Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veritas means truth. The truth is this season rocks!!!
30 something actors are playing 22 year olds. The security at Lex Luthors' mansion and at the Fortress of Solitude is as bad as ever (clearly they use the same security company). Clark still can't fly. But hey who care?! This season takes of from the cliff hanger of season 6 and quite literally ends on an earth shattering finale of its own.

Season 7...
Published on 8 Oct 2008 by Mr President

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good not great!
Every series of smallville has started very slow and this is no better, it does eventually get going and is well worth a watch. Although my criticism is that I thought they would've done a lot more with Kara ( supergirl ). She came in and out of the show more than lois lane does. Another criticism is the Lana Lang Clark Kent will they won't they saga is beyond dull,...
Published 14 months ago by Darren Brookes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veritas means truth. The truth is this season rocks!!!, 8 Oct 2008
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
30 something actors are playing 22 year olds. The security at Lex Luthors' mansion and at the Fortress of Solitude is as bad as ever (clearly they use the same security company). Clark still can't fly. But hey who care?! This season takes of from the cliff hanger of season 6 and quite literally ends on an earth shattering finale of its own.

Season 7 demonstrates a real maturity in terms of the characters and the wider Smallville universe. For the characters themselves we obviously have to start with Clark and Lex.

What I love about this series is that you don't notice subtle changes that are going - its only when there is a sudden abrupt change that you realise that it had been going on for ages and you find yourself saying "Ah!". Clark in this season is gradually waking up to the fact that his old life is practically gone - most friends and family have moved on. This really hits home with an episode that sees the (thankfully brief) return of Pete. This was a subtle episode that demonstrated that Pete and Clark are very different now - they are friends but have both moved on. Clark towards his greater destiny - Pete to his, well, lesser destiny. But the real tear jerker that forces Clark to face the changes is the video left by Lana in the series finale. Understated and brief - its all the more powerful. Lana functioned as a sort of bubble for Clark - a link back to his carefree past - her leaving all but cuts this.

For Lex - wow. Smallville always managed to avoid having him as a cartoon baddie. What really took off on this season was Lex rushing towards his destiny as the powerful enemy of the "Traveller". We get to see the childhood of Lex and his inner struggles. The moment that he and Lionel have their final encounter - powerful stuff. But what really hits viewers is Lex's view of what his destiny was. The link he has with the Traveller, the impact that has had on his life and how it will ultimately play out - this was biblical stuff.

For the overarching storylines of the series. Well a special mention goes to the Veritas saga. Debate rages on message boards across the land about whether or not writers had planned this from the start of the series. Regardless if they did - the Veritas storyline weaves together almost 7 years of storylines. Smallville has always managed to pull of the secret legends stories, particularly in Season 4 and 7. But there is a real epic storylines going in season 7.

Other storylines wortha mention: the return of Brainiac - always a joy. Bizzario is also great fun. Tom welling clearly enjoys playing a baddy instead of straight-laced Clark. That and he gets to wear a blue jacket and red tshirt, instead of vice versa. And Lionel finally meets his maker.

Few gripes though with this season. Kara could have been a great character. But instead it feels like the writers didn't have a clue what to do with her - Kal-El's blonde flying cousin - bout it. Too much screen time is given to Jimmy Olsen - one episode focused on him - and it is the weakest of the series. He is perhaps the most unengaging characters of the season.

I have seperate views of how much longer Smallville can go on without losing quality. But that does not negate the fact that Season 7 is trully mind blowing.

In the final scene where Lex says "It has to end this way". We always knew where it was going - but so far its been one hell of a ride getting there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smallville is truly back roll on season 8, 12 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
smallville season 7 what can i say except wow !!!!! season 7 has truly done what season 4, 5 and 6 could not it is truly back.

lets first look at season 4, 5 and 6 they were good dont get me wrong but there were too many bad episodes in the seasons and the whole thing of clark pinning over lana and not wanting to tell her the truth about who he is and what he can do begins to grate on ur nerves and lana whinning about how nobody wants to be honest with her easily becomes annoying and so over all the season were not great especially season 6 which featured very lttle of the worlds greatest superhero and finnally season 7 has removed all of that it is action packed and exciting with clark finally beginning to relaise his father jor-el is right and that he has greater destiny than just being a farm-boy, kara is a great addition to the show but the writers should have given her a better story line and more action bizzaro the second greatest villain of all time after lex lutor who has finally become the villain we hope he would, although if im honest the ending was'nt great the orignal ending was meant to be lex's memory was meant to be erased by jor-el and clark was fianlly meant to fly out of the fortress with "S" on his chest and then season 8 was meant to show how hard it really was for superman to become a hero but never the less fantastic job roll on season 8 which i wont talk about and ruin it for everyone but trust me it is different - good different - trust me when i say but this boxset especialy from amazon the best place to buy - so for now up, up and away !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
i love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly For Smallville and Superman fans only., 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
More great scripts, acting (ermmm) and plots. Damn it, i'll need to get the next box set now!! And then the two after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville. The Complete Seventh Series, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This popular series was all that one could expect from the charismatic Tom Welling An excellent DVD leaving me wanting the next series as soon as possible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good not great!, 25 May 2013
Every series of smallville has started very slow and this is no better, it does eventually get going and is well worth a watch. Although my criticism is that I thought they would've done a lot more with Kara ( supergirl ). She came in and out of the show more than lois lane does. Another criticism is the Lana Lang Clark Kent will they won't they saga is beyond dull, cringeworthy, boring and no longer even relevant!
Series 7 has a great finale, 1 of the best I've seen so far on the show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thanks, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
received the product very quickly through the post and are very happy with it and would like to send my thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superman!!, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Doolus (Worthing, West Sussex England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was missing Season 7 from my collection and found I had to have it! Any fans of Superman, Smallville is a "must see". But please do bear in mind that the series seems to veer away from some standard, established facts about Superman and his background. After the initial feelings of outrage and offence have subsided, one accepts the artistic licence and just sit's back and enjoys an excellent, well made series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough Lois, 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
For Me this is the worst season of smallville because it really starts off looking great but then fizzles out and Clark is Still at the Farm doing nothing. The New Character Kara starts off quite interesting but the writers seem to quickly lose track of the direction of the character. Also Lois gets a new Love interest which seems completely pointless, with Oliver you could understand but Grant, why??? I think my problem with this season is that this season more than any of the others just felt like stretching out the series. Clark should be at the Daily Planet, there should be No more Clark Lana Angst and Lex should be completely evil by now there should be no shred of good in him, and Lois and Clark should be together or at least flirting more than usual.
Highlight episodes Bizzaro, Kara.Siren,Descent,Apocalypse and Artic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smallville - The Complete Seventh Season [2007] [DVD]
19.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews