Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good feedback from the manufacturer
As I'm still using up my previous poo bags, I haven't got round to seeing just how good these are, though with a new dog walking business (Chocolate Tortoise) I'm sure I'll get round to testing them out soon! However, as others have said - they feel strong, and big, enough.

Prior to ordering these I contacted the manufacturer (Scot-Petshop) regarding their...
Published on 17 Mar 2011 by Brotheroak

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shame it's not what I ordered
I have purchased and used these bags before - they are very good, sturdy, big enough, non transparent (hence preventing the naked public eye to view its contents!) and mostly they are biodegradable. What a disappointment therefore when, on ordering the same product, I in fact received smaller violet fragranced poo bags!!! I couldn't care less about the lavender...
Published on 25 May 2011 by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good feedback from the manufacturer, 17 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
As I'm still using up my previous poo bags, I haven't got round to seeing just how good these are, though with a new dog walking business (Chocolate Tortoise) I'm sure I'll get round to testing them out soon! However, as others have said - they feel strong, and big, enough.

Prior to ordering these I contacted the manufacturer (Scot-Petshop) regarding their biodegradable claims. To their great credit, after a bit of a delay, they got back to me with a detailed response, which I reproduce below for anyone else who may be interested or concerned about the 'level' of biodegradability (or, rather, epi-degradability) of these bags. All in all, a satisfactory answer for me, and kudos to the manufacturer for bothering to reply to my concerns! They reconfirmed the 24-36 month breakdown statement in the personal cover note that accompanied this:

<response from Scot-Petshop>
Degradability and Biodegradability Epi=degradable bags
EPI's TDPA(tm) provides a means for rendering conventional plastics degradable, and ultimately biodegradable, within a reasonable and controlled time-frame. TDPA(tm) is added in small quantities (typically 2-3%) to the conventional plastic during the manufacturing process and allows totally degraded plastic products to biodegrade within 24 - 36 months, when disposed of in an appropriate environment.

For plastics, degradability refers to change in chemical structure and loss in mechanical properties caused by a specific environment, resulting in the plastic breaking down into small fragments. Biodegradability results from the actions of naturally occurring micro-organisms such as bacteria, fungi and algae and results in the plastic fragments being consumed. Conventional plastic materials are extremely resistant to degradation and biodegradation and persist in the environment for decades, or even centuries.

How Does TDPA(tm) Work?
TDPA(tm) works by way of the oxo-biodegradation process, which occurs in two stages. In the first stage, TDPA(tm) accelerates the plastic degradation process by several orders of magnitude, whereby the long polymer molecules are reduced to shorter and shorter lengths and undergo oxidation (oxygen groups attach themselves to the polymer molecules). This process is triggered by heat (elevated temperatures found in landfills or composting), UV light (a component of sunlight) and mechanical stress (e.g. wind or compaction in a landfill). Oxidation causes the molecules to become hydrophilic (water- attracting) and small enough to be ingestible by micro-organisms, setting the stage for biodegradation to begin.

In the second stage, biodegradation occurs in the presence of moisture and micro-organisms typically found in the environment. The plastic material is completely broken down into the residual products of the biodegradation process. As micro-organisms consume the degraded plastic, carbon dioxide, water, and biomass are produced and returned to nature by way of the biocycle.
<end of response>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green in both senses of the word, 30 Jun 2009
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
These are great - they feel stronger than most poo bags, so you don't feel in danger of the bag splitting and a nasty accident occurring! They tie easily, the handles don't break, and the fact that they're degradable means guilt-free use. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best poo bags on the market!, 2 Jan 2011
By 
S. Warren (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
I've just come on here to order another 1000, the last lot running out after 17 months. Lets face it, your dogs aren't going to stop going for a poo so buying a job lot ('scuse the pun...) will only save you money. These were the cheapest biodegradable bags I could find (and 100% biodegradable, not 'sort of' biodegradable like a lot of others, and they're big and strong enough to cope with the most impressive dumps any dog can be proud of. The big handles mean easing tying as well. And because of their size and strength, we also use them as freezer and sandwich begs etc etc minimising our house plastics!
The only problem is is that they come in packs of about 50-100 which is quite a lot, I find a shoe box store them really well. And obviously they're loose and fairly big so you will begin to find green bags invading most elements of your life! However, looking at the paltry little sandwich bags you get in most bags in containers which I wouldn't trust not having a horrific accident with I'm more than happy and think you should all get them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shame it's not what I ordered, 25 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
I have purchased and used these bags before - they are very good, sturdy, big enough, non transparent (hence preventing the naked public eye to view its contents!) and mostly they are biodegradable. What a disappointment therefore when, on ordering the same product, I in fact received smaller violet fragranced poo bags!!! I couldn't care less about the lavender fragrance - they are poo bags which end up in doggie poo bins, for crying out loud!!! But most of all, they are not degradable. I suggest the seller supplies Amazon with the actual picture of the product it ends up delivering customers, or ideally it actually supplies what the customer thinks he/she is purchasing, i.e. the epi-degradable green poo bags as illustrated in the picture!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POOP!bags to go, 7 April 2011
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
just right to replace the free ones our local council had to cut,with the spending review.(they ,of course,became useless at that point) Size,handles,thickness all great,even price.Delivery prompt. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been 6 Months and plenty left., 16 Feb 2011
By 
D. Auckland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
Well there are what they are, they have the long tie handles so you can tie it up without touching, the bags are strong and can hold at least three poops so theres plenty of room. (Assuming your hands are big enough).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poo bags, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
got the bags fron amzon and there the best poo bags I have ever had there very strong not to see throught very happy with them. Would buy then again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good poo bags, 10 Nov 2010
By 
Jennifer (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
These are great poo bags. They aren't too hard to open, they seem quite strong, the handles are easy to tie, and they are biodegradable. I have used 2-4 bags every day for about 5 months. I haven't had a single problem with any of them. I love buying in bulk on Amazon. I still have loads from my last order, but when I run out I will order these same bags again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value, 20 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
An excellent product, will buy when I run out, with a large Leonberger, not long in the future!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a dirty job but someones gotta do it, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scot-Petshop Biodegradable Dog Poop Bags (Dog Poo Bag/Dog Waste Bags) x 2000, Eco Friendly, Bulk Buy (Misc.)
Decent quality thickness of polythene and easy to tie up. Buy in bulk makes lots of sense. Makes the task a bit more bearable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews