first time in the whole film. He speaks to daisy who tells him she is dead, though he knows this, and the film ends with a disturbing flashback of his pregnant ex being drugged, raped and eventually dying due to choking on her own vomit. This scene is nothing like the rest of the film and seems to be there to add controversy and to give it its 18 rating, which appeals to some viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll either love it or hate it., 19 July 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (DVD)
The Brown Bunny chronicles professional motorcyclist Bud Clay's journey from a race in the Northeast of America to his next race in California, and a meeting with his long lost love, Daisy.
What makes this film unique is it's almost entirely internal, you witness Bud's depression, loneliness and inner turmoil through a few interactions with people he meets along the way but mostly through long shots of his lonesome journey into never ending highways.
Though it's an entirely different type of film, if you liked Gallo's previous effort 'Buffalo 66', or films by Harmony Korine like 'Julien Donkey-Boy' and 'Gummo', then you'll probably enjoy 'The Brown Bunny'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars On the Road. Forever., 20 April 2013
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (DVD)
Boring, pretentious, self-absorbed pseudo-artsy road movie that goes on and on and on, with vapid minimalist dialogue and a gratuitious degrading sex scene at the end involving the lovely and sweet Chloe Sevigny, who I really like and who I wish hadn't done this movie.
The only DVD I have ever smashed immediately after viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pseudo-intellectual movie, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (DVD)
It is very slow moving with a quite poor script. It was recommended to me as a one of a kind movie! Waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Contender for the worst film ever made., 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (DVD)
Vincent Gallo is a talentless, pretentious moron.

The fact that anyone gives nonsense like this the time of day is kind of sad, and how on earth he convinced poor Chloe Sevigny to partake in this we will never know.

Gallo is a scary bloke, god only knows what he gets up to in his spare time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars underrated, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
underrated, however, the story is rather long. the finale is well worth it though, and deserving of the 18 certificate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars its a bit like watching Godard, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
its a bit like watching Godard but without the accompanying post-communist rant - I mean just how excited can anybody get looking out of a car window for 90 minutes? I'm sorry but just boring for me, and then briefly pornographic, tedious stuff....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars well I stuck it out until the end, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brown Bunny [DVD] (DVD)
This should have been a ten minute film about a man on a road trip who met a few women and couldnt stop thinking about the woman he loves . There are some good scenes here , and a good ending but it is just too slow and the bike stuff really dull ... I had great hopes for this .... loved seeing Cheryl Tiegs .... but as for the blurb 'one of the frankest portrayals of male sexuality ' . No this isnt that . I guess if its raining out side and you have nothing better to do ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef50d68)

This product

The Brown Bunny [DVD]
The Brown Bunny [DVD] by Mary Morasky (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: 2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews