Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!
This is a must-see for fans of Annie Leibovitz. It offers an insight into the thought processes behind some of the most famous photographs of the last 20 years.

You might also consider reading her book; Annie Leibovitz at Work. I enjoyed every minute of it.
Published on 11 July 2009 by Mike Le Gray

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, with flaws
This documentary is a biography and doesn't teach much about the technical aspects of her photography. Never when discussing her own pictures, does it go any deeper than stating 'nice'. It is mostly celebrities praising Annie L. and many of her iconic images are shown, of course.
On the dvd, there are no extras at all, not even subtitles, which would have been...
Published on 2 July 2011 by Ivan Lietaert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, with flaws, 2 July 2011
By 
Ivan Lietaert "Ivan L." (Slypskapelle, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary is a biography and doesn't teach much about the technical aspects of her photography. Never when discussing her own pictures, does it go any deeper than stating 'nice'. It is mostly celebrities praising Annie L. and many of her iconic images are shown, of course.
On the dvd, there are no extras at all, not even subtitles, which would have been appreciated by the many international fans. The footage was shot by her sister, and is not of a professional level: often shaky, sometimes the cameraman/woman or other technician is in view etc.
Still worth viewing, of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 11 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
This is a must-see for fans of Annie Leibovitz. It offers an insight into the thought processes behind some of the most famous photographs of the last 20 years.

You might also consider reading her book; Annie Leibovitz at Work. I enjoyed every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt Journey of Annie Leibovitz, 3 Feb 2010
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
My direct involvement in the Fashion promted me to purchase this. This is certainly a great DVD for those who may not be so familiar with Annie Leibovitz or her work. This documentational film takes you on a journey to the very beginning of Annie's life and following through all the way to the present day. It touches on both her personal and creative life. A worthwhile and enjoyable purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating life of Annie L, 20 Nov 2009
By 
F. McLean-Brown "Fred Bear" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
I only knew about her more recent work on big magazines so the story of her beginnings shooting for Rolling Stone magazine and her work touring with the big groups of the 70's was fascinating. I really enjoyed the DVD and seeing her life and photo shoot preparations. A must for anyone interested in photographers and photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 22 Dec 2009
By 
S. Jinn "Sara" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
I actually watched this documentary on the BBC and as a fellow student photographer, I found it to be very inspiring!
...and then I went to purchase "Annie Lebovitz at work".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Annie Liebowitz - Life through a Lens, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent documentary style DVD of this photographer's life and work. Went really well with visiting the exhibition that was at the National Portrait Gallery and put some of the aspects of that into a context. Great value and one to keep for the archives!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight - behind the scenes candid stuff., 21 Feb 2014
By 
Stuart King "BoyRacerLondon" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
It seems a very long time ago since I purchased this product and to be honest I cannot say that it has stayed in the memory especially, but I don't recall any issues with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Photography enthusiasts, 25 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of the more contemporary side of photography, I purchased this out of interest of the method, system and workflow adopted by Annie Leibovitz as opposed to her relationship with celebrity. The quality of her work is undeniably amazing, so regarded this purchase merely as an item of reference. On review, you only see glimpses of her working methods, the kit she uses (a lot of variation!), her presence in the studio and location and professional manner in which she produces the required results. This is more about the past and current life situation of the photographer, in many ways refreshingly diverts away from her career totally. Yet, in contrast provides celebration of her work backed up by interviews from her well known subjects and colleagues. You may not be impressed by the adoration people such as Hilary Clinton, Clooney and Jagger afford this lady. However, you will appreciate the informal, comfortable and personal way in which succesful people discuss their relationship with A.L.

The footage jumps between current time both personal and work related and her working and family history, in particular her relationship with her immediate family (the cine-film accounts connecting you emotionally to the photographer), and early opportunities in Rolling Stone which would appeal greatly to any music lovers.

You don't see enough of her life to build your own conclusion of her, whether as an emotional and understanding human being, compassionate about her family, friends and subject, or as a true professional, demanding, strict and efficient. What you do understand is how she has part influenced our portrayal of celebrity in the modern culture, a refreshing vehicle of normality in what is a glossed over and fabricated industry.

Thoroughly enjoyable film, documentary, biography??? Call it what you want, a worthy purchase if you're into photography, music, celebrity or biographies, and a worthy purchase if you are not. Only downpoint is it all seemed to be over very quickly I felt as if it could have been 20 minutes longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight to a photographer's life, 15 Jan 2010
By 
C. A. Burnett "Charly Burnett" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, she's Annie and the legend that goes along with that but this film is a fascinating look at both the woman and her work. For those looking for instruction; find a mentor, take a college course, get out and shoot. For those looking for inspiration though - or those with a deeper interest in the woman behind the name, I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amaizing, 24 April 2009
This review is from: Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] (DVD)
Great this documentary was done... dificult to believe such an amount of work from just one person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD]
Annie Leibovitz - Life Through a Lens [DVD] by Annie Leibovitz (DVD - 2008)
7.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews