Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good toy
my son was bought this which needed a bit of help from dad to build for a 5 year old ! Great fun on laminate floors but breaks easily as only polystyrene.
Published on 22 Nov. 2011 by M. Thurley

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Provided an hour of entertainment
The explanation in the accompanying booklet as to how and why hovercrafts move was good. Unfortunately it was downhill from there. The instructions were relatively clear but the model was very flimsy. By the time the flaps had been bent enough to meet and be fitted together with split pins they were virtually hanging off. The skirt was very fiddly to fit and the battery...
Published on 22 May 2012 by Suzanne 96


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Provided an hour of entertainment, 22 May 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
The explanation in the accompanying booklet as to how and why hovercrafts move was good. Unfortunately it was downhill from there. The instructions were relatively clear but the model was very flimsy. By the time the flaps had been bent enough to meet and be fitted together with split pins they were virtually hanging off. The skirt was very fiddly to fit and the battery pack was too heavy for the cardboard model. Having said that, the hovercraft did actually move once finished but not enough to provide any lasting fun. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hovercraft?, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. Royston Whiting (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
As an ex school technology technician, I rate this item as poor. It came with several parts missing, the hook and loop fasteners were missing as well as the black polythene tube essential for inflation. The whole item is very flimsy, being made of polystyrene. I will try to improvise to get it working as it is 90% built and can't be bothered to return to seller. All I can say is buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good toy, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
M. Thurley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
my son was bought this which needed a bit of help from dad to build for a 5 year old ! Great fun on laminate floors but breaks easily as only polystyrene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun :-), 21 April 2009
By 
Dragonseye "Sarah" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
My son received the Hovercraft kit for his birthday. He's a bit of a Hovercraft fanatic. He loves anything to do with Hovercrafts, so when he opened this present he was (to say the least) over the moon. I liked it because there is an educational aspect to the kit. He made the Hovercraft all by him self apart from a little help with putting the skirt on, which is probably the trickiest part as you need to get the skirt in exactly the right position for it to hover correctly. It took a couple of attempts but he's got it just right now and it hovers a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars total rubbish, 1 Feb. 2014
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
This product is a very good idea but is made from polystyrene and therefore is not very good quality would not recommend to other buyers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, but poor design and poor quality of manufacture, 16 Jan. 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
The hovercraft set is a great idea, but sadly the components are poorly designed and manufactured.
The kit contains a motor and components with attached leads which can be attached to the motor.
Whilst the point of attachment to the motor is fine, the leads are rigidly attached to the other components, and these are not durable or easy to assemble.

I bought this set for my 9 year old nephew, who was very pleased with it, but two leads became detached on the first assembly of the kit, so I sadly cannot recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, but is highly likely to disappoint your child, 30 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
This was bought as an Xmas present from the science museum, for a bright young relative. It appeared to be missing a part to partially direct air flow downwards. The lad despite careful construction could not make it work. I myself tried to get it to work, including constructing a baffle to split airflow downward for lift and to allow the upper half of airflow backward, without which air only went backwards giving no lift. It is clear that some people have managed to make this product work. Instructions are fairly good, but have to be read very carefulIy. I cannot recommend it for a child to construct, I think most children would lack the patience to get it working. I think the design is flawed making it very hard to make it work. If you do buy one I think you will have to work along with the child to get it to work and I suspect the child will be bored before it works, if you can make it work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pants, 6 Feb. 2011
By 
S. J. wright "sjw" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
this is just made of poor filimsy lightweight materials a a soul destroying waste of time.\
its just rubbish really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
Made of cheap cardboard which promptly collapsed on assembled,the best feature is the attractive box it came in which was made of stronger cardboard then the product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 31 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Hovercraft (Toy)
My 9 year old was very over the moon on getting this for his Xmas.the instruction booklet was not as clear as the PDF online but was. To late by then could not get the airbag to inflate as the paper clips go through the seem but they are not separate chambers or where to position the ends .what a let down the body is made out of polystyrene .best described as a tray you buy a chicken in very flimsy .No way a 9 year old would be able to construct this hovercraft it's now in the bin what a waste of money .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hovercraft
Hovercraft by Interplay UK
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews