Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howard The Turkey
An alien duck from another planet crashes on Earth after getting dragged through space and fights an evil alien demon who wants to destroy the planet in this comedy adventure from 1986. One of the biggest flops of all time and believe it or not the first ever Marvel movie as Howard is a Marvel comics character, this is surprisingly more adult than its cinema release...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you remember.
Recently decided to get this again as i realised there are 2 versions and was intrigued as to how much adult content was there to start with, so i am reviewing the UNCUT version, as a film fan i only really ever want to see uncut versions of films so watching it again i did enjoy it, i remember when it was released in cinemas in '86 headlines were saying that parents...
Published 14 months ago by Chockybikky


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you remember., 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howard The Duck [DVD] (DVD)
Recently decided to get this again as i realised there are 2 versions and was intrigued as to how much adult content was there to start with, so i am reviewing the UNCUT version, as a film fan i only really ever want to see uncut versions of films so watching it again i did enjoy it, i remember when it was released in cinemas in '86 headlines were saying that parents were dragging their kids out in disgust as Howard was bedding women and swearing on screen..well yes he does but Howard has always been portrayed this way in the comics so they were just trying to remain faithful to those i feel.
At the end of the day there are a few bits which could seem unsuitable but considering what some 15 year old kids are allowed to watch like Inbetweeners and Ted , i don't think this would cause younger viewers any harm.
The effects hold up ok especially the final creature which was made using Phil Tippets Go-motion which makes it look more articulate like the Dragon Vermithrax in Dragonslayer.
The humour is cheesy but charming and Lea Thompson looks great in the now infamous pink panties scene which caused outrage at the time.
Seeing this again kinda makes you wish they could do another one and make it even more adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howard The Turkey, 13 April 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howard The Duck [DVD] (DVD)
An alien duck from another planet crashes on Earth after getting dragged through space and fights an evil alien demon who wants to destroy the planet in this comedy adventure from 1986. One of the biggest flops of all time and believe it or not the first ever Marvel movie as Howard is a Marvel comics character, this is surprisingly more adult than its cinema release thanks to the director's cut on the dvd and turns into a light horror film at the end it was a misktake to market this as a kids film which is what happened on original release in 1986 and critics absolutely destroyed the film which flopped badly but if you don't take it too seriously as you aren't meant to then Howard The Duck is a likeable and fun film this sees Lea Thompson from Back To The Future as a rock chick who befriends Howard and a very young Tim Robbins as a scientist in one of his first roles. Yes Howard does look ridiculous but once again this is not a film to take seriously in any way and is nowhere near as bad as its reputatiuon suggests though Tim Robbins probably wishes he could forget the film ever happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musings On A Floppette, 31 Dec. 2007
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Howard The Duck [DVD] (DVD)
Ha - "Howard The Duck", more notorious for the way it cut a swathe through Lucasfilm's reputation in the mid-'80s than for anything as mundane as plot, is finally coming to DVD in an (albeit probably bare-bones) Metrodome DVD Region 2 only release. Yes, I realise that it hasn't been released yet, but as I have seen the movie countless times since it's 1986 release, I feel qualified to comment early.

The story - Howard is plucked from Duckworld by means revealed later in the story, only to find himself stranded in Cleveland surrounded by the "Hairless Apes" who treat him like a freak - Apart from Beverley, teased-haired Valkyrie who fronts a band that makes Kajagoogoo look like Black Flag, and Lab Assistant Phil Blumbutt (Tim Robbins! Everybody has to start somewhere) who soon find themselves caught-up in an adventure involving The Dark Overlords Of The Universe, An Experimental Piledriver (or something) and Cajun Sushi. How can anybody NOT be excited about this?

As an added bonus, this version is apparently the uncut film (two scenes involving a condom and Jeffery Jones plugging into a car cigarette lighter via a mouth tentacle have long been excised as being too disturbing for the kiddies), and lest we forget, "The Phantom Menace" is one of the top grossing films of all time, and this one knocks it out of the park. Okay, not the hardest of feats, but trust me on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howard, forever the Underduck, 20 Feb. 2008
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Howard The Duck [DVD] (DVD)
Let me tell you something about film critics. It's easy to pick faults in someone else's work, even if you do not have it in your power to create an equal work of art. The average film critic, by his very nature, is just a pretentious know-it-all who is quite frequently talking from the wrong end of his alimentary canal. When HTD came along in 1986 it was the first true victim to the pop culture critic.

For 22 years it has been called 'the biggest flop of all time' and other such terrible labels. Well, it cost $30 million dollars (nothing compared to today's budgets) and took $37 million worldwide and that's not even counting the higher-than-you-think rental revenue. Add it altogether and HTD is most definitely NOT the flop it is accused of being. But since it was a rather eccentric family comedy (an easy target) and one of the first films to significantly under-perform at the domestic box office (George Lucas expected the returns to be astronomical) it became a scapegoat for bad studio spending and taste.

I guess that the world needs something or someone to blame when pop culture goes wrong and the jackass critics I mentioned already seized upon Howard's failings to make a name for themselves. Derogatory soundbites are easy to come up with and everyone who hated the film used some kind of duck-themed insult to put it down and make themselves feel clever. But, when you think about it, these are basically the same people who will deliberately give a bad film a great review just to see their own name on the poster (yes, I am talking to you Paul Ross).

The film also suffered a further bad rep when George Lucas publicly disowned the film. It's under-performance forced him to sell off a part of his company which went on to become Pixar (think of how much he could have earned if he didn't) and it really made him quite angry. Wouldn't you be? Me? I am a huge fan of the late Steve Gerber's comic-books. HTD was basically the first BIG comic-book movie and came surprisingly soon after he found success in his own series. Howard first appeared in an issue of Man-Thing and starred in a few other issues of Conan and even Spider-Man before getting his own wings in the late 70s. The comic-book stories are the most surreal, archaic and satirical I have ever read and it's a shame that they had to tone it down for the movie, but that's to be expected.

As an ordinary duck working for an advertising company on his home planet of Duckworld, Howard is blasted across the universe right out of his living room by an experimental laser developed by Dr. Jenning (Jeffrey Jones). He lands in Cleveland, where he meets Beverly Switzler (Lea Thompson) a singer who takes him under her wing...I mean arm. Now trapped in a world he never made the one attempt at sending him back home unleashes the forces of the Dark Overlord of the Universe on earth through the possession of Dr. Jenning and he intends to bring more of his demons through the portal. Yeah, that sounds pretty heavy.

I'm actually a sucker for duck-related stuff. I don't know why. Donald Duck, Daffy Duck, Duck Tales, Darkwing Duck, Duckman etc. The list goes on and on. What I particularly like about the HTD movie is how most people seem to be completely at ease at talking to a humanoid bird.

Some of the fairer critics claimed that the film might have been a bigger hit if they had used CGI or traditional animation to bring Howard to life, but I must disagree. Part of the appeal of Howard is the fact that he is actually physically there and not some ghost who has been photo-shopped in afterwards. I love the duck suit, to me it is completely convincing and Chip Zien's voice work is perfect. I'd totally love to have Howard as a pal.

No joke, this film has a unfairly notorious history and a totally wrong perception by the general public or those who turned their noses and beaks up when it came out in 1986. Clear your head of any preconceptions that you might have and enjoy it on its own level. Though we really could have done without that silly narration over the opening title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first ever Marvel based cinematic release, 24 Jun. 2014
By 
TheEnthusiastCollector "Ben" (Llangefni, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howard The Duck [DVD] (DVD)
Howard the Duck is a Marvel based superhero of some sort. The reason why I wanted to see this film, is due that the character appeared in the Lego Marvel Superheroes game. It's not that massive. It's a quite a good film about a humanoid duck from a parallel universe brought to our world in 1986. Howard the Duck experiences his curiosity on earth and meets up with an adult girl and there is another being coming to earth and Howard must stop the invasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An easy going, enjoyable movie from the 80s, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howard The Duck [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching Howard the Duck when I was a young lad back in the 80s and decided recently to purchase the movie and watch once again after around twenty years from when I last saw the movie.

It epitomises everything 80s and is a great light hearted film which will put a smile on your face several times throughout the movie. Lets get one thing straight this isn't Lucas at his best and nor is it ever going to be a timeless classic, however, the movie is extremely watchable and Howard is one of the most loveable characters from the 1980's. Lea Thompson oozes sexuality and puts in a great performance as Beverly, whilst a young Tim Robbins also puts in a decent performance. It's a movie that will make you laugh and smile whilst also cringe at some of the effects and plot.

This movie is what it is and for the few pounds they're asking for it you really can't go wrong, a film that stands up in anyones DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cut more times than shredded duck, 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Howard The Duck [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I shan't be writting a long review on this film, mostly as the 16 other reviews point out the greatness that is Howard. The film is a great family comedy, and the special effects are great, especially if like me you grey up on animatronics,clay mation and men in suits-CGI pah! tacky and overhyped, used to cover up the lack of budget available.
I've only awarded 2 stars as this version of HTD is heavily cut. Where's the playduck centerfold, the scene in the love hotel when Howard gets a job?
Come on In2Film, this makes most of the first half of the film plot devoid-like a badly spliced collection of t.v clips. And with this day and ages releases of hardcore porn on t.v. and violent realistic films given 12 certs, the "risque" humour shouldn't have had any excuse to be censored.

By the video and relive the 80's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More adventure than humanly possible., 17 Mar. 2008
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howard The Duck [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so Tim Robbins and others may want to forget this but I really love this movie and have waited for a DVD release, shame there are no real extras but no doubt many of the big names involved here have "moved on" and would regard this movie as a blot on their past history.
Sure it's not aimed at the same adult audience who loved the comic book, there's no hard hitting satire but it is at heart a fun movie and the special effects are superb.
It's a simple story of a bored duck flung out of his own world by accident and now trapped in a world he never made. He befriends a female rock singer and her "scientist" friend and an attempt to send him home threatens to bring down alien dark overlords.
Lea Thompson looks stunning with 1980's big-hair.
Watch this with an open mind and a beer, just as Howard himself would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howard the Duck, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howard The Duck [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
My boys loved it,funny film too ,I remembered it from good few years ago very enjoyable evening with the family on film night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lost gem not appreciated on its first release he ..., 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howard The Duck [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
A lost gem not appreciated on its first release he makes a post credit appearance in the latest marvel avengers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howard The Duck [1986] [DVD]
Howard The Duck [1986] [DVD] by Willard Huyck (DVD - 2008)
£4.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews