Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy in top form
Thanks to a thorough restoration, this film has become one of the most vibrant DVDs available. Has 'Meet Me in St Louis' ever looked this good before? It's like new.
The songs include 'The Trolley Song', 'The Boy Next Door' and the heart-rending 'Have yourself a Merry Litle Christmas', all three sung by Judy Garland at her most relaxed. Her blossoming relationship...
Published on 24 May 2004 by zetajonesadmirer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Meet me in St. Louis - but only if you've really got nothing better to do!
Basically, inconsequential fluff with nothing more serious to disturb the lives of the wealthy Smith household in turn of the (19th) Century St. Louis other than a somewhat tedious wittering concern about whether or not eldest daughter, Rose's, tongue tied `beau' will ever call her at a pre-arranged time. Viewers are left in no doubt about the seriousness of this as it...
Published 7 months ago by still searching


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy in top form, 24 May 2004
By 
Thanks to a thorough restoration, this film has become one of the most vibrant DVDs available. Has 'Meet Me in St Louis' ever looked this good before? It's like new.
The songs include 'The Trolley Song', 'The Boy Next Door' and the heart-rending 'Have yourself a Merry Litle Christmas', all three sung by Judy Garland at her most relaxed. Her blossoming relationship with the director, Vincent Minnelli, created the perfect working environment for her to use her talents.
If it's one of your favourites, buy it now. In particular, the American 2-Disc version is worth buying for the extras. The print is the same on the UK edition, though, and either is essential to the musical lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rolls Royce Blu-ray restoration of a classic film!, 1 Aug 2012
By 
Nigel Mc (The Chilterns) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
There are a couple of things about this Blu-ray issue that I find quite surprising! Firstly, despite the fact that it has been available for about 8 months there has not been a single review of the Blu-ray version. Secondly, for such a popular film it is still not readily available in the UK. In the absence of any review of this high definition version I can understand why some people might be reluctant to stump up 20 or more to buy this import. Furthermore, there is also the possibility of getting hit for customs duty because the purchase price exceeds 18. Personally, I chose to buy the disc from Amazon.com - which could account for the purchase not being `verified'. I took this route because the American site markets a 2 disc version which is packaged as a quite elaborate presentation booklet. This looks more attractive than what is described here and furthermore the purchase was below the magic 18 mark which allows a duty free purchase. The second disc is an audio CD of the 4 most popular songs. I believe that the Blu-ray disc is the same as you are buying through the UK site.

Now I will get down to business and report on the Blu-ray version. In short it is absolutely fabulous! Warner Bros have pulled out all the stops to give us a wonderfully restored film. I watched the film through a JVC projector and the video quality is fabulous. The Technicolor palette is rich and luscious with wonderful reds. Over the years I have watched this film numerous times on the television but never with such a sharp colourful picture. The last time I watched the film it looked quite dowdy and washed-out and I gave up trying to look at it through my projector. The wonderful detail of the film was missing.

With this new Blu-ray version there is so much more to see and enjoy. The detail of Judy Garland's shining hair being just one example. OK, I accept the fact that this is not reference quality but there is a huge difference between the quality of this restoration and all earlier standard definition versions. You will not be disappointed!

Audio restoration is also very good and we are provided with a lossless DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 soundtrack. For my money the vocal tracks were especially pleasing, especially when account is taken that this film is nearly 70 years old.

There are a number of extras which I have not had time to fully explore. There is an optional introductory commentary by Lisa Minnelli which is filmed in high definition. The menu system is modern with picture in picture chapters. I thoroughly recommend this fabulous restoration despite the fact that it is relatively expensive. This classic film deserves being treated like a Rolls Royce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy and Vincente at their very best, 27 Aug 2004
With the exception of "The Wizard of Oz", this is the best Judy Garland film out there from a theatrical perspective. Vocally it is as powerful as "A Star is Born".
Judy is in amazing voice here and "The Trolley Song" truly comes to life when you see how Judy sings it. Similarly, "Have yourself a merry little Christmas" is sung with the emotional depth of "Over the Rainbow".
From a directorial perspective this is a masterpiece, especially considering the time it was made. Vincente Minelli uses a rich palette to create a warm atmosphere and the integration of song is seamless and never forced.
Unmissable and unforgettable for anyone who has a heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best family musical ever!, 11 May 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This special edition of ‘Meet Me in St Louis’ will not disappoint those who have been eagerly awaiting its first release on DVD. The quality of the restoration is truly magnificent … and the extra disc of bonus material is a delight.
The first disc has a personal introduction by Liza Minelli; highly appropriate, as her mother was the film’s star and her father was the director. As soon as the film starts, you know you’re in for a treat. In 1944 Technicolor was in its infancy, so whenever a colour movie was filmed, every effort was made to make it as vibrant as possible. The rich jewel colours and sumptuous detail of both the interiors and costumes almost give the illusion of watching an oil painting come to life!
The film is set in the 12 months immediately prior to the opening of Louisiana Purchase Exposition (A.K.A. the World’s Fair) in 1904, and charts the life of the Smith family (Father, mother, 4 sisters, 1 brother, grandpa and Katie the maid). The script was initially based on a series of short stories by Sally Benson, telling the true story of her childhood at 5135 Kensington Avenue. The stories were so popular that Sally later added further chapters turning them into a novel, first published the same year as the film’s original theatrical release. Sally Benson remained on hand throughout the preparation of the film’s interior sets, ensuring that every detail of her childhood home was faithfully recreated. As a result, the finished product is one of those rare instances when an adapted film truly reflects the author’s written work.
The plot is a simple one … and the better for it. Like the book, it is little more than a series of domestic family incidents with a romantic sub-plot (divided into 4 seasons rather than the 12 months of the original novel). It is a charming insight into the totally different world of exactly 100 years ago … a time when: telephones were a modern contrivance and a long distance call was a momentous event; nice girls didn’t let a man kiss them until after they were engaged; homes were lit by gas; and ‘Hell’ was swearing … polite people merely said ‘H’ instead!
For possibly the first time, the musical numbers fitted seamlessly into the plot … rather than everything stopping for a contrived song and dance. It seems perfectly natural for Esther to sing to her distraught younger sister in an attempt to comfort her, or for them to perform an impromptu cakewalk for their guests at a supper party. Or, after a family rift, Mrs Smith plays the piano for her husband, and as he sings a sentimental old ballad, the family reunite, sensing that whatever their problems they still have each other. Add to these show-stoppers like ‘The Trolley Song' and the inevitable result is a family musical without equal.
Although this is arguably Judy Garland’s finest performance, ‘Meet Me in St Louis’ is a true ensemble piece … and every role is cast and played to perfection (if you can trace a rare copy of Benson’s original book, you’ll see what I mean). Six year-old Margaret O’Brien won an Oscar for her portrayal of Tootie, the Smith’s youngest yet most eccentric daughter; her heart-rending scene with the snow-people is perhaps the best child performance of all time. Hearing her own reminiscences of filming (on the director’s commentary) is one of the things that really makes this special edition so special!
The bonus material on the second disc is well worth having: a ‘behind the scenes making-of’ documentary; a pilot episode of a television spin-off; a 1946 radio broadcast of an abridged version of the film … and much, much more.
Apart from one minor gripe (this isn't a wide-screen edition), I cannot recommend this DVD enough! If you’re already a fan of this wonderful musical, I also recommend the BFI Film Classics book by Gerald Kaufman, also available from Amazon. It’s full of great photos, many more behind-the-scenes stories and explores in detail Vincent Minelli’s contribution as director.
Add this fantastic DVD to your collection now – you won’t be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse of the world as it was exactly 100 years ago, 23 April 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This special edition of 'Meet Me in St Louis' will not disappoint those who have been eagerly awaiting its first release on DVD. The quality of the restoration is truly magnificent ... and the extra disc of bonus material is a delight.
The first disc has a personal introduction by Liza Minelli; highly appropriate, as her mother was the film's star and her father was the director. As soon as the film starts, you know you're in for a treat. In 1944 Technicolor was in its infancy, so whenever a colour movie was filmed, every effort was made to make it as vibrant as possible. The rich jewel colours and sumptuous detail of both the interiors and costumes almost give the illusion of watching an oil painting come to life!
The film is set in the 12 months immediately prior to the opening of Louisiana Purchase Exposition (A.K.A. the World's Fair) in 1904, and charts the life of the Smith family (Father, mother, 4 sisters, 1 brother,grandpa and Katie the maid). The script was initially based on a series of short stories by Sally Benson, telling the true story of her childhood at 5135 Kensington Avenue. The stories were so popular that Sally later added further chapters turning them into a novel, first published the same yearas the film's original theatrical release.
Sally Benson remained on hand throughout the preparation of the film's interior sets, ensuring that every detail of her childhood home was faithfully recreated. As a result, the finished product is one of thoserare instances when an adapted film truly reflects the author's written work.
The plot is a simple one ... and the better for it. Like the book, it is little more than a series of domestic family incidents with a romantic sub-plot (divided into 4 seasons rather than the 12 months of the original novel). It is a charming insight into the totally different world of exactly 100 years ago ... a time when: telephones were a modern contrivance and a long distance call was a momentous event; nice girls didn't let a man kiss them until after they were engaged; homes were lit by gas; and'Hell' was swearing ... polite people merely said 'H' instead!
For possibly the first time, the musical numbers fitted seamlessly into the plot ... rather than everything stopping for a contrived song and dance.It seems perfectly natural for Esther to sing to her distraught younger sister in an attempt to comfort her, or for them to perform an impromptu cakewalk for their guests at a supper party. Or, after a family rift, Mrs. Smith plays the piano for her husband, and as he sings a sentimental old ballad, the family reunite, sensing that whatever their problems they still have each other. Add to these show-stoppers like 'The Trolley Song'and 'Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas' and the inevitable result is a family musical without equal.
Although this is arguably Judy Garland's finest performance, 'Meet Me inSt Louis' is a true ensemble piece ... and every role is cast and played to perfection (if you can trace a rare copy of Benson's original book, you'll see what I mean). Six year-old Margaret O'Brian won an Oscar for herportrayal of Tootie, the Smith's youngest yet most eccentric daughter; her heart-rending scene with the snow-people is perhaps the best child performance of all time. Hearing her own reminiscences of filming (on the director's commentary) is one of the things that really makes this special edition so special!
The bonus material on the second disc is well worth having: a 'behind the scenes making-of' documentary; a pilot episode of a television spin-off; a1946 radio broadcast of an abridged version of the film ... and much, much more.
I cannot recommend this DVD enough! However, if you're already a fan of this wonderful musical, I also recommend the BFI Film Classics book byGerald Kaufman, also available from Amazon. It's full of great photos,many more behind-the-scenes stories and explores in detail Vincent Minelli's contribution as director.
Add this fantastic DVD to your collection now - you won't be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film, 9 May 2003
Meet Me In St Louis is one of the best musicals ever. It has everything- songs, dancing, a cute child star, romance and of course Judy Garland! Judy is enchanting as Esther Smith who falls in love with boy next door. The film focuses on the Smith family through Summer, Winter, Autumn, Spring. A fantastic film for all the family to enjoy. One of the best Judy Garland films with one of the best directors, Judys' then husband, Vincente Minnelli, who fell in love with Judy during the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best ..., 15 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw this film as a child and the magic it brings to our sometimes grey world is still as fresh today as it ever was. The story is based around one family living in St Louis just before the World Fair is held there. Judy Garland is at her peak ~ helped no doubt by her real life love affair with the film's director ~ and the glorious technicolour songs and wonderful support performances carry the viewer from one glorious season of the year to another, culminating with Winter and the marvellous tear-jerking scene where Judy sings 'Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas' to, in my opinion, the best child actress of them all, Margaret O'Brien.
The snow, the magic of Christmas ... no wonder my own young daughter is as addicted as I was. This DVD will be her best birthday present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet me at the Fair..., 29 Mar 2007
One of the legendary musicals from the Arthur Freed Unit and another of the dazzling technicolour film's that Judy made is 'Meet Me In St. Louis'.

The plot is sometimes a little weak, but nothing below great, and the songs are fantastic with some of Garland's classics like "The Trolley Song" and "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas".

The acting is great, with Margeret O'brien upstaging everyone as mischevious Tootie and Tom Drake as the boy next door that Judy adores.

Garland never looked more radient and recklessly happy as she did in this 1944 classic, a definitive musical picture that even the deaf should enjoy!

A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars judy at her BEST, 9 July 2007
Meet Me In St. Louis is one of those MGM movies when everything is perfect, firstly the songs come at the right time!, and with Frances Gumm (Judy Garland) starring and her husband to be directing Vincente Minnelli, you cant go wrong.
This was One of Garland's most successful films and one of her favourites for MGM, in which she introduced three brillient songs: "The Trolley Song", "The Boy Next Door", and "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas".
It tells the story of four sisters living in St. Louis at the time of the Louisiana World's Fair in 1904. One of the sisters being Margaret O'Brien.
its a wonderful movie and one my favourites out of all the MGM musicals. And one of my favourite songs done also by Judy Garland " the trolley song". Sometimes I always thought that MGM didnt use her voice, Judy Garland always had a 40's kick butt voices, she was excellent at up beat songs, hence the trolley song being one of my fav's. Thanks Judy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garland Shines Brighter Than Ever!, 3 Aug 2004
I myself am already a fan of Judy Garland and love all of her work. Meet Me In St. Louis shows off Garlands talent at it's best.
Whether you are young or old this film is one for all of the family and her singing "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas" will have you weeping into your tissue.
I truly recommend this film. It's excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meet Me In St Louis [DVD] [1944]
Meet Me In St Louis [DVD] [1944] by Vincente Minnelli (DVD - 2008)
4.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews