Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite stunning debut
I was sitting in a bar in Cape Town ("A touch of madness" in Observatory) when a song was played which I thought was almost Tom Waits (whose music I love) but slightly different. I made enquiries - the song was "Make no sound". When I returned to the UK, I bought the CD on the strength of this song.
How many times have you bought a CD for one...
Published on 30 Mar 2001

versus
1 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common room doyens
You could'nt get them off the Sixth Form Common room stereo in them days. Mainly because we were all starting to learn about narcotics from the nice police drug awareness man.

"Get myself arrested" is still the stand out track here.

Made me feel nostalgic for my A level days but little more.
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by Puffinsnotreal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring It On [VINYL] (Vinyl)
superb !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YES, BRING IT ON!, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
As a matter of fact, bring on all things Gomez. Great early album grabbed my attention immediately and has never let me go.
Brilliant, inventive band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
lost my copy of this years ago,glad i bought it great album and still sound very good today,has not aged badly like some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Yes!, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
Loved this when it first came out, still love it. Refreshing, fun, great atmosphere. An altogether good album with a unique sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. C. A. Granville-edge (Yorks.,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
All these songs on this album I know by heart and they get stuck in my head on a loop cycle, but I love them! The lead singers' voice is so unusual, there's no one else like him and the band have a truly unque feel which is hard to criticise in my opinion. Uplifting music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
What an album this is!
If you think you like music you need to own this.
Includes one of the most under rated powerful vocalists for a long, long time.
Downloaded Blind Man's Vision,Sometimes the Light Never Comes they are the only other band who seem to do this kind of stuff now.
Original and stunning still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it just gets better and better, 3 Nov 2012
By 
PJS "PJS" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring It On: 10th Anniversary Collector's Edition (Audio CD)
The most under-rated British band of the last 15 years or so, Bring it On 10 year anniversary just brings home how little Gomez are appreciated in their home country, in comparison to their welcome in the USA and Australia.
This album won the Mercury Music Prize, but after that the band and their music were not promoted or assisted by their record company, one of Mr Branson's bad decisions.
Tijuana Lady is still the best, revamped versions of other tracks exist on newer live albums, always worth listening to, particularly the Go West live at the Filmore East. It's funny how the first album sets the tone, but Gomez refused to be pigeon-holed and for that I remain grateful. Their newer music is fresh and vbirant, unlike so much of the drivel that we hear today. See them live whenever you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring It On (MP3 Download)
love Gomez, haven't listened to them in a while, bought this album and reminded me of my uni days, great memories, and great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Blues by Young Men, 1 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
This extraordinary album from 1998 is one the true classic debuts, and for that matter a modern classic in its own right. Bring It On sounds like it was created by five 70yr old world-weary bluesmen. It has maturity which is far beyond the years of Gomez' actual players - five guys from England barely out of their teens.

Managing to combine a dustbowl feel with a contemporary cityscape feel - songs like Whippin' Piccadilly and Get Myself Arrested paint a memorable picture of inner city life long before we had the Arctic Monkeys!

The real stand out track Tijuana Lady - which by their own admission has pretty nonsensical lyrics - just somehow drags you back to 'Old Mexico' even if the closest you've been to it is a Tapas bar.

Critically lauded and praised at the time of its release - Gomez started their career with what some might say is their finest hour. On this note i have to disagree - take a listen to How We Operate- or the stunning live set Out West [2 CD + DVD]. Gomez are here to stay.

Stick this CD on - and watch the tumbleweeds blow past your window and the desert sands blow up in to your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the nineties best three albums !!, 4 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On (Audio CD)
Every track is excellent, Ben Ottewell's vocals add something totally unique to the album and the variety of instruments used really enhances an album full of catchy tunes but with such depth it will take you months to stop listening to it. Absolutely top class !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews