Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex, frustrating, brilliant
In this game, each player starts off with a board on which there is a two room wooden hut (represented by flat squares of card) and lots of empty spaces. They also start with two family members (counters) each of which gets to take one action per round. The aim of the game, over 14 rounds, is to develop the board and earn points by doing various things:

-...
Published on 26 Jan 2009 by Mrs Norris

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Way too complicated
Great quality pieces but took us several evenings to work out how to play it and we found it overly complicated and long winded. In the end we gave up and sold it on Ebay. We were surprised given the rave reviews but you have to be a serious gamer to like this.
Published 12 months ago by meganfunk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious game, 6 Feb 2011
By 
S. Coombes (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
I have only played Agricola three or four times in as many months because it is requires more time and concentration than the rest of my games. But it is also more interesting and satisfying than the rest and I thoroughly recommend it.

At first the rounds seem to pass slowly, as the players learn the game and work out a strategy. The later rounds are much faster.

Each player is given a farm and two characters to perform actions. Possible actions include sow seeds, build fences, bake bread, and allow the player to develop the farm. The actions can be enhanced by the use of cards dealt to each player. There are many cards and a few are dealt at random to each player, so that the game is different on each occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gift purchase, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
I bought this for my daughter, and she loves it. The game can be a bit long but is very involving and absorbing. The game can be expanded with upgrades. All in all this is a fun game for teens and adults
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
Amazing game! We've played so many time and there are still so many options!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Way too complicated, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
Great quality pieces but took us several evenings to work out how to play it and we found it overly complicated and long winded. In the end we gave up and sold it on Ebay. We were surprised given the rave reviews but you have to be a serious gamer to like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agricola, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
Not sure why this game has remained so high up in the game board geek listings. It's fun and each game differs when you use the various cards. There's frustration when you can't do what you want and feel time is running out but I like the element of chance that dice bring and this game doesn't give me the satisfaction I normally get when winning say, Catan or Castles of Burgundy does. It was quite expensive too and there are lots of pieces (they do provide lots of those little bags which was rather nice). Can't quite put my finger on what it is about this game but it doesn't quite do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game., 4 May 2013
By 
B. Davies (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
Agricola is certainly at the expensive end of the "modern board game" spectrum, but it comes with multiple variations in the box - more like the "big box" versions on games like Alhambra (another favourite) and Carcassonne (the ultimate game when expanded!). This resource-building game has a set number of rounds so the pressure is on to make maximum use of your turns... we tried this game at our local gamers club and were immediately hooked. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
Bought as a present, I have played this and know it has been played and enjoyed a lot, good to have a new game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 15 Sep 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
Played this game first at a friend's, and got hooked! Love the game, you can play it over and over and it's always different. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition, would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As Expected, 30 Jan 2013
By 
N. Felton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
Do read up on the game first. Is fairly complicated but ideal for board game fanatics. Not suitable for the average family type game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agricola, 27 Mar 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Agricola Board Game (Toy)
Only played a couple of times to date: still getting to grips with the rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agricola Board Game
Agricola Board Game by Z-Man Games
£46.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews