Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Use The Stairs Rose!" (Could be considered to have spoilers)
Charlie Harper (Charlie Sheen) is a womanising musician living in Malibu, on the beach. He was happy, getting drunk, having sex with strange women and betting like there was no tomorrow; until Alan came (Jon Cryer), his brother, who seems to have a lot of troubles in his life. He's got a son, dim Jake, who's just very funny otherwise.

This series we see Alan...
Published on 28 Nov. 2008 by DL Productions UK

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time gentlemen please
This has been a great blast of deceptively simple & well written humour. Charlie Sheen is perfect as the womanizing booze hound who puts up his luckless brother Alan and his son Jake.
I wondered if season 3 was going to be pushing it as a season too far but it managed to deliver. However, sadly, season 4 see's the programme begin to run out of steam.
Don't get...
Published on 29 Oct. 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Use The Stairs Rose!" (Could be considered to have spoilers), 28 Nov. 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Charlie Harper (Charlie Sheen) is a womanising musician living in Malibu, on the beach. He was happy, getting drunk, having sex with strange women and betting like there was no tomorrow; until Alan came (Jon Cryer), his brother, who seems to have a lot of troubles in his life. He's got a son, dim Jake, who's just very funny otherwise.

This series we see Alan come back, his marriage with Kandi was a farce, she takes him for everything leaving him screwed. Charlie's got troubles of his own, nearly dying and seeing his father, while Evelyn gets lucky. With guest stars such as Steven Tyler (Aerosmith) - it's a good show. Rose is also still in the picture, stalking Charlie every moment she can, and hopefully Judith is going to marry Dr Mallenack (1-2-3-4 "No more alimony!"

Another great series from Chuck Lorre and Lee Aronsohn, and great work from both Sheen and Cryer; who work excellently together, and little Angus T Jones who's just so funny and makes the show what it is. As usual this has a good balance of comedy, totty and stupidity to make it really enjoyable.

The extras are not too bad, there's a couple of commentaries, even Angus gets a look in! There's also a conversation about how they came up with the stories for Two And A Half Men and a gag reel, which is always good fun.

The packaging is good too and I am glad they have made the box thinner.

This is good value for money and will have you laughing out loud time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A series too far?? probably not, 10 Aug. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Ever since its start I have been a long term fan of Two and a Half Men, the series covered so much new ground in family sitcoms and has always handled the dysfunctional family situation well and humourously. By the series the balance is about right between the characters and the comedy is well balanced with some poigniant moments - I don't want to spoil the story by mentioning them now!

One thing the story addresses this time is how Charlie is attracting all these ladies and the struggle he has in keeping up with his lifestyle, with a few stories revolving around Charlie's tiredness and refusal to accept his ageing. Intially it is a little depressing as we have got to used to Charlie's ability to win through, but it is well handled. Alan gets a few less cringeworthy performances than in Season three and is instead used to foil Charlie's behaviour where perhaps his comedic effect is best felt.

From a DVD point of view season four takes much better care of you as a watcher - where as last season only offered a "gag reel" - which was a poor return on our wait for its release, season four has a scene by scene access system, two behind the scenes features, a gag reel and a selection of deleted scenes, making the DVD a complete package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A supremely funny sitcom, 3 Nov. 2009
By 
Zorba "Zarbos" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The nice thing about this programme is you can re-watch the episodes several times as the humour is subtle, sharp, incisive and very funny. The show is based on the premise of two brothers (one, Charlie Sheen, is financially very rich but looking for that intangible element of life that brings emotional contentment) the other, Alan Cryer, after a divorce and a legal battle for shared custody of his son is impecunious and living with his brother in his Malibou beach house. The earlier seasons see Alan trying to re-establish his own male identity after many years of marriage whilst the rich brother continues to struggle with his own search for the intangible aspect of life.

The supporting cast are wonderful all have some equally funny lines one of the most memorable for me is the house keeper commenting to the rich brother when the poor one is courting '...if they can put a man on the moon they can put a women on your brother'. The writers of the show have constantly developed the characters (this season is no exception) and never hold back with sharp and extremely funny social and behavioural observations which make reality a place you either laugh at or cry about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time gentlemen please, 29 Oct. 2008
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This has been a great blast of deceptively simple & well written humour. Charlie Sheen is perfect as the womanizing booze hound who puts up his luckless brother Alan and his son Jake.
I wondered if season 3 was going to be pushing it as a season too far but it managed to deliver. However, sadly, season 4 see's the programme begin to run out of steam.
Don't get me wrong, there are still laugh out loud moments here. The problem is that you find yourself thinking "have they done this already?" A need to change things & introduce new characters was met in season 3 but the trouble is that once the setting moves from Charlies house for very long or anyone other than the 3 main characters,(& 'Berta the cleaner), hang around for too long, the humour dries up & things slow down.
So Charlie & Alans respective love interests were jettisoned & we are back to the same old gang, which is beginning to get repetitive. See the problem?
The original set-up is the one that works best but the characters are beginning to pass their use by date. Alan just appears sad & without hope. Jake is getting too old so that his goofy brainless outlook is now looking retarded. Charlie is also getting too old for his part.
I love this title. It has had me in stitches time after time & even here manages to do so again. Trouble is it's not so often & you are left with the feeling it's all been done before.
best extras yet for this one. Pity the same can't be said of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Harper Boys Doing it in their own inimitable way, 7 Nov. 2009
By 
Dr. A. Abubakar "El Eazy" (Monchengladbach, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The videos are really hilarious and very entertaining. One never gets tired of watching the episodes again and again (unless you are a girl).

Absolutely must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Different from US release, 4 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Two And A Half Men S4; ASIN: B001CD3PMO ; EAN: 5051892014229. First of all: customer reviews are supposed to help other customers who are considering the purchase of a certain release and therefore should be about the quality of the product, rather than whether or not we liked a certain movie or series (saying you liked it or not is hardly useful information, considering we all have different tastes and there could be different editions with very different specs).
With that in mind, I'm giving this release (check asin/ean) only 3 stars because unlike the American release, of which I already had a few seasons, it lacks the dust jacket. Next to the US sets this one looks completely different and disappointing.

Format: dual layer
Audio: 2.0 dolby surround
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 widescreen
Run Time: 479 mins approx.
Languages: English, French, German, Hungarian, Spanish
Hearing Impaired: English, German
Subtitles: English, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Hungarian, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two and a half men series, 2 Jan. 2010
By 
Friends fan (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is as good as rest of them - brilliant. see other series revues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than 2 and a half laughs!, 28 Nov. 2009
By 
K. Burton "Kaykay" (Stoke-on-Trent, Staffs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
One of the best seasons! I fall for Jake everytime! He is adorable and such a great actor for such a young age. I highly recommend anyone to try this out, for sheer laughs alone you will get your moneys worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two and half men, Season 4, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Love this series

I actually love Charlie

Quick delivery

I watch this series daily, Im an addict

men, men, men, men manly men men men.....meeeeeeeen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two and a Half Men, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
All that I expected, as I had recently opted out of comedy central, but can now still watch the episodes at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008]
Two And A Half Men - Season 4 [DVD] [2008] by Conchata Ferrell (DVD - 2010)
£8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews