Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Saints.
Some saints are well known like Sy Francis of Assisi. Many more are distant echoes lost in a bygone age. Reading their stories is often heartbreaking when you see how they suffered for their faith. Also some are simple and inspirational. In their historical context they convey a whiff of past times when the Church was much more to everyone for good and for ill.
Published on 6 April 2011 by M. Taplin

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lives of the Saints.
I found it hard to read. Each story i felt it was rushed..Could not digest the store's. So lost interest.
Published 22 months ago by p aul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Saints., 6 April 2011
By 
M. Taplin "mikekoi" (Weston-super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Saints (Kindle Edition)
Some saints are well known like Sy Francis of Assisi. Many more are distant echoes lost in a bygone age. Reading their stories is often heartbreaking when you see how they suffered for their faith. Also some are simple and inspirational. In their historical context they convey a whiff of past times when the Church was much more to everyone for good and for ill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, 22 July 2012
By 
Peter (Cheadle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Saints (Kindle Edition)
If you are running a confirmation class and looking for info on all the saints then this is it. Children are not getting it in school but you can give them the knowledge with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful start to the day, 31 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are so many wonderful saints who go unnoticed and very little known about them, we seem to acknowledge and venerate the more well known, this book by Alban Butler brings in other's to whet your appetite for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good basic edition but not the complete work, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Anton Wills-Eve (Hoylake, Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted this as a basic day by day calendar of main feast days and as such it serves my purose well. but this e-book edition of the classic guide to hagiography, as it has come to be known over the past 75 years, is not for the theologian seeking in depth accounts of every person who has been canonised by the Catholic church.For this comlete and magnificent directory you have to fork out avery large sum indeed and definitely in a better format than an e-book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A well written concise account of the lives of many saints, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
Ps Kavanagh "PSK" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking for a cost effective kindle book that gives me the basics of the lives of the saints and this publication fits the bill quite well. I have only skimmed it so far but it appears to be well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars devotions, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Saints (Kindle Edition)
An old book like this neednt be difficult to read, I urge anyone thinking about it to go ahead as this book is charmingly written and really encourages a good heart and a Catholic lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic read for the faithful, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Saints (Kindle Edition)
All life, human and divine is here. At last I've found out the saint appropriate to my birthday. only 65 years of waiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lives of the Saints., 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Saints (Kindle Edition)
I found it hard to read. Each story i felt it was rushed..Could not digest the store's. So lost interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Dec. 2014
By 
Alex Boyle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good really enjoying it worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lives of saints, 23 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Saints (Kindle Edition)
Its ok, I wanted more about how they were percecuted and how, if they were, murdered. I like the fact that its in date order that helpful especially if you have a child and want to give it the same name as the saint it was born on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lives of the Saints
Lives of the Saints by John Gilmary Shea
£1.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews