Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Tribute
This Greentrax double cd is a fine and fitting tribute to those who fought and died in the Great war and all those other conflicts since. The Soldiers' songs on the first disc are full of humour and humanity. The songs on the second disc by recent song-writers are pwerful and reflective.
Very well done all at greentrax involved in this production.
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by K. Goodwin

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money
I bought this to help me give a talk to residents in a local care home, but I'm not going to be able to use it. Most of the songs are sung by a group calling themselves 'The Scottish Pals Singers'. They sound third rate and race through the first section of 'soldiers trench songs' at a disappointingly fast pace, on average each song lasts 40 seconds.
Published 11 months ago by Mrs V Biggs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
I bought this to help me give a talk to residents in a local care home, but I'm not going to be able to use it. Most of the songs are sung by a group calling themselves 'The Scottish Pals Singers'. They sound third rate and race through the first section of 'soldiers trench songs' at a disappointingly fast pace, on average each song lasts 40 seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Tribute, 5 Feb 2009
By 
K. Goodwin (Dumbarton,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
This Greentrax double cd is a fine and fitting tribute to those who fought and died in the Great war and all those other conflicts since. The Soldiers' songs on the first disc are full of humour and humanity. The songs on the second disc by recent song-writers are pwerful and reflective.
Very well done all at greentrax involved in this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More a reprise than anything. Song lengths a little too short, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
Would have been more enjoyable if song lengths had been full length. one or two verses, 20 secs to a minute on most tench songs a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing - lacks any feeling for that era., 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
I agree wholeheartedly with Mrs V Biggs and wish I had taken note of her review. The songs are quick, short melodies sung by some obscure Scottish 'Pals' band and lack any emotional involvement or atmosphere for the Great War. It's a bit like listening to supermarket Muzak or akin to the old Black & White Minstrels, even the poems lack depth from the narration and, although obviously have affected some listeners, didn't affect me as such poems should do from those tragic times. I was probably taken in a bit by the excellent cover but given it two stars because there are two CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
I bought this after seeing the stage show. A very poingnant, moving album.
Though told from a Scottish perspective, the horror of war is universal.
I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flanders fields, 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
this has to be one of the best cd s of its kind. and the second cd in my opinion has to be the best of the best on this subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good songs, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
I was looking for songs from World War I in English. Very good songs and artists in an excellent audio-quality. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very moving CD, 30 Mar 2009
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
What a wonderful CD. It is incredibly moving as it brings home the reality of WW1 in music. I have to say there are a couple of tracks where I was almost in tears they are so moving and I would not class myself as a particularly emotional type. Fantastic album, get it, it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An album full of contrasts, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
I bought this album, having seen it performed live, in Glasgow, as part of the "Celtic Connections" festival. It's not the type of music I would normally listen to, however, the live performance was so powerful that this album now evokes strong emotions. The contrast of some beautiful songs, set against the horrors of World War I, is quite moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly evocative!, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far, Far from Ypres (Audio CD)
Superb selection of classic songs from The Great War which brilliantly and emotionally capture the ambiance of that terrible time. A recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far, Far from Ypres
Far, Far from Ypres by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews