Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oden! Guide Our Ships! Our Axes, Spears and Swords!
Amon Amarth - a band that never seems to disappoint. TOTTG is another fantastic metal album from those crazy vikings. I doubt this band will ever disappoint their fans, you know exactly what to expect when buying an Amon Amarth record - straight up metal that makes you headbang like a madman.

The opening track is superb and contains fantastic melodies and build...
Published on 4 Oct. 2008 by I. Chaudhry

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK from AA
I find this new offering from Amon to be very enjoyable. Its a nice album, though not the masterpiece that everyone seems to rave about. It has some amazing songs, my favourites being "Varyags of Miklagaard," and "Tattered Banners and Bloody Flags" but i find it doesnt hold me as much as all their previous albums have, and the addition of guest musicians is quite an...
Published on 19 Nov. 2008 by Brammers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oden! Guide Our Ships! Our Axes, Spears and Swords!, 4 Oct. 2008
By 
I. Chaudhry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amon Amarth - a band that never seems to disappoint. TOTTG is another fantastic metal album from those crazy vikings. I doubt this band will ever disappoint their fans, you know exactly what to expect when buying an Amon Amarth record - straight up metal that makes you headbang like a madman.

The opening track is superb and contains fantastic melodies and build ups - one of their best songs however slightly different from With Oden...That sums up the entire album actually, Fate of Norns was a very melodic album, and it did have songs like Ancient Sign and Pursuit that were standout tracks, but the majority of songs were melodic and rather different from Vs the World and their earlier works. Namely, Where Death Seems to Dwell, FON and Arson. Oden On Our Side as a return to savage riffage and epic choruses, the whole album was full of songs you wanted to hear live.

TOTTG is more similar to FON. It does have brilliant tracks on it, however it is a more consistent affair - each songs links briliantly with one another and the flow is incredible. A solid and more melodic album with probably Amon Amarths most epic closer to date: Embrace of the Endless Ocean. Apart from a few tracks on here, there aren't any that I would kill for to see live. But definitely an above average album and while not album of the year, definitely in my top 5.

The bonus DVD is just a straight up live recording of them slaying Germans at the Open Air Festival. Plenty of Oden On Our Side is played and if you have seen them live you know what to expect. A great bonus for the fans along with a CD containing the entire show in audio.

Essential purchase for all the vikings out there. If you are just getting into them, try Versus the World, Oden On Our Side or Avenger first. Bring on the next one and the UK tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to full glory, 19 Oct. 2008
By 
P. Claro (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twilight Of The Thunder God (Audio CD)
This album is just incredible. It is up there with Versus the World if not better. I am a fan and will listen to anything this guys make but then this album comes out and manages to blow me away. I have listened to its musics it everyday since it came out. The melodies are the awesome, the guitars have a new sound that is amazing, the lyrics are great. It returns the epic feeling to Amon Amarth's sound. Vyking metal in its twilight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 20 Mar. 2009
By 
P. R. Nettle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twilight Of The Thunder God (Audio CD)
Superb album, great songs, great music - Scandinavia Death Metal at its very best - very melodic metal. My first Amon Amarth album, but my friends who have heard it all liked it as well - and they were not all metal heads. If you like Slayer, Trivium and other traditional death metal, I'd listen to a few tracks on You Tube first as this is a bit symphonic - but my new favorite band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...Hail Metal Brethern..., 5 Nov. 2008
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Twilight Of The Thunder God (Audio CD)
Hail Metal Brethern! The Lords of Viking Metal have returned. And in Thors name, it is good.

Of course, strip away the image and the artwork, and Amon Amarth are really just punting out some top quality death metal. But add in all the other bits and bobs, and the whole becomes greater than the sum of its parts. This latest album also sees guitarists Olavi Mikkonen and Johan Söderberg raising their game to new highs, something that pushes the album on to another level.

The album really hangs together as a proper collection, rather than as a good EP, padded out with pap, as too many death metal bands think they can get away with, and on numbers like the title track, 'Free Will Sacrifice' and 'Live for the Kill', the latter augmented by those for sure crazy Apocalyptica guys and the title track featuring Children Of Bodom dude, Roope Latvala. Vocalist Johan Hegg has also been gargling with sandpaper, as he takes his growl to a new level of bowel inducing fervour.

Over the last ten years, Amon Amarth have been steadily improving, growing from album to album, to reach the new peak on "Twilight Of The Thunder God ". It's hard to believe they're the same band who put out "Once Sent From The Golden Hall", such is the improvement shown. If you yearn for top quality death metal and tales of Viking derring do, then you're not going to find anything better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amon amarth are still the finest, 1 Oct. 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A good friend of mine said to me that amon amarth are like iron maiden,you know what you are going to get ,when i thought about this i realised that they were spot on,from their humble beginnings to the powerhouse that they now are there has been little change,the viking-esque melodic death metal sound has been constant,and with this,their seventh album its very much business as usual.
Everything about this album feels inspiring,the production is class,the riffs are melodic as sin and transfer themselves to your brain with a backdrop of a battle taking place and blood painting the sky.
The lyrics are once again about war and nationality and identity and pride,the vocals are death like and the riffs are maiden like with pace and spite at every turn,they do slow it down at times but the pace of this album is again up there with the fastest around.
There isnt really much more to say except this,my superb friend bought me the deluxe version for my birthday,i was gobsmacked,what a treat,the dvd is great and the bonus cd is also fine ,i love the booklet inside,so thanks treeny and thanks amon amarth for doing what you do and doing it as good as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack For Ragnarok!!!!, 24 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite "new" band even though theyve been around for years hahahaha ;)

Amon Amarths 2008 album Twilight Of The Thunder God is an astounding piece of heavy norse metal. Chunky riffs to bang the head to, guitar melodies Iron Maiden would kill for these days and Johan Heggs' magnificent roar and mythical lyrics combine to give us a flawless slab of warrior anthems to stir the soul!

Title track Twilight of the Thunder God should be the mighty Thor's theme tune, such is its metal majesty, Varyags of Miklagaard and Tattered Banners and Bloody Flags are both rousing battle songs which beg you to bang head. Guardians of Asgaard is super heavy and has LG Petrov from Entombed! guesting and we get a glimpse of where this band was going to go on the next release with the astonishing and beautiful but still heavy Embrace of the Endless Ocean.

Brilliance from the current gods of death metal. Well, in my opinion anyway \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK from AA, 19 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: Twilight Of The Thunder God (Audio CD)
I find this new offering from Amon to be very enjoyable. Its a nice album, though not the masterpiece that everyone seems to rave about. It has some amazing songs, my favourites being "Varyags of Miklagaard," and "Tattered Banners and Bloody Flags" but i find it doesnt hold me as much as all their previous albums have, and the addition of guest musicians is quite an unnecessary turn.
However Hegg outdoes himself once again on vocals, and the riffs growl and stomp like charging vikings, its good, but not extraordinary. Its also quite hard to rate it beside their other albums as its a bit different, following on from "With Odin on our Side," towards to more melodic material, yet with extra "widdly" bits and violins.
Summary is that its a competent and very good album, but its not up to their usual standard. I think Amon Amarth are capable of much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ragnarok Awaits, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amon Amarth are a band who don't dissapoint. Some prehaps would accuse them of lacking orginality or a need to expand their horizons. This is true to a degree, but sometimes you want to buy a CD and know exactly what your going to get. And with this band you are always going to get that: some brilliant heavy metal with soaring guitars, anthemic choruses and pounding drums. They are a band designed to make you drink hard and headbang harder.

So onto TOTTG: it's by and large a standard Amon Amarth affair. The title track that opens the album is immense; heavy but surprisingly medlodic. This is a good sum of the whole album really probably the most melodic album since Fate of the Norns. Also this album has a great sense of flow, the songs all seem like natural progressions from each other, giving the album a great sense of flow and coherence.

I love every track on this album, but stand outs are the title track, Guardians of Asgaard and The Hero. The Hero in particular has some great lyrics and its quite different from most of their other songs. Here in this song the "Hero" is on his death bed, and is reflecting on a life spent killing. He cannot understand the love and grief people are showing him as he lays dying: to him, he is an evil man, and his fate is desereved. This is quite different from the tales of anthemic triumph and destroying the enemy they normally write, and this really works well.

I have the deluxe edition with a live CD/DVD. The songs are quite heavily weighed to With Oden on Our Side, which is no bad thing. The DVD recording is nothing particuarly special, but live Amon Amarth his always something to admire. The Viking longboat and battle reinactments are a nice touch.

If you are of this band, you will love this album. And even if your not, this album is worth checking out if you like heavy metal melodic and well as heavy, but without being whiney. Johan's vocals are incedible as ever and really add weight to Amon Amarths sound.

A very solid heavy metal album that I'm sure you will find enjoyment in giving a spin with frequency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twilight Of The Thunder God, 13 July 2011
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Twilight Of The Thunder God (Audio CD)
Amon Amrth's seventh studio album Twilight Of The Thunder God helped bring the band more much deserved attention when it was released back in 2008.

The album is a very strong rendition of the formula that Amon Amarth have been perfecting over the last decade, the perfect slick and professional culmination of a formula that was developed throughout their career.

Twilight Of The Thunder God is an album of intensely high quality, no one track is weak or out of place, the production couldn't be better and the band all are skilled musicians who deserve the accolades now being given to them.

The twin guitar leads, thundering double-kick lines and roaring death-vocals are all still there, the Norse/Viking themes are still present , everything that Amon Amarth do is done, and done well.

The choice to include guest musicians seems a little out of character for Amon Amarth, but then it works well within the context of the album so isn't something to worry about.

The album is of such a consistent quality that it is difficult to choose highlights, the title track and Guardians of Asgaard are my personal favourites but everything on this album is good.

To summarize, Twilight Of The Thunder God is a strong album, delivering the trademark Amon Amarth style with a remarkably good execution. If you like the band it is certainly an album you should to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Exposure - Now I'm Hooked!, 28 Mar. 2011
By 
Liam Mcnamara (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twilight Of The Thunder God (Audio CD)
I saw the band performing the title track on Lava and was taken by the energy and vibrancy of the music and the juxtaposition of melodic guitar lines with death metal vocals and rhythm section. I have never really been into death metal but Amon Amarth are different from the run-of-the-mill death metal bands. Unlike the vocalists of so many of their contemporaries, it is possible to understand Johan Hegg's vocals (lots of swords, blood, vikings and, especially, death!). The guitar work is brilliant, marrying power and melody to create a unique sound. Highlights are the title track, Tattered Banners and Blooddy Flags and the closing triumvirate of The Hero, Live for the Kill (featuring Apocalyptica) and Embrace of the Endless Ocean. The last named is probably my favourite on the entire album. Hegg's vocals mix with the guitars to create a brilliantly atmospheric song that is less frantic than many others on the album. There are no fillers here - every song is a stonker and this is a great introduction to a great band. If you like this, check out the follow up, 'With Oden on our Side'. It is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twilight Of The Thunder God
Twilight Of The Thunder God by Amon Amarth (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews