Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive Storage for Tiny Price
Wow... 16GB for less than £18. I remember paying more for 256MB

This pen seems well made and up to the high standard of other Kingston memory cards and sticks I own.

The capless design is great especially if you're like me and loose every thing you put down. The USB connector slides in when not in use.

Transfer speed is good and better...
Published on 22 Oct 2008 by A. H. Harrison

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Saves Data..But Slider RUBBISH
I wish i would have bought the Kingston 16gb stick WITH CAP...NO...SLIDER...They are very shoddy Shaky Wobbly Sliders...But apart from that it works...
Published on 15 May 2009 by marmaduke


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive Storage for Tiny Price, 22 Oct 2008
By 
A. H. Harrison "gizmo-aggramar" (Oxford - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
Wow... 16GB for less than £18. I remember paying more for 256MB

This pen seems well made and up to the high standard of other Kingston memory cards and sticks I own.

The capless design is great especially if you're like me and loose every thing you put down. The USB connector slides in when not in use.

Transfer speed is good and better than my 4GB stick.

All in all a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for a high capacity device, 11 Dec 2008
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
This is a very good little piece of kit.

First of all it has a different design. There is no cap. Instead, it has a slide button which retracts the USB port. It takes a bit of getting used to but it means no more looking around for your missing cap.

The drive itself can hold 15gb of data, which is enough for a system backup or several movies, thousands of music files and of course files for work! USB transfer speeds were slightly slower than for a smaller 8gb device I own but still pretty quick. I have managed to open and run any type of file directly from the flash drive, without any problems.

The black design isn't as nice as the white of other Kingston flash memory devices but that doesn't make any difference to it's performance.

So if you need something light and have a lot of data to carry around this is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Large Capacity For Money, 16 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. R. Mumford "rlmumford" (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
For the money this is a superb device, it's fast at reading and writing which is what you would expect.

However, I have encountered one problem which is the reason why I have only given it 4 stars, in order to use the device you have to slide the side button, this retracts the USB mechanism, when you plug in the device, this sometimes forces the USB back into it's housing therefore not activating the device.

I don't know if Kingston are aware of this little problem, there should be a means to lock the device in the open position. The other good benefit is the 5 year guarantee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black), 16 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
Great product!! Looked at the SanDisk Cruzer of same capacity and decided to get this one. Do not regret it at all! Fast read and write speed after a while it did peak and stay at about 9Mb/s however this does depend on you computer. Im sure it can reach a higher speed. It is light and the slide button takes just a few uses to get used to. Feels a little plasticy but still solid, i think thats normal. Recommended for good quality and speed!!

Edit: Its been a while since i bought this item and have never witnessed such speeds as above again, it is incredibly slow at times, and if you dont mind that then its ok. But be warned, i've read a bunch of reviews, im telling you here, it CAN be very slow!! by that i mean 1 mb/sec or lower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy winner, 30 Sep 2009
By 
Peter Biddlecombe "peterbiddlecombe" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
Stunning little device - not quite as amazing as 16Gb on an SDHC card, but pretty close. (Some of us remember IBM PCs with 5Mb "Winchester" drives, about twice the size of a modern CD/DVD drive)

Copying files between this and my Acer Timeline 4810T-353, it took around 30 secs to copy 100Mb from the PC to the flash drive, and about 20 secs to delete the same set of files on the flash drive. Copying from fash drive to PC was about 7 secs. When there's activity on the drive, a little green light flashes, under the "flat-top man" logo which you can just see on the product picture.

Not concerned about lack of protection for the USB plug - it will be used in as clean an environment as my iPod lead, whose USB plug has been unprotected for 2 years.

Stores over 2000 JPEG images from a 12 Megapixel camera, so the ideal last line of defence against losing our holiday photos, already stored on laptop hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge storage, no gimmicks, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
This little item is perfect. There is no extra software included to take up valuable storage space and give you grief every time you use it, and the USB connection slips neatly back into the body. It would be nice if it had a ring or tag, but you can't have everything, I suppose. If you're looking for huge capacity and reliablity, this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just what you expect, 29 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
I did some research on flash drives before making this purchase and i am pleased to say that this drive perfoms just as you would want.
Reasonably fast data transfer
A concealed USB connector with no cap to get lost
No problems what-so-ever, at the moment i would highly recommend this item.

This an update some 11 months later.....
This drive failed on me, so under the terms of the warranty i returned (via recorded delivery) the device back to the seller.
Foolishly on my part i did expect a return of post new product back.
In my opinion amazon prides itself on allowing 3rd party sellers to deal on their site and deliver the service you would
also expect to receive from amazon itself.
However this has Not been the case with this company selling this flash drive.
I would like to say that if you don't mind hounding these people for your product (which seems to be the case for alot)
and you are willing to wait long periods of time for items you have paid for all well and good.
But if you,like me, want good service with delivery times stated by this company adhered to then AVOID this company.
IN MY EXPERIENCE THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REGARDS DELIVERY IS A DISGRACE.
Ofcourse this is only my review and at this moment i am still waiting for this drive to come back to me.

You pays your money and takes your choice !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 15 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
This is a great value product, it's fast, has a nicely designed slide out mechanism to protect the interface when not in use and despite it's price does not feel at all cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain and good quality product, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Mlodziniak - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
Fantastic tool, USB hides within the body of the pendrive. It is great idea. The best thing about this pendrive is that it is ... waterproof, I put it into the washing by accident, it was washed in 60 degrees, then I dried it and worked well. No probs. Only downside is the hook, it broke after a week...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The fiddly slider, 23 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Kingston DataTraveler 100 16GB USB Flash Drive (Black) (Personal Computers)
Plenty of memory for the price. Fast enough for most users. The slider action is a bit fiddly and leaves the end of tha USB connector exposed to contamination from pocket debris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews