Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars21
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.39+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2007
Logan is a 13 year old male living in a Santa Cruz neighbourhood. Lions have been seen in the surrounding areas, and the populace are taught to hate and fear them. Logan identifies with these maligned creatures - shunned and avoided by the rest of society. Although aware that he is gay, Logan is unable yet to voice this to his best friend; his masturbatory fantasies about older guys at school and Lycra-clad wrestlers on TV are confined to the privacy of his bed at night-time. In the course of the film, Logan develops an attraction to an older boy at school - Rodeo - who is also an outsider, and aims to seduce him through phone sex and friendship.

'Wild Tigers' is an incredibly beautiful film, in all senses. Aesthetically it is a stunning work of arthouse cinema, and was widely acclaimed at the Sundance Film Festival. The director, Cam Archer, eschews linear story-telling, and conveys Logan's internal and external struggles through a series of dream-like vignettes. Cam Archer's film background in music videos and arthouse shorts is clearly evident in his portrayal of the adolescent anguish of isolation and lust through a holistic combination of studied camera angles, a haunting soundtrack, and creative visual style. If the sweeping landscape background against static foreground images resonates, it will come as no surprise that Gus Van Sant ('My Own Private Idaho') was the film's executive producer. Malcolm Stumpf is just superb as the tortured Logan, and his awkwardness and facial expressions will deftly re-awaken memories in the viewer.

Cam Archer is certainly a name to watch; with 'Wild Tigers I Have Known' he has created a stunning and original work of art, which strides fearlessly into the realm of young male sexuality which mainstream films dare not tread. Suitable for all ages, from young males to wizened cynics, the film should be approached with an open mind, with no expectations of conventional 'story-telling'. Along with 'The Mudge Boy' and 'Ma Vie en Rose', 'Wild Tigers' is one of the very few authentic portrayals of young gay self-awareness, and is very highly recommended.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2009
The interaction between the two guys is realy vibrating. I love to see Patrick White and Malcolm Stumpf acting. The theme is not easy. I young guy (12-13) in love with a some older guy (16-17) and doesn't know hot to expres it. I wanna say, just hold eachother, But at that age it's impossible to act as an adult. I great film about imagination, fantasy, love and trying to expres feeling. A MUST SEE I would say.
Thanks to the director and Patrick White and Malcolm Stumpf. They brought a lot of new thoughts into my mind. And thats why I like movies.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
Logan is a 13 year old male living in a Santa Cruz neighbourhood. Lions have been seen in the surrounding areas, and the populace are taught to hate and fear them. Logan identifies with these maligned creatures - shunned and avoided by the rest of society. Although aware that he is gay, Logan is unable yet to voice this to his best friend; his masturbatory fantasies about older guys at school and Lycra-clad wrestlers on TV are confined to the privacy of his bed at night-time. In the course of the film, Logan develops an attraction to an older boy at school - Rodeo - who is also an outsider, and aims to seduce him through phone sex and friendship.

'Wild Tigers' is an incredibly beautiful film, in all senses. Aesthetically it is a stunning work of arthouse cinema, and was widely acclaimed at the Sundance Film Festival. The director, Cam Archer, eschews linear story-telling, and conveys Logan's internal and external struggles through a series of dream-like vignettes. Cam Archer's film background in music videos and arthouse shorts is clearly evident in his portrayal of the adolescent anguish of isolation and lust through a holistic combination of studied camera angles, a haunting soundtrack, and creative visual style. If the sweeping landscape background against static foreground images resonates, it will come as no surprise that Gus Van Sant ('My Own Private Idaho') was the film's executive producer. Malcolm Stumpf is just superb as the tortured Logan, and his awkwardness and facial expressions will deftly re-awaken memories in the viewer.

Cam Archer is certainly a name to watch; with 'Wild Tigers I Have Known' he has created a stunning and original work of art, which strides fearlessly into the realm of young male sexuality which mainstream films dare not tread. Suitable for all ages, from young males to wizened cynics, the film should be approached with an open mind, with no expectations of conventional 'story-telling'. Along with 'The Mudge Boy' and 'Ma Vie en Rose', 'Wild Tigers' is one of the very few authentic portrayals of young gay self-awareness, and is very highly recommended.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Wild Tigers I Have Known' is a thoughtful coming-of-age gay movie. It opens with the scene of a wrestling match before we cut to young Logan relieving himself of his sexual frustration. Meanwhile, a newscast reveals that a mountain lion has been shot at Logan's school. A sequence of montages follows, voyeuristic of Logan himself and yet expressing his own voyeurism. These also express his essential loneliness and sense of outsiderhood. Thus the director, Cam Archer, adopts an unconventional narrative style of unspoken montages, but with which we never lose interest. The film is competently acted and there is effective use made of sound, especially when conveying tension. But the review in `The Independent' is probably correct to assert that "the ratio of wilful indulgence to narrative coherence is fatally uneven."

As for the story, Logan's best friend is a bit of a space-geek who compiles lists of how to be cool rather than becoming cool himself. Logan, though, has a fix on an older boy at school, Rodeo, with whom he starts to hang out and on whom he fixates his burgeoning sexual desire, so much so that Logan calls Rodeo on the phone and pretends to be a girl. "Do you feel different, Logan?" is the question asked of his erratic behaviour by a sympathetic school councillor.

The story does progress to a form of climax, although there is no ending as such. Once Logan has confronted Rodeo, a meeting expressed in reality and also symbolically by Logan confronting his own tiger, the film ends with Logan running through the grass into the distance.

There are odd touches of humour here and there. My partner called the film `bizarre', but then being thirteen is a difficult age to convey. The director seems to have a fetish for mesh fences, or does he view these as symbolic of seeing through barriers? Gus van Sant, an executive producer for the film, is certainly an influence. (I notice Scott Rudin is also an executive producer.) Finally, I've no idea why this film has an 18 certificate; there is no violence or overt sex.

There are some good extras on the disc. As well as the video of the film's title soundtrack, there are two shorts. The first, `Beholden' (thirteen minutes) is directed by Aaron Platt (Cam Archer's cinematographer) but is so similar in style to `Wild Tigers' that one might guess Platt and Archer are one and the same person. It is co-written by Cam Archer and edited by both. The second is the twenty-one-minute `Godly Boyish', again a joint-effort by Cam Archer and Aaron Platt.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 March 2011
This moody, ethereal, dreamlike, experimental, beautifully shot evocation of what it's like
to be 13 and starting to realize you're gay certainly has more than it's share of
pretentious moments and hammer headed symbolism.

Yet I felt wrapped up in it, despite the occasional eye roll, and quite moved by the end.

I've also found that images, music, and feelings have stayed with me.

I'd see it again, and - in spite of it's flaws - could see rating this even higher.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 March 2011
Not an 'easy' dilm. This moody, ethereal, dream like,experimental, beautifully shot
evocation of what it's like to be 13 and starting to realize you're gay certainly has
more than it's share of pretentious moments and hammer headed symbolism.

Yet I felt wrapped up in it, despite the occasional eye roll, and quite
moved by the end. I've also found that images, music, and emotions from
the film have stayed with me. I'd see it again, and - in spite of it's flaws -
wouldn't be surprised to find I enjoyed it even more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
It was a great film. I think that the characters depicted the way the teenage boys act and think. I good movie. This particular version had German subtitles which pretty much followed the dialog.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
Having seen many "coming of age", "sexual discovery" and similar themed movies, I was quite disappointed with the film. It begins with Logan masturbating to a series of images which are strange visual attempts to show what goes on in the hormone-racked mind of a pubescent boy. These initial caotic images tend to last a bit too long and don't really help to explain WHAT the kid is using as mental stimulus. Only later in the film does it seem to "take off" once Logan meets Rodeo, however, their fragile relationship could have been further developed. And when the film ends, you're left thinking "that's it", what else happens between them? All in all, way too much is left up to the viewer's imagination thus not giving enough to go on. When buying a movie of this type, I expect more substance to it such as a better plot, more character interaction, etc. If I have to "fill in the blanks" too much, what's the point of buying or viewing the movie, I might as well think it up all by myself. Films should contribute more, so as to enrich our minds with other experiences that we haven't thought up yet.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2009
this is an amazing film, fantastic colours, production and freshness.
unfortunately this uk version is only released in 4:3 version !
WTF !!! who releases a dvd in a version that only looks good on a square
4:3 tv ??? square tvs arent even sold anymore ?
many sites say the dvd is 16:9 , but thats wrong info.
i called up soda the distributors in uk and they took 6 days to get back to me
to tel me if it has been released in 16:9 in uk.... its hasnt !! 4:3 only.
watching this dvd on a 16:9 tv is horrible, theres thick black boarders all around the picture
and if you pan and scan to fit, it distorts the image horribly.

AND THE CHERRY ON THE CAKE ? ON THE DVD IS THE TRAILER FOR THE MOVIE IN 16:9 WHICH LOOKS WONDERFUL !!!

THE FRICKING TRAILER LOOKS BETTER THAN THE ACTUAL FILM ON THIS DVD !!
i recommend buying the usa 16:9 version and copying it to dvd without the region restriction if you want to play it in a ps3 upscaled !!!

hope this helped.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
What a disappointment this film turned out to be. I was left wondering what sort of magic mushrooms the director was on when he made it. Surreal and abstract yes, but distracting too for all the wrong reasons. The plot took a poor second place to dreadful, kaleidoscopic effects which met their match in the dire sound effects. Here we had a beautiful young boy exploring his sexuality and longing to do so with an older boy but the script wouldn't let them move the story along. Lack of dialog coupled with the complaints above had me pressing the fast forward on my DVD player all too often. This could have been a much, much better story. That it isn't is down to the director. It seems he won a debut film award for it. I have to wonder if it wasn't a Golden Raspberry. I really cannot recommend this DVD to anybody.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)