Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when will this be available on Region 2
Been searching for this on Region 2 for years, please some one make it available to us in the UK. Update now available in UK
Published on 14 Jun. 2010 by Ms. Sk Coomber

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You will remember this one and the price!
Have you got £100 spare change in your pocket for this one? If so then it's time possibly to sell a few gold bars and build your own movie theatre, or maybe even make a sequel yourself. The problem is that it's not just the price but the fact it's region 1 and not region 2. The Winds of War was a great series blowing you along and eventually winding you up when after...
Published on 28 Oct. 2012 by Ric


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You will remember this one and the price!, 28 Oct. 2012
Have you got £100 spare change in your pocket for this one? If so then it's time possibly to sell a few gold bars and build your own movie theatre, or maybe even make a sequel yourself. The problem is that it's not just the price but the fact it's region 1 and not region 2. The Winds of War was a great series blowing you along and eventually winding you up when after seeing it in the 1980s you found it ended nowhere. That one is on DVD region 2 for a mere £13, now you find you have to pay £100 for the sequel War and Rememberance, almost 30 years later!! Puts the wind up your trouser leg and through your pockets what?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when will this be available on Region 2, 14 Jun. 2010
By 
Ms. Sk Coomber "Sue" (Basingstoke, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Been searching for this on Region 2 for years, please some one make it available to us in the UK. Update now available in UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Want to see it but not at this price!!, 29 Aug. 2012
I've just finished watching Winds of War, which I purchased for the reasonable price of £11. Why on earth, then, is the sequel such an extortionate price?? Surely you could do something about this, Amazon. Who in their right mind would be willing to part with £97?? If you want to sell them, reduce the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want it!, 13 Aug. 2010
I can't believe that I can't get a copy of this! It's just unbelievable. I've just watched the Winds of War - and now have to stop dead just when things are really heating up. Shame Amazon!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War and remembrance dvd region 2, 9 Aug. 2010
I have also been looking for this dvd for ages. It seems bizarre that it is not available here as I'm sure it would sell like "hot cakes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There must be Thousands of Amazon Customers waiting for this on Region 2, 19 Mar. 2011
I amongst many others who have already bought Winds Of War are wanting to buy War & Remembrance for Region 2. Isn't it about time that this follow up to Winds Of War should be re-introduced. I notice that there are a few odd copies on this Amazon Market Place at extortionate prices, but I have no intention of paying that sort of money. So come on Amazon, get the feelers out and use your influence to the DVD industry to get War & Remembrance made for Region 2. Even if it was done by the Dutch Import people who gave us The Onedin Line would be better than nothing. It is long long long overdue. Europe is large enough to warrant good sales of this series, IF, it does get made for Region 2. Everyone is waiting AMAZON!!!!

UPDATE. I have managed to find a new copy of War & Remembrance Region 2 on Ebay at £74.98 inc free postage. A bit pricey, but what the hell, much cheaper than the couple of copies available here on Amazon Market Place, a new copy at £93.99 and a second hand collectors edition at £102.99. If War & Remembrance is ever re released again for Region 2, I think it's going to be around the £60 to £70 mark at least, as it seems to be a longer series than Winds Of War. The edition I have just bought on Ebay has 13 discs and includes a booklet on the making of the series plus a CD of the musical sound track. There are still 5 Region 2 copies left by this seller (all new) at this price, so if you really want to get this on Region 2 go to Ebay, once these are sold, it might be hard to find another copy, other than a Region 1 version. In fact it could be quite a while before it ever gets released again!!! And that's a big IF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Maddening, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
M. M. Ellis (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wish I had read the reviews here before I watched Winds of War, because in common with many other reviewers I am so very disappointed that I cannot complete the story. Surely it can't be that difficult to issue and there is clearly a market for this DVD set? Come on Amazon you must have the clout to get something done about this?!!! I even subscribe to Love Film so I thought I would rent the set, but no, again it isn't available to us in the UK. It is so silly to be able to watch half the story don't you think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why can't i see it???????????, 16 Aug. 2012
By 
The Good Daughter (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War & Remembrance: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This isn't one start because it's bad - it's one star because here in the uk (region 2 DVD) we can't get it in a compatible format. I have just been enthralled with Winds of War - first time I've watched it since it was first televised - and I am DESPERATE to see this sequel - as are very many other european fans (see the version 2 wish list - uk, netherlands etc etc ) despite many requests and comments amazon don't respond - come on amazon - you must have enough clout with someone to get it released for region 2 format users - and the "owners" of it - is it CBS - could surely see an opportunity for a huge market here

Well - it seems you need to be careful what you wish for! I know I said I was desperate to see the sequel to Winds of War but I've just realised that I'm not desperate enough! What are amazon thinking selling at this price compared to £11 for the first series. When the price comes down then I'll be buying it for sure - but not at this staggering amount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "War and Remembrance (1989) ... Robert Mitchum ... Dan Curtis (Director) (2008)", 25 Feb. 2011
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War & Remembrance: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
American Broadcasting Company (ABC) and MPI Home Video "WAR AND REMEMBRANCE" (1989) (1500 min/Color) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) -- Starring Robert Mitchum, Jane Seymour, Hart Bochner, Victoria Tennant, Polly Bergen, Sami Frey, William Schallert, Jeremy Kemp, Steven Berkoff, Robert Hardy, Topol, Mike Connors, Ralph Bellamy & John Gielgud,

Directed by Dan Curtis

All elements of this production are astounding: casting, acting, writing, historical accuracy, filming, locations, not to mention the haunting music. The series is aided by a brilliant, unforgettable score by Bob Cobert, especially the main theme which seems to encapsulate every single emotion of the thirty hours into its two minutes.

Robert Mitchum turns in a fabulous performance as Victor 'Pug' Henry the no nonsense patriarch of the family. Polly Bergen plays his flibbertigibbet wife Rhoda to perfection.

The heart, though, is the central plot of Jane Seymour, in a heartbreaking career-best performance as an American Jew trapped in Europe, and John Gielgud, mesmerizing as her uncle. Of course, having John Gielgud in the cast didn't hurt! He was absolutely marvelous. I can only say that the entire story concerning Gielgud and his family was remarkable.

As they are slowly, inexorably pulled into the Holocaust we follow them, step by agonizing step, to the final horrors of Auschwitz, filmed entirely on location.

The viewer is also given a glimpse into the thinking of the Nazi leadership, with Steven Berkoff providing a chilling and brilliant portrayal of Adolf Hitler.

"War and Remembrance" is as close to time travel as possible, and makes that dark period of history come powerfully alive.

Won Emmy Award's for Outstanding Achievement in Special Visual Effects, Outstanding Editing for a Miniseries or a Special - Single Camera Production and Outstanding Miniseries Dan Curtis (executive producer),

Nominated for Emmy Award's for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or a Special Polly Bergen, Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or a Special Jane Seymour, Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or a Special John Gielgud and Outstanding Directing in a Miniseries or a Special Dan Curtis (director)

BIOS:
1. Dan Curtis [aka: Daniel Mayer Cherkoss]
Date of Birth: 12 August 1927 - Bridgeport, Connecticut
Date of Death: 27 March 2006 - Brentwood, California

2. Robert Mitchum
Date of Birth: 6 August 1917 - Bridgeport, Connecticut
Date of Death: 1 July 1997 - Santa Barbara, California

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 5 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 5 Stars
Overall: 5 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 1500 min on DVD ~ MPI Home Video ~ (10/28/2008)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd like this on Region 2 DVD too!, 21 Jun. 2010
Just adding my voice to Sue from Basingstoke!! Please can someone bring out 'War and Remembrance' on Region 2 DVD asap?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War & Remembrance: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£63.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews