Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone
I saw the production of Viva La Diva at the 02 and thought it was a great nights entertainment. I watched the DVD of the show last night and thoroughly enjoyed it all over again. Viva La Diva is a spectacular traditional musical variety show, good choice of songs from Katherine Jenkins (I especially loved her rendition of The Man Who Got Away)some great dance numbers from...
Published on 12 Nov 2008 by Lovemymusicals

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD quality disappointing
The content of this DVD is fantastic. Full marks to Katherine and Darcey for entertainment. The disappointment is the fuzzy recording. While watching Katherine and Darcey sing in the first couple of numbers there are fuzzy spots in front of their faces somewhat like the privacy patches one sees in news dramas. By the middle of the DVD Katherine could be seen in...
Published on 7 Jan 2009 by "Attitude" of Abingdon


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone, 12 Nov 2008
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I saw the production of Viva La Diva at the 02 and thought it was a great nights entertainment. I watched the DVD of the show last night and thoroughly enjoyed it all over again. Viva La Diva is a spectacular traditional musical variety show, good choice of songs from Katherine Jenkins (I especially loved her rendition of The Man Who Got Away)some great dance numbers from Darcey Bussell and Gary Avis (Bandwagon, The Flamenco were my favourites) and you have to take your top hat off to a great orchestra and company of dancers and singers too. Loved it. If you are looking for a stocking filler for Christmas, make sure you give it to someone you will be spending the day with. Enjoy your turkey, watch the Queen's Speech and then sit back and get ready to be entertained. If you time it right you can then go straight into the Strictly Come Dancing Christmas Special!!
Apologies, just read a couple of the other reviews, particularly the comments on production. I used the word 'traditional' with regard to the production, I think it also applies to the filming, which I felt was very good, it was simply done certainly, but in a good way with no irritating and overly clever edits etc and the sound was good too. I think the style of filming gives the viewer control over what they focus on, the cameras stay back quite a lot so you can see the scale and spectacle and goes in close to draw you in to the individual performance etc. and the energy of the show really comes across, which is often what dissapoints when you re-visit something on film that you have already seen live. I had no issues with the quality at all. I think that the DVD may not appeal to the viewer who is used to a more 'MTV music video' style of entertainment where the energy comes from the edit rather than the performer. A sweeping generalisation I know, but hope you get my point. Those of you who already know what you are going to get with Katherine Jenkins, Darcey Bussell and Gary Avis will enjoy this DVD as it delivers it in abundance. Those of you who are less familiar with them, I think, will enjoy getting to know you them by watching this production. Katherine Jenkins proves she is more than a great singer, Darcey Bussell dances in so many styles that we have not seen from her before and Gary Avis, well if there was ever a re-incarnation of Fred Astaire and Gene Kelly in one human being, he must surely be it. Fabulous. Hope this helps.
Viva La Diva - Darcey Bussell and Katherine Jenkins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva La Diva To Be Watched Again & Again, 28 Mar 2009
By 
I. Perkin (London Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This has to be one of the best ever live recording DVD's ever. Having watched it several times makes me wish I had seen the live show. Have always been a big fan of Katherine Jenkins and her performance more than lived up to expectation, but the surprise for me was that Darcey Bussell was equally amazing. Each and every number on this DVD is worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD quality disappointing, 7 Jan 2009
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The content of this DVD is fantastic. Full marks to Katherine and Darcey for entertainment. The disappointment is the fuzzy recording. While watching Katherine and Darcey sing in the first couple of numbers there are fuzzy spots in front of their faces somewhat like the privacy patches one sees in news dramas. By the middle of the DVD Katherine could be seen in wonderful clarity, which makes me think that the problem is poor camera-work and the operators didn't get their act into gear until after the interval! That's just not good enough for a commercial DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for all the family!, 12 Nov 2008
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
We bought this on Monday and watched it last night with our eldest daughter - who is getting into ballet. She was totally transfixed by Darcey Bussell, who just shines in this. It was such a delight to see her perform like this, as a full blown ballet is a bit hard for kids to sit through. We loved it too! Katherine Jenkins sparkles, and her voice is in fine form. For a credit crunch night in this is hard to beat for all round family entertainment, and will be lovely at Christmas for the whole family to get together to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous tribute to musicals and dance, 7 Jun 2009
By 
John J. Healey (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This concert is a fabulous pairing of two wonderful perfomers. Both stepping out of their normally known areas of the Arts. With Opera (Katherine Jenkins)and Ballet (Darcey Bussell), these two Ladies both combine to create a great tribute to musicals and dances, which inspired both of them in their respective careers.
Anyone who enjoys Broadway/ Movie Musicals, for the famous singng and their dances sequences wiil enjoy this DVD , as I did. It is something just a little bit different. The Ladies both were dressed in very glamorous dresses and there were nice stage sets too. I found the overall video and sound quality of this DVD to be excellent.
A nice and happy concert event to watch at home with anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Act, 12 May 2009
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This 'double act' is superb entertainment, with each 'diva' giving a very creditable performance in the other's discipline. A treat for all ages, to dip into when you're feeling a bit below par.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars viva la divas, 31 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathan Hopwood (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
it is easy watching and good fun especially if you like either Darcey Bussell and Kathrine Jenkins the only down side is you can see where the dvd has been cut and put together as it cuts for a few seconds, overall entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Entertainment, 1 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I love to see Darcey Bussell dance and it was worth the money to see her and Gary Avis dancing, particularly Scott Joplin - Elite Syncopations (Pas De Deux) - and great that it is easy to find ones favourite pieces to replay. Katherine Jenkins demonstrates her versatility not only singing and dancing but also holding the audience in her thrall. Why not 5 stars? Darcey Bussell is still finding her feet working with a live audience and singing in public, and I prefer Katherine Jenkins usual style of singing rather than her crooning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VIVA La DIVA, 19 Mar 2010
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Darcey and Katherine complement each other perfectly in the DVD, Viva La Diva. It is a very enjoyable two hours, or so, of a mixture of Classical and "the musical style" of song and dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely magical - Long May the Divas Viva!, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I can rarely sit long enough to watch a film or video through in one go - but this was the exception. I thought it wonderful from start to finish, so much so that I have purchased another copy for my daughter-in-law's birthday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabc82ccc)

This product

Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008]
Viva La Diva [DVD] [2008] by Matt Askem (DVD - 2008)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews