Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect bedroom amp
This is a small practice amp, rather than a genuine micro amp, although with superior sound quality and at a cheap price. It takes a 9V battery (one supplied), or an external power supply (not supplied). It has a volume and tone control, a button for "overdrive", a power button, and a further button for the tuner.

It makes plenty of noise for your...
Published on 5 Jan 2010 by Paul Lynch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This amp is okay and fairly good for the money and compact size but that's as ...
This amp is okay and fairly good for the money and compact size but that's as far as it goes. Clean channel is okay - bit of a jump volume wise to distorted which is also okay not great. It's fine for someone wishing to practice guitar who wants a guide sound. At 3 watts and the dinky size, cheap price it is probably what you should expect. As someone like myself who has...
Published 4 days ago by thenooschmoo


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect bedroom amp, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Paul Lynch (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
This is a small practice amp, rather than a genuine micro amp, although with superior sound quality and at a cheap price. It takes a 9V battery (one supplied), or an external power supply (not supplied). It has a volume and tone control, a button for "overdrive", a power button, and a further button for the tuner.

It makes plenty of noise for your bedroom/garage, but not enough to compete with a drum kit in practice. The sound is excellent, with that typical Orange quality, beating out far more expensive (and more powerful) practice and gig amps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orange Crush mini amp review, superb !!, 13 Mar 2010
By 
Gary Sellars (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
I've been playing for 30 years or so and have always just used my big 50 watt Marshall valve combo to play at home (volume turned down of course to a sensible level)but have always wanted a tiny small amp with serious tone for bedroom use at home, THIS IS that amp ! I've only just taken delivery of it today but the tone and feel has so impressed me that i said "i have to write a review".
Clean sound is good, really good, but it's when you hit the overdrive button that the amp really shines, superb distortion sound with great gain and dynamics, i was playing a Fender Eric Clapton model strat through it which probably does the tone no harm but honestly this is the best tone i've ever heard from a practice amp.
If you're considering getting a small amp for bedroom use at home or for backstage warming up or what have you then get this amp it really rocks, i couldn't stop playing and grinning as i used it for the first time, it sounds that good.
Only downside could be the robustness of it with the wooden cabinet, i saw a review on YOU TUBE where someone had sent for one and the sides were broken off when it arrived and after ordering a new one they used it for a short period of time before the wood broke of again, but i have to say i've not heard of anyone else who has had this problem, but seriously the sound is so good that if that was me i'd just add some glue to the sides and put it back together, the sound and feel is that good.
One more downside or upside depending on your viewpoint is it's so good that you think what their more expensive amps sound like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little amp, 4 Mar 2010
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
This is solidly built and looks great, too. Sound is clear in normal mode if that's your bag and beautifully fuzzy in overdrive.

I thought it's worth pointing out that it's actually 3W, not 1W as per the product description above and there are also some strap buttons you can attach so you can walk around while plugged in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars orange amp, 28 Jan 2011
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
I bought this orange micro amp to use with my ukaleles.It is brilliant both with the uke and the Guitar.Easy to carry ant transport and produces a good tone. Very pleased with this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking micro amp!, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. Jd Downs "scottdowns84" (Peak District) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
Looking for a quality micro amp, then look no further.
The first thing you notice is the build quality of this little gem, that solid Orange build.
The sound is excellent for such a small unit especially if micro effect device, such as pocket pod is used as well.
Tuner is handy and seems accurate.

If your looking at the Marshall micro amp then spend a little more and get this beauty.

A quality piece of kit, not your usual "plastic tat"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works surprisingly well for bass!, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
So after seeing some suggestions online that this amp could be used for bass I decided to take a chance and ordered it. With the instrument (passive, active might be too much for this thing) volume turned down and the amp volume cranked up you can get a pretty acceptable if distorted bass tone out of it, enough to happily practice on the go. Considering the price as well this is a steal compared to other battery powered bass mini-amps. If you want something for solo practice this is a pretty good buy, and it even comes with strap buttons so you can carry it around while you play. All of this said, if you want a clean tone you should probably invest in a mini-amp actually designed for bass, but if you aren't too picky or you like some fuzz, this thing is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
While I wasn't expecting the world out of a mini-amp and can't really judge the brand on its portable amp (the big ones being where most companies shine), I really thought Orange would manage to keep the signal from fuzzing up too much on its cleaner setting. It's not particularly difficult for it to over-distort your clean sound even on tiny volumes.

The fuzz of the overdriven sound (when wanted) is the nice classic feel you can expect from Orange, obviously given that you lose out on presence and thickness of sound with such a tiny amp, and that the higher volumes will get a bit messier sounding as with all mini amps I've played. Good quality for its price and if you do a lot of outdoor impromptu jamming, you could do a lot worse than this baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars orange micro crush amp, 31 May 2010
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
I bought this little amp to practice with. I play Bass!!! I's ok if you turn down your volume knob(s) on the bass and have the amp's volume on full. It's fine for playing along with CDs or iPod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
When I received the item I was disappointed with its size, I hadn't realized it was that small when I ordered it. I would be a Xmas present and had to show my son before to avoid his disappointment too. However, when he started using it, the quality of the sound for the size of this amp is amazing, perfect for his practice in his bedroom. We don't need anything louder than that at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small but ballsy!, 28 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Orange Micro crush CR3
I've been looking for a decent practice amp for ages. In the past I have had Pignose amps, marshalls, no-names, in short a few. I've never had an Orange.

Why not?!

Others have covered the build and operation, I just want to comment on the sound - clean it's lovely with pretty much everything from Telecaster 'ching!' to down and dirty wallop. Overdriven it's a joy! It has one unique trick up it's sleeve - a tone control that actually works. I don't know about the rest of you, but on small / cheap amps I tend to turn these up and leave them up - not here. Quite remarkable colours and variations can be had with a little judicious knob twisting. Overdriven with the tone almost off this pocket marvel delivers a stunning dirty blues tone, and that was using a half-scale, single pickup kids guitar I use when travelling... Imagine how much better that gets when you plug quality into the other end!

Someone else suggested, skip the Marshall, buy this. They're right - 100%. Pignose may have a quirky history but this is better, much much better. At about £30 every guitarist should be given one of these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orange Micro crush CR3
£38.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews