Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang plays Hess to perfection
Well, the music critics won't like this one, but if you already know Nigel Hess's music (Ladies in Lavender, Food of Love and all his extensive television work) then you'll know what to expect - great tunes, beautifully orchestrated - and, in this instance, superbly played by global piano virtuoso Lang Lang. This is heart-on-sleeve stuff, and none the worse for that. The...
Published on 4 Aug 2008 by Angela

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Really Good Piece of Music
A really good composition and played by Lang Lang. I was suprised that this musician didn't do his usual trick of playing far more notes that the composer had ever thought of which makes some compositions thoroughly unenjoyable. I was however a little dissapointed that there was only the one short piece on this CD, therefore I have rated the CD as OK but the piece of...
Published 8 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang plays Hess to perfection, 4 Aug 2008
This review is from: Lang Lang: Nigel Hess Piano Concerto (Audio CD)
Well, the music critics won't like this one, but if you already know Nigel Hess's music (Ladies in Lavender, Food of Love and all his extensive television work) then you'll know what to expect - great tunes, beautifully orchestrated - and, in this instance, superbly played by global piano virtuoso Lang Lang. This is heart-on-sleeve stuff, and none the worse for that. The slow movement is derivative (Rachmaninov meets the Warsaw Concerto) but this is writing that is immediately accessible, and will appeal to a huge audience. A real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright, Efficient Concerto: Well worth a listen!, 22 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. S. J. Bonsor "bonsor2" (Horley, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lang Lang: Nigel Hess Piano Concerto (Audio CD)
Nigel Hess's piano concerto was commissioned in memory of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother: hence the somewhat portentous titles for each of the movements. It is a shame that it occupies a CD all on its own (at under 23 minutes) and it would make an excellent coupling with Howard Blake's, the latter piece having been dedicated to Princess Diana.

Hess is primarily a film music composer, and clearly needed the `hook' of a extra-musical concept in order to get his creative juices flowing, however he wouldn't be alone amongst composers in this. Certainly the concerto itself shows no signs of being any kind of detailed narrative.

If you're expecting a deep and intellectual work, then this isn't for you, but if you value melodic interest and an effective ear for orchestration (i.e. good tunes and a full orchestra) then this concerto is very much for you. Yes, it's derivative in places, but at the same time it holds the attention and isn't afraid of direct communication.

Lang Lang isn't exactly a shrinking violet, and he plays with conviction. The London Chamber Orchestra conducted by Christopher Warren-Green similarly play with passion.

On a less positive note, this is very poorly packaged: It takes more than the soloist to play a concerto- a pity the orchestra and conductor were hidden amongst the small print!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely beautiful, 31 July 2011
By 
John Smith (essex england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lang Lang: Nigel Hess Piano Concerto (Audio CD)
Very romantic, tuneful.
Especially the second movement is sublime.
Yes it would have been nice to have something else on the cd as it is short. However still music is brilliant.
Well done Nigel.(and Lang)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superbly played romantic piano concerto, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lang Lang: Nigel Hess Piano Concerto (Audio CD)
This CD is a delight. If you enjoy romantic piano concertos, like those of Grieg, Schumann, Rachmaninoff and Saint-Saens, for example, you will love this music. Lang Lang is a sensitive and accomplished pianist and you cannot fail to love this work and the performance. Nigel Hess is better known for providing incidental music to TV series but he acquits himself admirably here. The slow second movement of the concerto is entrancing. The only reason I have knocked off the fifth star is that the concerto is the only work on the disc and with a total running time of only 24 min, it's just as well that this CD is sold at a budget price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful, 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: Lang Lang: Nigel Hess Piano Concerto (Audio CD)
I first heard this piece late one evening on the radio and was captivated by the gentle recurring theme which was played throughout.The three movements , The Smile , The Love and The Duty are brilliantly played by Lang Lang and the compositions by Nigel Hess outstanding.The music is an absolute delight to listen too at any time though I found it was just the perfect music to unwind too as a nightcap .I enjoyed it for its restful and soothing sound,most wonderful and endearing and with an air of calmness and serenity .I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What`s new, 19 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lang Lang: Nigel Hess Piano Concerto (Audio CD)
As an ardent Lang Lang fan I gave this,to me,unknown concerto a hearing.It was composed by Nigel Hess,Grandson of Dame Myra Hess,on Prince Charles request, to commemorate the life of His Grandmother ,the Queen Mum. Listen to it a couple of times and you start to follow the story the composer is trying to convey.A very interesting composition and,because of the price, well worth gamble to listen to a new "favourite".Hess wrote at times like 1st movement-Chopin,2nd Rachmaninov`and finally Holst. Buy it .You`ll enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Downloaded Purchase, 21 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first time I ever bought music via a download route. I was very impressed and am pleased with it.

MANY THANKS!

Helen Bawden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand piece., 23 Dec 2012
By 
Stephen Kirby "kirboid" (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hear on Classic FM and decided to buy straight away. Three different styles played brilliantly. I even like the third movement, which some don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Lang Lang: Nigel Hess Piano Concerto (Audio CD)
very pleased with the recording i must have saved 50% on what i would have payed at hmv. i knew i wasn't getting anywhere in the shop as the assistant replied after i asked about this particular recording by lang lang , who's lang lang?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting slow movement..., 12 Jun 2013
By 
R. A. Ellis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enchanting slow movement......Still hoping the outer movements will grow on me. I am hopeful. The playing is superb. Thanks Classic FM for introducing me to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lang Lang: Nigel Hess Piano Concerto
Lang Lang: Nigel Hess Piano Concerto by Lang Lang (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews