Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem!
What a wonderful film! Audrey Tatou (of Amelie fame) is an excellent actress and shines in this film. She looks stunning throughout.

Audrey Tatou is Irene, a lady or questionable morals, who is a gold digger, meeting men and spending their money on a lavish lifestye - jewelery, clothes, hotel suites etc. One night she meets Jean, played by Gad Elmaleh, who is a...
Published on 3 Nov 2008 by Mr. L. Moreland

versus
27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average as French, great vs American
There is not much to add to the many reviews of this film here, but I was particularly struck by the fact that when I watched it in Paris in French I thought it was average. That I think is a marker of how much more inventive and intellectually nuanced the French are when it comes to making/writing romantic comedy. A few months later I watched it with a group of friends...
Published on 8 Aug 2010 by x-bout reviews


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem!, 3 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. L. Moreland (Winnersh,Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Priceless [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a wonderful film! Audrey Tatou (of Amelie fame) is an excellent actress and shines in this film. She looks stunning throughout.

Audrey Tatou is Irene, a lady or questionable morals, who is a gold digger, meeting men and spending their money on a lavish lifestye - jewelery, clothes, hotel suites etc. One night she meets Jean, played by Gad Elmaleh, who is a waiter she mistakes for a wealthy man. Not wanting to reveal his true identity he pretends he is rich. When Irene finds out she is not pleased but by this time Jean is smitten and willingly spends his life savings trying to give her what she wants. Irene willingly takes it all and then dumps him when the money runs out. Stranded in a hotel with no way to pay the bill, Jean finds himself an older woman and soon finds himself in Irene's business!. As Irene teaches Jean the tricks of the trade she starts to realise that some things in life are worth more than money!

This is a touching and very funny comedy. the actors are flawless and the locations are beautiful. If you like French language films or romantic comedies this film is a must, you wont be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless film!, 8 Oct 2008
By 
saz (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Priceless [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
I have just seen this film at the cinema and can't rate it highly enough. Even my partner who doesn't exactly share my love of French movies and came along under duress enjoyed it (helped I suspect by the stunning Audrey Tautou!).

You can't help but warm to the characters despite their dubious 'profession' and the film is sharp, genuinely funny and warm without any Hollywood syrupyness or sexing up. A special mention has to go to Gad Elmaleh who was perfect as the endearing and enduring (and gorgeous) Jean.

A genuine romantic comedy without the dreadful girly/meg ryan-esque/hollywood connotations if that makes sense!
You dont have to be into French cinema to love this, but if you like Amelie, Audrey Tautou or just good movies then I'd recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars suprised!, 20 Oct 2008
By 
Peter J. Hewitt "history fan!" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Priceless [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Had read some good reviews for this film in the papers all giving it a positive review, yet i put it on thinking i wouldn't really enjoy it, but after 10 minutes i was really into it.
The first part of the film is really funny and very well acted with Jean pretending to be a rich hotel guest and the gold digger Irene falling for it, until the truth comes out.
Irene leaves, trying to find a new sugar daddy!, but Jean has fallen for her and tracks her down, only to be taken for a ride by Irene and becoming bankrupt in ther name of love!
I really wanted to dislike Irene, but her and Jean make such a good couple you want them to end up together, but with each new twist and character my guess as to the ending kept changing (won't tell you!).
An hour and a half later it had finished yet not once was i bored.
It wasn't as funny as i had expected (though i did laugh a few times) but i think if i understood French it would have been much more funny!
All in all i really enjoyed this film and for fans of the actors, film genre etc you should find it suprisingly priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average as French, great vs American, 8 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Priceless [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
There is not much to add to the many reviews of this film here, but I was particularly struck by the fact that when I watched it in Paris in French I thought it was average. That I think is a marker of how much more inventive and intellectually nuanced the French are when it comes to making/writing romantic comedy. A few months later I watched it with a group of friends in English and I thought it was brilliant. Thinking about it, I realised that in English I was comparing it to the masses of lightweight romcoms we get bombarded with by Hollywood, with every sitcom star going on to do a romcom or two, with barely any real changes in the scripts. Having said that, however you approach it, Audrey Tatou is absolutely convincing (as usual), comedian Gad Elmaleh is fantastically cast as the initially bumbling but quick-learning and increasingly savvy male lead and veteran actress Marie-Christine Adam is so very good as Madeleine. Definitely worth watching, maybe rent instead of buy because you wouldn't want to watch it too many times unless you have a thing for one of the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This blu ray is...., 17 July 2009
By 
M. A. Bennett (Wiltshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having enjoyed this charming film immensely on dvd just had to get the blu ray.

A normally reliable US review site (dvdtalk) had given mediocre ratings on the picture and sound quality, unjustifiably in my opinion.

I seriously wonder what the reviewer was watching it on as this blu ray
blows the dvd out of the water in a straight comparison on my set up.

The 1080p picture looks absolutely gorgeous as you would expect for a film shot around the French Riviera. As does Audrey Tautou who is possibly the most talented and beautiful actress working today.
So nice to see her speaking her native language again.

The audio track is lossless French dolby truehd, NOT DTS as per amazon details, or dolby digital 5.1 as per back cover.
The audio works fine for the material,it is not Die Hard 4.0!

Subtitles are Spanish or English only (real shame if you are French and HOH).

Not much in the way of extras but who needs them for a movie like this?

If you have seen this you must get the blu ray (only available from US but plays region ALL).

If you haven't seen it then try something a little different instead of Hollywood churn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep your change in your pocket, 8 Aug 2009
By 
Peter R (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Priceless [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
I love Audrey Tautou. I love French humour. Amelie, Le Dinér de Cons, Taxi 1 & 2 etc.

Both my wife and I eagerly anticipated this DVD as the trailer looked funny and quirky.

However, it really was quite a disappointment. Audrey plays her character well and convincingly. It was a pleasant enough script but no laugh-out-loud moments at all. Some bits made one smile but otherwise not particularly funny, which is a shame because it seemed like it had so much more potential.

However, if you are unwell and really need a movie that doesn't require brain-power but will make you smile then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy romantic comedy., 19 Jan 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Priceless [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Amusing French film about a waiter who is mistaken for a rich guest by a female guest on the hunt for a wealthy sugar daddy. Various adventures result in him assuming the role of a gigilo by accident and eventually forging a tenuous relationship with the original guest , very amusing and worth watching. Don't worry if you don't understand french as it's easy to follow and the sub-titles are very easy to read. And Audrey Tautou is perfect in the role of the money grabbing sugar daddy hunter. I also like the way that unnecessary music is evident by its absence enabling you to enjoy the film more than similar Hollywood offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and quirky. A wonderful French film!, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Priceless [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
A painless way to try to improve your French! A quirky story and beautiful acting from the two lead actors. Loved it!

DVD arrived quickly and I would recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Priceless [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Audrey Tautou is as luminously beautiful as ever, this time as far removed from the Amelie character as it is possible to be, playing a scheming opportunist looking for the richest man she can get. The lovestruck hotel worker who falls under her spell is wonderful. Throw in a case of mistaken identity and after spending all his money on her he ends up as a male version of Audrey, even getting tips on how to play the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good movie, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Priceless [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Great rom com. Tatou is brilliant and utterly gorgeous. The story isn't exactly challenging but it's great fun to watch and has the required happy ending as the penniless but in love couple mak off together for Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Priceless [DVD] (2006)
Priceless [DVD] (2006) by Pierre Salvadori (DVD - 2008)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews