Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite stunning debut
I was sitting in a bar in Cape Town ("A touch of madness" in Observatory) when a song was played which I thought was almost Tom Waits (whose music I love) but slightly different. I made enquiries - the song was "Make no sound". When I returned to the UK, I bought the CD on the strength of this song.
How many times have you bought a CD for one...
Published on 30 Mar 2001

versus
1 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common room doyens
You could'nt get them off the Sixth Form Common room stereo in them days. Mainly because we were all starting to learn about narcotics from the nice police drug awareness man.

"Get myself arrested" is still the stand out track here.

Made me feel nostalgic for my A level days but little more.
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by Puffinsnotreal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten gem, 22 Feb 2007
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
I was clearing out my CD collection recently and found this one. I remember loving it when I bought it in 1998. I put it on again for the first time in about 6 or 7 years expecting that it might have dated a little. Not a bit of it. All I can say is that this album has a timeless quality to it. It still sounds fresh and relevant. If you are not moved by Here Comes The Breeze or Free To Run then you have no soul.

It's prompted me to revisit the Gomez back catalogue - more reviews might follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hi-Fi, 25 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
This is one album of the 90s that was unique, like Alison Goldfrapp, Gomez managed to pull off some very unlikley tunes and songs and get noticed by the mainstream. The key to this album is that even if you find some of the songs a little quirky, you can be impressed by the fantastic recording quality and the 'like you are there' feeling. If only other CD were produced to such a standard I wouldn't mind paying the ridiculous prices. If you can get past the student union tag (drinking binges and local dealers) of this album you will be rewarded in some very imaginative songs. It is shame that they went off in search of 20 piece orchestra for their next album. My favourites have to be 'Get Myself Arrested' for all its student followings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds great, 1 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
An accidental find, a long time ago. And what a find! This debut album still sounds as fresh as it did a long, long, time ago. OK, so the final track is a little self-indulgent but who cares when the rest of the album includes 78 Stone Wobble and Love Is Like A Warm Trombone. Everthing about this album screams fun at you. Yet through the fun there is also a supreme musicality, these boys are GOOD - get their latest album too (Liquid Skin); it's worth your time as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go Mex, 29 Dec 2000
By 
knowledeayton (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
The first things that stand out about Bring It On are Ben Ottewell's Tom Waits-y vocals and the bluesy accompaniment on opening track Get Miles, immediately conjuring up images of Gomez being a whisky and cigarette-ravaged bunch of old sots; best, then, to have no idea what Gomez look like when listening, if you can, as they're actually just a bunch of young English oiks. Whippin' Piccadilly immediately dispels such thoughts, anyway, recounting a jarring tale of student capery, a theme to an extent resurrected on Get Myself Arrested (which is dangerously close to being 10cc's Dreadlock Holiday).

Where Bring It On works best is on the more pensive tracks like Make No Sound or Tijuana Lady (only actually a good song if you take into consideration the fact that they are not being entirely serious). In summary, 12 songs excellently performed by an obviously-talented bunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The onlu UK band worth their salt..., 4 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
Worth it for Tijuana Lady alone.
Worth it for anything on the album. BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WICKED!, 11 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
This album is superb. The range of the 3 voices is well used: Ben Otterwell's gravely sharp voice. Ian Ball's melodic, soothing voice. and Tom Gray's harmonising tones.
BUY THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing debut album, 8 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
Unbelievably good considering it was recorded in a garage, this album is a perfectly crafted chilled out melange of US country influences and funk and blues and ... Gravel-voiced lyrics and slides mix magically to produce an album that belies the band's youth. Though it is lacking the polished refinement of the follow up album, Liquid Skin, this album is, in my opinion, better, adequately capturing the band's live sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius - a whole new meaning to music :-), 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
Many bands these days don't start off as original as these. When I first heard the album I thought, great, it's just a lot of guys jamming in a shed. Then the likes of Tijuana Lady, Love is better (than a warm trombone) and Get myself arrested caught me like a trap.
Catchy and arrogant; this album is probably the most played on my hifi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse, which few other Brit-poppers can claim these days, 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
I bought this after purchasing Liquid Skin, and I think that the debut outdoes the sequel, although just barely. Bring It On is an amazing blend of rock, blues, and folk that rightfully propelled Gomez into the public eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the nineties best three albums !!, 4 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
Every track is excellent, Ben Ottewell's vocals add something totally unique to the album and the variety of instruments used really enhances an album full of catchy tunes but with such depth it will take you months to stop listening to it. Absolutely top class !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews