Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful cliche bashing anti-war film! Great fun!
When I read some of the reviews posted here I wondered if they were actually reviewing the same film that I'd seen.

Lighten up, fellas. It doesn't matter about the story (or lack of it), the design of the guns, the not too wonderful special effects, or any of the other things you've waffled on about .....this isn't suposed to be taken seriously, unless...
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by Tempestas

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bug's life
Following the disappointing second outing for the Starship Troopers, Ed Neumeier enjoys a partial return to form with this third instalment. The satire is a little heavy-handed and the effects aren't quite up to the standard of the first instalment, but, in common with the first film, this movie revels in its tawdriness and provides plenty of tacky, gruesome fun. Not...
Published on 27 Dec 2009 by sft


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful cliche bashing anti-war film! Great fun!, 8 Feb 2011
By 
When I read some of the reviews posted here I wondered if they were actually reviewing the same film that I'd seen.

Lighten up, fellas. It doesn't matter about the story (or lack of it), the design of the guns, the not too wonderful special effects, or any of the other things you've waffled on about .....this isn't suposed to be taken seriously, unless satirising every cliche from every war film you've ever seen is serious -- which I suppose in a way, it is.

The makers of Starship Troopers 3 (and the actors) have all got their tongues very firmly in their cheeks. Practically every scene is having a bash at something that deserves to be bashed, including gung-ho patriotism and "gott mit uns".

Enjoy playing "spot the cliche". Enjoy seeing the actors enjoying themselves. Remind yourself how often you've seen these scenes in "serious" war films (swop the "bugs" for Nazis, or Commies or whatever) See this as an anti-war film. Which it is. And a satire. Which it is. And good fun. Which it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bug's life, 27 Dec 2009
Following the disappointing second outing for the Starship Troopers, Ed Neumeier enjoys a partial return to form with this third instalment. The satire is a little heavy-handed and the effects aren't quite up to the standard of the first instalment, but, in common with the first film, this movie revels in its tawdriness and provides plenty of tacky, gruesome fun. Not great art for sure but a guilty pleasure nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but could have been a LOT better, 13 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. N. Wildman "nickwildman2" (Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a big fan of the first film, when I heard about this second sequel I was looking forward to seeing it if only to see if it was better than the atrocious attempt that was Starship Troopers 2.
On the whole, it is definitely better than the second film, but nowhere near as good as the first. There are a few issues that cause this:

1. Religion. Now, similarly to my fellow reviewer, I want to stress that I have nothing against religious people. It is a personal choice to believe whatever you want to and what makes your life easier. This being said, to someone who thinks that religion is more a work of fiction than this film, I absolutely HATE being preached to, it makes me genuinely angry. Due to this, the ongoing theme of religion during this film really got on my nerves as it was constantly being thrust down my throat for the full hour and a half. I realise that this was a major part of the plot but it nearly turned me off the entire film.

2. The animation is laughably bad compared to the original and really highlights that the budget was very low. This is not a major gripe however and can easily be tolerated.

3. The lack of fighting. For those of us who loved the first film, we were expecting a lot more in terms of major battles. This film only offers a few and non of these were on the same scale as those in the first film. On a similar theme, there is one thing that irritated me in the first film that is back for this one: there is no consistency in how easily the basic bugs are killed. One of them could take 5 troopers firing full blast at it for 5 minutes in order to put it down and then a minute later all it takes is one trooper with two shots! Now, this could be due to better aiming by this one trooper but it just looks stupid on screen!

For all these negatives, there are still some positives. There are the old familiar adverts from the federation which we all loved from the first film and the cheesy, almost bad but not quite acting from the original has been revived, which works quite well.

In conclusion, this film is worth a watch if you liked the first one and it is definitely a better offering than the second film. Just be aware that if you have any strong feelings about religion you will either like or be hugely irritated by this aspect of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get in there and Kill 'em all!!, 2 Oct 2008
This movie is one of the present crop of new movies made especially for the `Straight-to-DVD and Blue Ray' market, the studios no doubt having realized they can by-pass the millions they would have to spend when launching a picture in cinemas. It used to be the case that a movie would be released straight to video or DVD only if it was deemed to be of a quality not satisfactory to be released in theatres. But these days, with roughly 7 years of revenue and research statistics available, studios are increasingly finding that the medium of DVD can often reap far higher financial rewards than the cinemas, and are therefore commissioning movies to be made especially for that medium, often with fairly creditable results. The DVD market is also more accessible to the consumer; it being far easier to pop down to your local HMV than it is to hike to the ends of earth to find a screening of the latest obscure little film you wish to see!

Ed Neumeier, the screenwriter behind Robocop and the first Starship Troopers movie makes his directorial debut with this third installment in the `Grunts Vs Bugs' science fiction war satire. The war between humanity and the relentless arachnids has raged for years, and the Earth government, increasingly reliant on the continuation of the conflict, have opened up new fronts in the war across several star systems, and stepped up the propaganda campaign to even more extreme levels. Johnny Rico (Casper Van Dien), now a colonel, returns to the fold as the lead character in this picture after being absent from the last movie. The action begins on the dusty industrial planet Roko San with Rico and his hapless grunts defending an outpost populated by groups of resentful farmers and agricultural workers. Its business as usual on the colony as bugs swarm everywhere, while the outpost receives a visit from acclaimed Sky Marshall Omar Anoke (Stephen Hogan) accompanied by a former friend of Rico's Dix Hauser (Boris Kodjoe), and what might possibly be an old flame Captain Lola Beck (Jolene Blalock - the Vulcan from TV's Star Trek Enterprise). After the initial skirmish at the colony during which Rico has to stand up against not only the bugs, but the bureaucratic stupidity of the Earth government, the visiting party reboard their shuttle and begin to head home before being attacked mid-flight and forced to crash land on a remote desert world. The survivors are left with the unenviable task of trekking across the bug infested planet, with their Sky Marshall behaving increasingly erratic and creepily religious as times goes on. Rico, after a mock-execution trial on charges of sedition, is ordered to proceed to said planet and recover the survivors.

Put away your skepticism, this is great fun! The production, on an obviously limited budget has done a great job. Ed Neumeier has put in significant thought to developing an intelligent, thoughtful and enjoyably satirical script - the propaganda news reports are a hoot! The action too is well-staged, the special effects and set design all looking suitably polished and futuristic - resembling a big budget version of Babylon 5. The director also happily shoe-horns in a moment of gratuitous nudity, as a team of new recruits is introduced to some new military combat technology, and it all seems wonderfully commonplace!

Fans of David Twohy's Pitch Black may find something to complain about; as some of the scenery and landscapes of the desert planet do resemble that movie's setting, but this is only a small criticism. From watching the standard `making-of' featurettes included on the DVD, you can tell that everyone working on the production had a great time. All the principals; from the director and the cast and crew are over-flowing with enthusiasm for the project, and obviously very keen for the franchise to continue. Rumour has it that Neumeier and Van Dien are working on either another Starship Troopers DVD/Blue Ray movie or a possible TV series.

Any fan of pulp sci-fi B-movies should immediately add Starship Troopers 3: Marauder to their DVD collection. "See you on the Bounce, Trooper"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not that bad. Not as good as 1, but nowhere near as bad as 2., 21 July 2008
I watched this film expecting it to be bad. I remember getting excited about 'Starship Troopers 2' and being horribly disappointed. So, I wasn't expecting much from this, but I enjoyed it, to a degree. The beginning didn't start that well, I found myself contemplating turning it off or skipping ahead. I managed to stick with it and began to like some of the characters and wanting to know what happens. Where the second film seemed nothing like a Starship Troopers film (the only thing connecting it were one of the species of bugs), this felt much more like it - with multiple story lines, a cheesy set of actors and video clips/adverts from the federation advertising the war.
Overall, I wouldn't say this was an amazing film, but it was good fun. Don't expect anything near as good as the first, cus you won't like it otherwise. This is missing one thing that the original had plenty of... Money.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..BEST SEQUEL..", 23 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starship Troopers 3 - Marauder [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The second movie was ok, but didnt have the concept of the original, but ST3 is excellent! bigger budget, more gore and blood, loads of classic bug action and a few new additions. brilliant sci-fi. if you loved the original than you will enjoy this too. you can also ignore the second film if you wish and look at this as the official sequel instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Starship troopers action!, 1 Dec 2010
I have been a fan of Starship Troopers for a long time and this latest movie is yet another film in the same vein as the original - lots of superb fast-paced shooting & bug action!! Get it if you are a fan of ST...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like Dawkins fevered nightmare., 19 Nov 2014
This review is from: Starship Troopers 3 - Marauder [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Much better than the turgid second film and an entertaining send-up of fundamentalism. Clearly more concerned with trying to get a rise out of the religious right than functioning as a sci-fi, it is well worth a watch for anyone who doesn't think that man was made out of clay 12,000 years ago by a bearded man in the sky who doesn't approve of 'Adam and Steve"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ST3: Oh Dear..., 26 July 2013
By 
T. Scott (Land's End, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only good thing about this movie is Jolene Blalock. Otherwise acting, script, storyline, 'effects', indeed overall production is pretty awfull. Low budget it may have been, but several cult movies were made on a low budget - the background to the space flight scenes looks like a free screensaver download!

My disc is now hanging in the garden to scare off birds (and possibly bugs(!)); at least one less copy of this poor movie in circulation!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troopers 3, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much has already been said about this film here already, some of it quite negative. If you are looking for serious sci fi please dont bother. If you are looking for something fun and cheesy to watch on a Friday night then you could do a lot worse than purchasing a copy of this. The starship troopers films have always been somewhat tongue in cheek, I think some people fail to notice this.
Also Jolene Blalock is hot. What more do you need...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starship Troopers 3 - Marauder [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free]
£4.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews