Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star wars as it used to be
It's a new star wars movie.

It's set betwene episodes two and three.

It's a cgi cartoon.

And it appears to be three episodes of the new tv series the clone wars edited together into one feature film.

the story involves anakin skywalker and his new apprentice - whom he didnt want to take on - having to rescue the kidnapped son of...
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by Paul Tapner

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad !
The kids will love this over-glorified toy advert ! You get the light-saber fights , trips to Anakin's home-world , the Hutt's up to no good and the Sith playing their usual underhanded tricks. It is nice to see Yoda , C-Threepio and R2D2 - some comic light relief is nice. I have watched it a couple of times knowing in advance that it would not blow me away like seeing A...
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by Mr. Mg Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star wars as it used to be, 5 Jan 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It's a new star wars movie.

It's set betwene episodes two and three.

It's a cgi cartoon.

And it appears to be three episodes of the new tv series the clone wars edited together into one feature film.

the story involves anakin skywalker and his new apprentice - whom he didnt want to take on - having to rescue the kidnapped son of jabba the hutt from separatist forces under the command of the evil count dooku and his associates. the jedi and the clone troopers who fight on their side face a hard journey to reunite jabba with his son.

the animation is rather stylised like a japanese cartoon. whilst the characters do look rather good the backgrounds can be a bit static.

very few of the original voice cast actors [just samuel l jackson as mace windu, anthony daniels as c3po and christpoher lee as count dooku] reprise their roles. all the other characters who have been seen before are voiced by new actors who try and impersonate the performance of the originals.

anakin's apprentice talks like a californian valley girl.

and jabba's son is nicknamed stinky.

so this could all be horribly dumbed down.

but the movie succeeds because it contains the one element that the first three star wars films had, and the second trilogy so conspicuously lacked.

It's fun!

It's never dumbed down.the apprentice may talk like a valley girl but she's a fully rounded character and never gets annoying.

and it contains action scene after action scene all of which are really gripping.

this is quality star wars entertainment of the kind we thought we'd never see again, and it's a hugely enjoyable experience for fans of all ages. if they're prepared to give it a chance.

the dvd has language tracks in english and hebrew and english for the hearing impaired. it also has subtitles in arabic hebrew and icelandic.

it offers direct scene access to the film, and the sole extra is a commentary from the director, the producer, the writer and the editor.

the lack of other extras is disappointing, but the quality of the movie is such that the dvd rates a five stars. unleash the inner star wars fan in you again. it's worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My six year old son, 9 Jan 2009
By 
Mrs. K. L. Firth "Kate" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I took my six year old son to see this film. As a "girl" i wasn't really expecting to enjoy it but it was actually great fun and my little boy loved it. It's probably not a bad thing that it was me and not hubby who went as he prefers the original trilogy to any other... No it's not like the old Star wars films but that doesn't make it bad - just different and definitely good for little ones to cut their teeth on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad !, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Mg Reynolds "Carry On fan" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The kids will love this over-glorified toy advert ! You get the light-saber fights , trips to Anakin's home-world , the Hutt's up to no good and the Sith playing their usual underhanded tricks. It is nice to see Yoda , C-Threepio and R2D2 - some comic light relief is nice. I have watched it a couple of times knowing in advance that it would not blow me away like seeing A New Hope for the first time did many moons ago. I did recognize many of the plot lines from the more recent Star Wars films so the writers got their continuity facts absolutely right. Seeing an entire Star Wars film done in computer generated animation was interesting to say the least and even if the plot-line was pretty predictable it is no reason for not attempting such an enterprise again. Technically it was fine and the people who did the voice-overs did very well indeed. For any future Star Wars films done like this a more creative storyline could. move an average movie to a superb one. It is not a bad effort and there are certainly worse ways to pass the time- especially when Amazon are selling it at such a fair price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Begun, the Clone Wars has": one of the better Star Wars films, 17 Aug 2008
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Lucasfilm Animation, director Dave Filoni, and screenwriter Henry Gilroy have crafted the perfect Saturdy morning summer animated film, "Star Wars: The Clone Wars", which is a more than adequate sequel to the "Star Wars" prequel trilogy, set between Episodes II and III. To be perfectly honest, I wasn't expecting much, but left the theater quite impressed with the quality of much of the animation, which, I might add, is much closer to Pixar Studio's than classic Walt Disney in its realism. I was also surprised with the amount of screen time given to Count Dooku (voiced by the ever incredible Christopher Lee), as well as the voice "returns" of Samuel L. Jackson (General Mace Windu) and Anthony Daniels (C-3PO) (Daniels has now the distinction of appearing in every "Star Wars" film.).

"Star Wars: The Clone Wars" captures successfully much of the excitement found in the original trilogy and in "Star Wars - Episode III: Revenge of the Sith". Moreover, it offers more amazing battle sequences and light saber duels than seen in the live action films thanks to state-of-the-art animation technology. Where "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" fails is in some of its insipid dialogue, and the rather curious introduction of the inexperienced Ahsoka Tano as Anakin's padawan (Jedi apprentice), who comes across more as a spoiled brat than a genuine Jedi warrior in training. And yet, with these few glaring defects, this remains a film which I can recommend highly to those who are diehard "Star Wars" fans and others seeking high quality cinematic entertainment that's suitable for the entire family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and action-packed, 15 Aug 2008
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I was sceptical when I heard another Star Wars movie was being released but then read that it was evolved from the Clone Wars cartoon micro-series, which really captured the Star Wars spirit. I took my kids and we all loved it. I rate it as better than Ep2: Attack of the Clones and on a par with Ep3: Revenge of the Sith.

To briefly summarise, the Jedi/Galactic Republic armies are struggling in the Clone Wars with hyperspace routes being blocked off by the Separatists. Then Jabba the Hutts son is kidnapped, and Supreme Chancellor Palpatine sends the Jedi (Anakin and Obi-Wan) to rescue him, with the aim to secure Hutt support for the War. The Separatists led by Count Dooku have their own agenda of turning the Hutts against the Jedi.

The movie was pure action with a thin plot, but after the prequel trilogy fiasco who really expected George Lucas to come up with a great story? Besides, I personally wanted to see more about the changing Anakin and Obi-Wan relationship and this film did just that. Anakin is depicted as the great warrior he is and Obi-Wan as the wily general using his legendary negotiating skills. As Anakin has progressed from Jedi apprentice to Jedi Knight we also see him mentor a Jedi apprentice (a feisty female) himself. This addition actually worked really well.

The negatives to the movie were that despite all the fighting the main characters (Jedi and Sith) all survive. This was probably to set-up a longer series that will be shown on TV. Mace Windu and Yoda were not shown in combat roles, which was disappointing as they were pretty awesome in the micro-series. General Grievous is also yet to appear. This movie does require the viewer to have some prior knowledge of the Star Wars saga so stand-alone viewing may not be advisable.

For those seeking fun and action in the true Star Wars sense, I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some flaws, but ultimately enjoyable!, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Neil Goodacre - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Now this is a weird one...

The Star Wars prequels were, frankly, disappointing. Episode I showed promise but suffered due to its over-use of slapstick humour and child actors. Episode 2 was all about the action but made little sense and Episode 3 was, well, it was rubbish. Anakin was tricked into being a baddy, Padme just died because she felt like it and the jedi were wiped out in under five minutes. Star Wars fans everywhere felt cheated...

But this, this film represents a new hope (pun intended) for Star Wars fans everywhere as it launches a new Star Wars TV series. Now, the first season of the series has been and gone and most of the people I know that have seen it, liked it. Yes, the characters look a little wooden (obvious joke about Hayden Christensen omitted) and the dialogue is a bit weak here and there, but when all's said and done, it's prety good!

And this film is no exception. The story is clear (maybe a little too clear, but it's for kids) and the action scenes are fast-paced and well-presented. There's a bit of character development and some well-placed poignant moments. We're introduced to some new characters, chief among them is Ahsoka Tano, Anakin's new apprentice who has been added to give female viewers someone to relate to.

Now, thanks to the prequel movies (boo), there are some elements of this movie - and indeed the series - that are quite hard for me to get my head around. Firstly, there are the clones. They all look the same (no surprises there) and spend much of their time with their faces covered, which makes it very hard to empathise with them. Plus, we know that they turn on the jedi eventually...

But worse than that is the fact that we already know both sides in the war are controlled by Palpatine and that the whole thing is just some elaborately construed plan designed to bring him to power. If you think about that, the whle thing is pointless...

But, my advice would be to not think about that. Let's pretend the prequels never happened. We know Obi-Wan Kenobi served Leia's father in the CLone Wars (which, if you believe the prequels, isn't actually true). When we first heard that we thought "hmmm, I wonder what the Clone Wars were". Well, here they are. Watch the movie. Watch the series. And enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars is back, 19 Dec 2008
By 
This is a fantastic film and addition to the star wars universe. I took my four year old son to see it at the cinema (the first time he had ever been) and we both loved it. We now watch the new series and my son has become a star wars fan. The critics of this film should 'chill out' a bit and remember that stars wars is not just reserved for adults and lifelong fans. The orginal movie was made a success beacuse young children bought into the whole adevnture and played with toys, etc. Without this youthfull experience the whole thing would never have been as big. Now it is another generations turn to enjoy the expanded universe - you cannot keep to the same format for each and every release. The enjoyment that my son and I get from this is fantastic (even for a lfelong fan!!) - I even get to play with the toys once more - how cool is that!!!

Watch this with an open mind and you will enjoy it, particularly if you have kids as the joy of the star wars experience is about sharing with other people. The animation is very good and I was very impressed. There is lots of humour and plenty to pick up on repeat viewings. Watch the series if you get a chance - great yoda action.....

As for the comments about the lack of extras - who actually has time for extras anyway?? All I tend to watch is the film anyway.

This is a great experience - enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars, The Clone Wars, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Gordon Mccrone (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like the Star Wars films, you will love this feature length computer animated movie. Everything about it is quality, visually stunning, great sound and amazing battle scenes. I watched it with my son and we both loved it. All your favourite characters from the clone era are superbly created and stay true to their original film castings. There is a humorous edge throughout the movie which adds to the viewing pleasure. The storyline is good and leaves you wanting to see the next instalment with eager anticipation. All in all it is a good way to spend your time and the kids will watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasing surprise: stylised animation suits the Star Wars universe, 27 Aug 2008
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Wars - The Clone Wars [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
After the disappointment of Eps2 and 3, the Clone Wars goes a long way towards rekindling the excitement I've always associated with Star Wars. It returns to the non-stop action rollercoaster feel of the Luke Skywalker days, where the heroes gallop across the galaxy from one hot spot to the next, light-sabres blazing and blasters, err, blasting.

The style of animation takes some getting used to: it's nothing like a realistic or slick as Pixar, so you won't be seeing images like those in the feature-length Beowulf or Final Fantasy films. Instead it merges the Star Ward universe with some mange/anime styles to create a different, 2D experience. Where this works especially well is with the giant space cruisers (every bit as onimous as the models in Ep1, I feel), and with some truly moody and evocotive shots set under Tatootine's twin suns.
The flaws in the Clone Wars are similar to those which plagued the recent live-action trilogy: too much of a good thing. Some of the action is ridiculously over-fast which robs the Jedi fights of the grace and majesty they deserve. And where a droid army faces a clone army there's just too much firepower -- the overall themes can be drowned in a blizzard of blaster fire.

However, there's also an awful lot to love in the Clone Wars. Anakin comes over as a more developed character in this installment than he did in the three prequels; he faces a real challenge in a female Sith warrior; and a younger Padewan Jedi joins him to bulk out the cast for the transfer to a long-running TV series. The clones themselves take on characteristics too -- there's a lovely sequence which shows them all with different hair cuts/colours, so they can tell each other apart...
The well-known voices really jazz up the soundtrack (as does the revised theme music), although I felt that the majority of the vocals were very well delivered, and didn't conflict with my memory of how Obi-Wan, ofr instance, should sound.

The Clone Wars doesn't add a great deal to the Star Wars mythology. It's not ground-breaking scfi-fi, nor particularly inventive animation. However, it does help to round out a big gap in the history of the series, and lets us finally see the Jedi and the Republic in their time of maximum power. It's a very entertaining romp for the family, although adults who aren't Star Wars fans may struggle to understand what exactly the thrill is for the rest of us...
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Begun, the Clone Wars has": one of the better Star Wars films, 17 Aug 2008
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars - The Clone Wars [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Lucasfilm Animation, director Dave Filoni, and screenwriter Henry Gilroy have crafted the perfect Saturdy morning summer animated film, "Star Wars: The Clone Wars", which is a more than adequate sequel to the "Star Wars" prequel trilogy, set between Episodes II and III. To be perfectly honest, I wasn't expecting much, but left the theater quite impressed with the quality of much of the animation, which, I might add, is much closer to Pixar Studio's than classic Walt Disney in its realism. I was also surprised with the amount of screen time given to Count Dooku (voiced by the ever incredible Christopher Lee), as well as the voice "returns" of Samuel L. Jackson (General Mace Windu) and Anthony Daniels (C-3PO) (Daniels has now the distinction of appearing in every "Star Wars" film.).

"Star Wars: The Clone Wars" captures successfully much of the excitement found in the original trilogy and in "Star Wars - Episode III: Revenge of the Sith". Moreover, it offers more amazing battle sequences and light saber duels than seen in the live action films thanks to state-of-the-art animation technology. Where "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" fails is in some of its insipid dialogue, and the rather curious introduction of the inexperienced Ahsoka Tano as Anakin's padawan (Jedi apprentice), who comes across more as a spoiled brat than a genuine Jedi warrior in training. And yet, with these few glaring defects, this remains a film which I can recommend highly to those who are diehard "Star Wars" fans and others seeking high quality cinematic entertainment that's suitable for the entire family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars - The Clone Wars [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free]
£5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews