Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works much better than the wheel types
I needed to cut some thin glass (1.5 mm thickness) to replace a broken meter glass. This tool works very well and produced a much better cut than the equivalent tungsten carbide wheel types. Practice on a piece of scrap glass first as it is important to get the angle between the cutter and the glass right for an even score. Watch that the cutter does not chip the glass...
Published on 7 Dec. 2011 by Electronics enthusiast

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Score - Tip gone
Gave the sheet of glass one cut, thought it had not broke the surface towards the end. I looked to see what the problem was, then noticed the diamond tip had gone. Poor quality, my one at least.
Published on 2 Dec. 2012 by ned


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works much better than the wheel types, 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
I needed to cut some thin glass (1.5 mm thickness) to replace a broken meter glass. This tool works very well and produced a much better cut than the equivalent tungsten carbide wheel types. Practice on a piece of scrap glass first as it is important to get the angle between the cutter and the glass right for an even score. Watch that the cutter does not chip the glass as it runs off the edge. Dipping the glass in white spirit did not produce any noticeable improvements. Others are right to score the glass only once - going over the score produces an uneven cut. Once scored, the glass parted very easily with very little pressure. It was not necessary to use pliers or any tool to do this. For the price, this is an excellent choice. I don't know how long it will last, but I have made about 25 cuts so far with no problems. Note I have not tried it with thicker glass.

The construction of the tool is actually quite good - the handle is wooden and the metal parts brass. The head and side cutter are screwed in place. If you have had poor results with the wheel types buy one of these - you cannot go wrong at the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little tool, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
I read the reviews before i purchased this glass cutter, thanks to all the reviewers. The price is unbelievable, great little tool. If you are a novice like me do ask for glass cutting tips like tapping the score line underneath before you try to snap it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glass cutter, 18 Aug. 2011
By 
Ken Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
Unlike some of the reviewers this glass cutter worked as expected, done what it was supposed to do, and worked very easily. It was purchased to cut some glass for a few picture frames, and this was completed very quickly, and with no problems whatsoever. It is now waiting to do more work as and when the need arises. For its cheap price I thought that it would last for one or two cuts and then the diamond would fall out and get lost, but no it worked well and I am well satisfied with it and would thoroughly recommend it. Perhaps, I received a good one, but I have to relate my experiences and how I found the one I received, I would certainly buy another should the need occur. Not only this but the supplier delivered this cutter very quickly, it seemed like the next day, after ordering, this has to be mentioned for accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Score - Tip gone, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
Gave the sheet of glass one cut, thought it had not broke the surface towards the end. I looked to see what the problem was, then noticed the diamond tip had gone. Poor quality, my one at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper glass cutter, 17 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
After repeated failures with wheel type cutters this works to perfection. I have both the 2 and 4mm versions and find the 2mm gives the tidiest results with window/picture glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but effective, 24 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
I bought this to cut glass for a greenhouse. It did the job well. It is fairly crude - not like the cutters I used for lab work when I was a student - but it is much better than a wheel and is good for curves as well. We were trimming 1/2 inch pieces off old panes and it was easy. Dip it in white spirit before making your cut. The price is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No comparison with a steel wheel cutter, 11 Nov. 2012
By 
K. Royle (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
A great little cutter at a good price.

They still have the same limitations as traditional steel cutters, but the diamond tip produced a very fine consistent line on the glass surface with much less force than a steel wheel cutter. This means that it is easier to use and less chance of glass breaking under pressure. It is also possible to produce slight curves on some glass.

Well made, great value, don't even consider a steel cutter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glass Cutter, 10 Feb. 2012
By 
R. Angus - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
Very easy to use and better than the price would suggest. Only used it twice but worked great both time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure it has worked., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
Difficult for me to evaluate - the glass proved to be hardened glass. No way to cut it at all. Left 2 cuts on the glass and the diamond tip still on, had to give it up after searching internet that tempered glasses were not possible to cut.

The cutter itself is cheaply made, maybe good for some cuttings. Worried for a while that the whole tip will fall, but it did not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor build quality, 7 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter (DIY & Tools)
Hi, I don't normally write reviews but I had to in this case. I achieved one good quality cut - then felt a clunk which I assume was the cutting diamond breaking off the end - and then it was useless. I followed all the various online tips of gradually wearing in the cutting structure and flushing with white spirit but in the end you do get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverline 101218 Diamond Tipped Glass Cutter
£2.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews