Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veritas means truth. The truth is this season rocks!!!
30 something actors are playing 22 year olds. The security at Lex Luthors' mansion and at the Fortress of Solitude is as bad as ever (clearly they use the same security company). Clark still can't fly. But hey who care?! This season takes of from the cliff hanger of season 6 and quite literally ends on an earth shattering finale of its own.

Season 7...
Published on 8 Oct. 2008 by Mr President

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bag too mixed!
Season 7 starts off looking spectacular. The opening episode offers much via story and action especially with the battle of the two Clarks. However after the 2nd episode the usual Smallville quality starts to slide very quickly. Lana returns from the dead and the "Clana" romance is quickly resumed, with Kristin Kreuk departing at the end of the season the writers...
Published on 8 April 2011 by Kristen Sherry


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veritas means truth. The truth is this season rocks!!!, 8 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
30 something actors are playing 22 year olds. The security at Lex Luthors' mansion and at the Fortress of Solitude is as bad as ever (clearly they use the same security company). Clark still can't fly. But hey who care?! This season takes of from the cliff hanger of season 6 and quite literally ends on an earth shattering finale of its own.

Season 7 demonstrates a real maturity in terms of the characters and the wider Smallville universe. For the characters themselves we obviously have to start with Clark and Lex.

What I love about this series is that you don't notice subtle changes that are going - its only when there is a sudden abrupt change that you realise that it had been going on for ages and you find yourself saying "Ah!". Clark in this season is gradually waking up to the fact that his old life is practically gone - most friends and family have moved on. This really hits home with an episode that sees the (thankfully brief) return of Pete. This was a subtle episode that demonstrated that Pete and Clark are very different now - they are friends but have both moved on. Clark towards his greater destiny - Pete to his, well, lesser destiny. But the real tear jerker that forces Clark to face the changes is the video left by Lana in the series finale. Understated and brief - its all the more powerful. Lana functioned as a sort of bubble for Clark - a link back to his carefree past - her leaving all but cuts this.

For Lex - wow. Smallville always managed to avoid having him as a cartoon baddie. What really took off on this season was Lex rushing towards his destiny as the powerful enemy of the "Traveller". We get to see the childhood of Lex and his inner struggles. The moment that he and Lionel have their final encounter - powerful stuff. But what really hits viewers is Lex's view of what his destiny was. The link he has with the Traveller, the impact that has had on his life and how it will ultimately play out - this was biblical stuff.

For the overarching storylines of the series. Well a special mention goes to the Veritas saga. Debate rages on message boards across the land about whether or not writers had planned this from the start of the series. Regardless if they did - the Veritas storyline weaves together almost 7 years of storylines. Smallville has always managed to pull of the secret legends stories, particularly in Season 4 and 7. But there is a real epic storylines going in season 7.

Other storylines wortha mention: the return of Brainiac - always a joy. Bizzario is also great fun. Tom welling clearly enjoys playing a baddy instead of straight-laced Clark. That and he gets to wear a blue jacket and red tshirt, instead of vice versa. And Lionel finally meets his maker.

Few gripes though with this season. Kara could have been a great character. But instead it feels like the writers didn't have a clue what to do with her - Kal-El's blonde flying cousin - bout it. Too much screen time is given to Jimmy Olsen - one episode focused on him - and it is the weakest of the series. He is perhaps the most unengaging characters of the season.

I have seperate views of how much longer Smallville can go on without losing quality. But that does not negate the fact that Season 7 is trully mind blowing.

In the final scene where Lex says "It has to end this way". We always knew where it was going - but so far its been one hell of a ride getting there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smallville is truly back roll on season 8, 12 Oct. 2008
By 
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
smallville season 7 what can i say except wow !!!!! season 7 has truly done what season 4, 5 and 6 could not it is truly back.

lets first look at season 4, 5 and 6 they were good dont get me wrong but there were too many bad episodes in the seasons and the whole thing of clark pinning over lana and not wanting to tell her the truth about who he is and what he can do begins to grate on ur nerves and lana whinning about how nobody wants to be honest with her easily becomes annoying and so over all the season were not great especially season 6 which featured very lttle of the worlds greatest superhero and finnally season 7 has removed all of that it is action packed and exciting with clark finally beginning to relaise his father jor-el is right and that he has greater destiny than just being a farm-boy, kara is a great addition to the show but the writers should have given her a better story line and more action bizzaro the second greatest villain of all time after lex lutor who has finally become the villain we hope he would, although if im honest the ending was'nt great the orignal ending was meant to be lex's memory was meant to be erased by jor-el and clark was fianlly meant to fly out of the fortress with "S" on his chest and then season 8 was meant to show how hard it really was for superman to become a hero but never the less fantastic job roll on season 8 which i wont talk about and ruin it for everyone but trust me it is different - good different - trust me when i say but this boxset especialy from amazon the best place to buy - so for now up, up and away !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bag too mixed!, 8 April 2011
By 
Kristen Sherry (Kingston-upon-Hull, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Season 7 starts off looking spectacular. The opening episode offers much via story and action especially with the battle of the two Clarks. However after the 2nd episode the usual Smallville quality starts to slide very quickly. Lana returns from the dead and the "Clana" romance is quickly resumed, with Kristin Kreuk departing at the end of the season the writers seemed to have given up on her character - she proves an untrustworthy ally at several points and is reverted back to her previous role of victim for freak-of-the-week villains. Most irritating of all are the points during the season where she tries to do what's right for Clark and leave but lets him set her right back on the pedestal he put her on years earlier with the total belief that she is the only one for him. The episodes with Helen Slater guest starring as Clark's biological mother Lara are high points especially with Laura Vandervoort joining the cast as Clark's cousin Kara who will become Supergirl. Also spot 90's Superman Dead Cain and Marc McClure (Jimmy Olsen in the Superman movies) in episodes Cure and Persona respectively. This season is also the most "Clois"-less with Tom Welling and Erica Durance only sharing screen time in about 6 of the 20 episode run. However this is made up for in the Welling-directed episode Apocalypse, an episode which explores an Earth without Clark Kent. Here, stripped of his usual allies Clark partners with government-fugitive Lois to save the world from Lex and Brainiac. The finale episode Arctic has too much going on - Kara's fate seems rushed, Lana leaves a "Dear Clark" DVD (a little cold considering how hard Clark holds on to her throughout the first 8 years of the show), Chloe gets hospitalised, saved and arrested in the last 10 minutes! Finally Lex brings the Fortress of Solitude down on both his and Clark's heads - and we viewers are supposed to buy that both survived!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smallville Hits Some Turbulence and Some Bad Ideas, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Season 6 really set Smallville off in a grand new direction, expansion of the DC Universe with Green Arrow and other members of the Justice League, Lex is the villain and the season finale had a pretty decent cliffhanger. It is frustrating therefore that season 7 overseas a detereoration in the show's quality as two characters are pretty much ruined and whole seasons past undermined. This doesnt mean the season is a complete write off though, there are still moments when it shines brightly but on the whole it comes across as pretty mediocre.
The season can be pretty much split into two halves, the first half revolves around newcomer Kara-El (Laura Vandervoort) or Supergirl who has arrived to Smallville leaving Clark with a lot of questions about his family while Lex Luthor is determined to find out who she is. This first half is when the season is at its best, Kara's presence makes Clark take up the role of head of the family and makes him more of a lead for the first time, with this also comes a little bit of back story when it comes to the history of the House of El which culminates in 'Blue'. From this point the season becomes focused on the return of Brainiac (James Marsters) while Lex is trying to uncover the mystery of the secret society known as Veritas.
Admittedly, your view about the Veritas storyline really depends on your point of view, after all it does explain why the Luthors were so interested in the strange and unexpected in Smallville but yet it also raises the issue of why Lionel helped to push through a shady adoption for the Kents when he already knew what was coming? For me personally, I found the storyline a little too much to digest and seemed to take something away from the earlier seasons when Lionel and Lex's obession with the weird added alot of tension and suspense. However the Brainiac storyline seems rather aimless with him merely showing up and looking tough without seemingly having a grand scheme compared to the fifth season. Seasons 7 comes across a little bit as having no new ideas as to what to do and for me the story telling shows this. The final confrontation in 'Arctic' should hold so much emotional wieght but comes across as rather flat. Also Lana and Lionel's characters change to such an extent in this season that the original characters that we loved from earlier seasons no longer exist and both of them become rather annoying and pointless.
The season however does bring quite a few positives. As said above Tom Welling does start to come into his own as a lead some more and Laura Vandervoort is a welcome addition to the cast. It is also great to welcome back James Marsters despite my misgivings in regards to the story. However once again the real star of the show is Michael Rosenbaum's Lex Luthor who is well on his journey as the shows primary villain. This precipice is reahced in 'Descent', a show stealing episode this season and the point of no return for Lex Luthor. Tom Welling also makes a great villain as 'Bizarro' is wisely used to demonstrate finally how Clark Kent and Lana Lang begin to go their seperate ways.
It's a season I think that will be judged based on individual tastes. I'm a die hard fan of this show who was simply blown away by the sixth season and frankly the seventh season didnt even come close to repeating that nor did it take Smallville in any bold new direction. However it is still a worthwhile purchase and has some great episodes in there, if you are a Smallville fan then the seventh season is still something for you to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superville, 30 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Well I am blown away. What an adventure. Great writing and story telling in this season. Totally love bringing SuperGirl into the fold. (Actually this is the reason why I got this set) It makes a classy springboard for Clark to get his act together and makes for greater tension in the story lines. The whole thing just opens up to fabulous possibilities. And it delivers.
This season is a real surprise for fans as it is fast passed (a bit too fast in some cases - too slow in others) and pretty non-stop driving story development. Thanks to the writing team for this.
One of the episodes is centred on photographer Jimmy Olsen, and is cute in its process, providing a good arena to show the vulnerability of his character succumbing to temptations. The only issue I have with this episode is the length of time spent on the dance floor. It became a bit of a show case but not helpful for moving the story along. In situations like this you can tell its padding the script!
But all in all this season comes to a great climax of difficulties, placing Clark in jeopardy along with the human race. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough Lois, 12 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
For Me this is the worst season of smallville because it really starts off looking great but then fizzles out and Clark is Still at the Farm doing nothing. The New Character Kara starts off quite interesting but the writers seem to quickly lose track of the direction of the character. Also Lois gets a new Love interest which seems completely pointless, with Oliver you could understand but Grant, why??? I think my problem with this season is that this season more than any of the others just felt like stretching out the series. Clark should be at the Daily Planet, there should be No more Clark Lana Angst and Lex should be completely evil by now there should be no shred of good in him, and Lois and Clark should be together or at least flirting more than usual.
Highlight episodes Bizzaro, Kara.Siren,Descent,Apocalypse and Artic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars smallville series 7, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
Mrs. Melanie J. Robinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Smallville is a fantastic series that just keeps getting better and better! Series 6 ended with a real cliffhanger where Lex Luthur has truely turned evil, so the 1st episode of series 7 was amazing! Also in this series we meet Kara, who is Clarks cousin form Krypton, she has the same superpowers as Clark, plus she can fly!(Clark tries to learn, but doesn't quite get there yet!)There are other super heroes such as the green arrow, who add a touch of extra mystery, plus Lois lane and Jimmy Olsen working at The Daily Planet. Lex luthur murders his own father, Lionel, who was trying to protect Clark's secret of super powers. The build up towards the end of the series keeps you on the edge of your seat. Will Clark survive and save the day again? I can't wait to get seiries 8!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallvilles keeps improving, 14 Oct. 2008
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I had heard some bad things about this season of Smallville from various people but personally I found this seventh season of the show to be greatly entertaining and definitely the best season so far. The main addition for this season is the introduction of Kara Zor-El, Clark's cousin and future Supergirl. This season also sees the introduction of Black Canary as well as seeing the return of Green Arrow, Bizarro and Brainiac. The season itself is a lot more story driven than some of the previous seasons, with far fewer stand alone episodes.

The CGI in this season is good even if it is slightly ropey in a couple of episodes and the acting on show is the usual mixture of hammy and great. Having said this, the writing is generally good throughout the season with quite a few good Superman in-jokes and always produces entertaining episodes even if some of the twists are predictable.

Of the episodes in this season most of the better ones are towards the end of the season with the brilliantly funny `Sleeper', the entertain `Apocalypse' and the greatly engrossing penultimate episode `Quest' being the pick of the seventh season. It is only the a shame that after these great episodes the season finale itself seems something of an anti-climax even if it does leave things on an intriguing cliff-hanger. Overall this seventh season of Smallville has definitely been the best that the show has so far produced and things are looking good for the eighth season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good season of Smallville, 20 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Lawson (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite season so far was season 6, but this was entertaining all the way through. Super girl Kara Kent was a welcome addition to the cast, and another season ending jaw dropping moment will have you ordering season 8 soon after.

I have to disagree with some reviews and say the picture quality is good. TV BR always seem to have a little 'noise' on the image, this I guess because in film we send the image plates to a de-grain department that reduces that noise, I guess with TV it does not get the same treatment sadly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good not great!, 25 May 2013
Every series of smallville has started very slow and this is no better, it does eventually get going and is well worth a watch. Although my criticism is that I thought they would've done a lot more with Kara ( supergirl ). She came in and out of the show more than lois lane does. Another criticism is the Lana Lang Clark Kent will they won't they saga is beyond dull, cringeworthy, boring and no longer even relevant!
Series 7 has a great finale, 1 of the best I've seen so far on the show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD]
£13.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews