Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars30
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 September 2009
This is an interesting film, it needs to be viewed after seeing the original "Patton" film, as it's a continuation of that one. Fortunately they cast George C. Scott in the title role again, otherwise it wouldn't have worked. Being based on fact makes it more interesting, as I suspect a lot of people wouldn't be aware of how he ended, and the irony of his demise at the very end of the war. Well worth seeing.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
I had given up on ever obtaining this title, having enjoyed immensely the performence of Scott in Patton, his performance in this film was absolutely rivetting, and was as worthy of an oscar as the first film. Thoroughly recommend.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 August 2011
I must admit bias from the beginning. George S Patton ranks as a bit of a hero and George C Scott is an actor I admire. (I have recently returned from Sicily tracing the western then eastern tank tracks.)
Dealing with the last days of the war and his role as Military Governor of Bavaria, the writers Ladislas Farago (who wrote the original book) and William Luce do not get embroiled or side-tracked into the conspiracy theories surrounding his death but play it by the official book.
Coming from a long-line of high-ranking military people, larger-than-life and a man of many facets - often apparently conflicting - and one never afraid to speak his passionate, erudite mind, he was not cut-out for military governorship and the careful diplomacy required in the immediate post-war period with our new Soviet allies.
Like the earlier "Patton", again starring George C Scott who not only looks like him but, in all that I have read, including Patton's own books, I feel sure he acted the part excellently, this film sets the post-war scene very well and is very enjoyable; being a film of its age, the sharpness, colour and sound quality do not meet modern standards but one should not expect that. Much of what it contains is well-documented elsewhere, giving it a very believable quality.
Although it stands by itself, it is best seen after viewing the first film, "Patton".

If this film whets any appetites, for those interested in Patton, the recent documentary series, "Patton 360º" is worth the investment; many hours full of documentary details, original footage and dramadoc sections, it is fascinating.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
A good attempt, but it ignores his equestrian feats at the 1912 Olympics, his extensive vacations in the bocage country of Normandy in the 1920ies and his dyslexia that reduced his exam results. HIs sex life involving Marlene Dietrich is left out and Eisenhauer's virulent hatred of the Germans is ignored, which soured their relationship.
An excellent film overall, despite the flaws.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
The quality of the reproduction of the film was extremely poor, and more like a pirated copy.
As I note that this criticism was raised in a review in 2005 I would suggest that Amazon takes this film off its offered list as I do feel slightly ripped off.
I shall not see it again which is a pity because I think Mr Scott gives a fine performance
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
This is without any doubt a fine film, however avoid this version, it looks as if it was copied direct from a old VHS tape.
Considering this DVD was released in 2007 by Pegasus Entertainment, there is absolutely no excuse for this to be the case.

Pegasus Entertainment, you're a disgrace to the DVD industry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
excellent film but the picture quality is terrible, looks like a very old VHS tape
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Can only agree with others really awful transfer this is not even basic DVD quality you can tell it's been copied from a bad VHS
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
Excellent service, as I have come to expect from Amazon. Rapid response, quick and safe delivery. Many thanks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Not finished watching the DVD yet!
But so far, very good. I am enjoying it. All round good performances, wordy, thoughtful, intelligent.
The visual quality is ok, but it's a made for TV piece.
George C Scott is on good form again although he looks a bit older than the 62 yr. old Patton he is portraying.
A very, very worthy sequel ("...they don't make sequels like that any more...").
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)