Customer Reviews


386 Reviews
5 star:
 (219)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, Fast, and plenty of storage
SanDisk make great flashdrives, as they have some of the quickest write and read speed on the market. This one currently goes over twice the speed of my other flashdrive I use. It makes transferring large files or a large number of files across a lot quicker and less painful timewise.

The retractable usb connector is a nice little feature, and helps against...
Published on 31 Jan 2009 by P. McCauley

versus
142 of 147 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important Advice - 10 things you should know!
If you wish to use the SanDisk CruzerSync software to store and synchronise your data, there are a few things you should know:

1) The drive is formatted as FAT32 and has two partitions. The first is for the U3 system and is only 6.6Mb. The second is the storage area and starts off as just under 15GB approx.

2) If you wish to use the CruzerSync...
Published on 30 May 2009 by S. D. Southam


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, Fast, and plenty of storage, 31 Jan 2009
By 
P. McCauley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
SanDisk make great flashdrives, as they have some of the quickest write and read speed on the market. This one currently goes over twice the speed of my other flashdrive I use. It makes transferring large files or a large number of files across a lot quicker and less painful timewise.

The retractable usb connector is a nice little feature, and helps against any possible damage. The weight of this is incredibily light, and feels like im holding nothing when in my hand. A nice orange glow appears from the flashdrive when it is connected, so you can clearly see it in use.

This flashdive comes with software called U3, which mean you are able to install and run programs directly off the drive. This is a handy feature if you use particular programs and you use another computer which doesnt have it, if you had it installed on your flashdrive you could use it anywhere. Having 16gbs also helps as there is plenty of space for extra programs.

Overall a great buy, and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


142 of 147 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important Advice - 10 things you should know!, 30 May 2009
By 
S. D. Southam "Shereen" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
If you wish to use the SanDisk CruzerSync software to store and synchronise your data, there are a few things you should know:

1) The drive is formatted as FAT32 and has two partitions. The first is for the U3 system and is only 6.6Mb. The second is the storage area and starts off as just under 15GB approx.

2) If you wish to use the CruzerSync software to keep your data synchronised and encrypted, do NOT manually copy and paste items on to the storage partition of the drive yourself using Windows Explorer! If you do, manually copied items will not be encrypted or synchronised - UNLESS you add the storage partition to your "profile"! But adding the storage partition of your drive to your "profile" as well as selecting those folders from your computer will result in those files being copied twice - and will therefore use double the disk space on your USB drive!

3) Instead start up CruzerSync and set up your "profile", selecting all the folders you want it to keep synchronised and it will encrypt them and copy them all over onto the storage partition of the drive.

4) But do select your folders VERY CAREFULLY using the Adavanced Option when setting up your profile in CruzerSync! If not, it will attempt to copy ALL your personal files and folders from your computer onto the drive! Also, if you just leave the tick against Documents, it will copy over everything - including the contents of the recycle bin!

5) You do NOT need to select your "favourites" folder as the CruzerSync picks this up automatically - wherever it may be stored on your computer.

6) But only Outlook works seamlessly with CruzerSync. So if you use Outlook Express or Windows Mail, you will have to navigate to and add your Contacts folder to your "profile" manually.

7) BUT CruzerSync will NOT automatically add and synchronise any new sub-folders you add to any main folder you have selected in your "profile". You must add them manually from the Options menu!

8) Nor can you DELETE any folders from your Sync Options list once you have selected them in your "profile"! Just un-checking the folders in the Options list will NOT remove them from your synchronised items!

9) BUT *** WARNING *** Any items that you mark for deletion in CruzerSync WILL ALSO BE DELETED FROM THEIR ORIGINAL FOLDERS ON YOUR COMPUTER!!!
I discovered this to my cost and horror before realising that this would be the case - so I lost several files and since they do are NOT put into your main Recycle bin, there is no easy way to retrieve them!

10) Disk space on the STORAGE PARTIITON of the flash drive seems to be slowly eaten up every time you choose to start again (by Resetting the Data from the Tools menu)! This is because nothing you delete from a USB Flash drive is ever actually deleted. Old files are just hidden and will therefore still take up disk space even if you delete them! And the only way I can see to recover lost disk space is by formatting the STORAGE PARTITION of the drive and starting afresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


138 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic device, 27 Oct 2008
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
Cheap and cheerful device (£17.99), here are some tested speeds:

Writing speed 5.5MBytes/s
Reading speed 22Mbytes/s

Is not the fastest out there but is certainly one of the Cheapest.

This is a U3 device and it comes with the usual Skype, McAfee and Signup Shield Passwords.

Made by SanDisk you are rest assured that is not a fake. Fully tested using H2testw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most impressed by Sandisk's approach, 2 Nov 2008
By 
S. Khan "Kayote" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
What is so neat about this usb flash drive is that it has U3 which really makes it easy to install portable applications on this usb drive. The design is simple and effective and no cap makes it so much more easier to carry.

Overall, I cannot recommend this highly enough. Great value too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Flash drive but beware U3 development is dead, 7 April 2009
By 
Paul Milligan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
This device is excellent value as a quality 16Gb device. It is worth noting though that Sandisk abandoned U3 in 2007 in favour of a yet to be announced Microsoft technology. All the applications on the U3 site are 12-18 months old (Firefox 2.0.0.3! &c.). So the U3 functionality has somewhat limited value -hence the keen price perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Buy, 31 Dec 2008
By 
N. Murdo (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
Very good pen drive with high capacity and very good price. Works well with Readyboost on Vista, and the U3 software comes in useful.

Feels a little flimsy to touch, but had no problems with it so far. Recommended buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Price, Great VFM, 31 Oct 2008
By 
D. BLAIKIE "Apple Mac enthusiast" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
This replaces my 1Gb Sandisk Cruizer that served me well for about 3 yrs.
Superb storage at almost £1 per Gig.
U3 System (Programs on your flash) doesn't work with Apple Mac but I had no plans to use that feature anyway.
The reading/writing speeds are sufficient.
All my Documents and all my Downloaded Updates & Programs are now on my Flash Drive with 10Gigs to spare!

Bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too clever for its own good, 18 Mar 2009
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
Design is good with the retractible usb plug, and after some "faffing about" it finally works as a normal flash drive. However, I wonder if the U3 element is really worth the bother. If you want just the basic storage, I would look at a robust model like the Corsair range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars U3 software is a no no, 17 July 2009
By 
T. Kyriakou (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
I have used this USB key with the U3 software still on. Just in case I might need the U3 options it at some point..... After aboout a month of really infrequent use an I/O error appeared that precluded me using the memory stick in any machine. Only after removing the U3 software with the removal tool of Sandisk available from the website was the drive back to normal.
So if you remove the U3 software then things are ok.ish...
The slide in slide out design although prevents the annoying loss of a cap is quite a fiddle especially if you are inserting/removing from your computer frequently. If i had the option again i would buy something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great item but a bit off 16GB, 3 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack (Accessory)
This pen drive is very good,speed wise it seems okay, not super fast but that doesnt really matter. Compared to my other pen drive it weighs nearly nothing!
I was quite dissapointed when I checked the capacity, I knew there wouldnt be the full 16GB because there never is but to find I had 14.8GB was a surprise. The packaging does warn there is not the full 16GB as well just 1.2GB seems a lot to be missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SanDisk 16GB Micro Cruzer - Retail Pack
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews