Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
Superb production values, as you'd expect from the Pink Floyd camp. Both sound on the CDs and sound and visuals on the DVDs and DVDs are fautless.
The band appear relaxed and play as a well knit unit throughout, clearly enjoying themselves.
Gilmour's guitar playing, as ever, is precise and dynamic. Perhaps even better than on his "Remember The Night" DVD. He's...
Published on 29 Sep 2008 by Nick Huckle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not full concert
Got this at Xmas from the wife..be aware that the DVD is not the full concert! But what there is of it..it's bloody Awesum! The strings add a lotto the songs...especially 'High Hopes'
Published 13 months ago by leigh


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Nick Huckle "The Sponge" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Superb production values, as you'd expect from the Pink Floyd camp. Both sound on the CDs and sound and visuals on the DVDs and DVDs are fautless.
The band appear relaxed and play as a well knit unit throughout, clearly enjoying themselves.
Gilmour's guitar playing, as ever, is precise and dynamic. Perhaps even better than on his "Remember The Night" DVD. He's not a guitarist from the fast and flash camp, but he always plays the right note at the right time with the right tone. I lost count of the shivers he sent down my spine. Most impressive of all though is the fact that this was the only show the band played with a string section. The strings are used magnificently. They don't intrude on any number, but always compliment the songs perfectly. I've had this CD/DVD package for three days now but have already watched the show twice as well as listening to the CDs twice. I think that's nearly 12 hours in all.

Sadly this show is also one of the last, if not the last, recording of a performance by Richard Wright. On the DVD he appears to be really at ease and enjoying himself. A craftsman of the highest order. He will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Echoes, 1 Oct 2008
By 
Carsten Doig (Hamilton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This seemed like a pretty competent live album, especially if you start with disc 1 and its replication of the 'On An Island' album. From that album 'Take a Deep Breath' is pretty powerful.

But like a lot of other people, I bought this because I love Pink Floyd and I was keen to hear some old favourites, hence disc 2. 'Shine On...' is slightly different, more mellow (if that is possible) but more interesting after two previous live renditions on the last two Floyd albums.

However, if you are a Floyd fan then you need to buy this album for another classic, 'Echoes'. Quite simply, it is stunning, from Rick Wright's opening keyboards, to the vocals, Gilmour's funky guitar, the ambient section and then the return with Gilmour showing why he is the greatest guitar player in the world.

As if that wasn't enough, watching the concert on DVD only adds to the occassion of this magnificent song.

Oh yes, and after that there is an emotional rendition of 'Great Day for Freedom' although I do beg as to why Jon Carin's piano and the orchestra seem to dominate the sound over any keyboards Rick plays. Gilmour's solo on the other hand is majestic, and likewise on the final track 'Comfortably Numb'. Although, it's been done before, there is still something unique about this version and its particularly poignant on the DVD when you see Rick singing Waters' vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ummm. packaging nightmare, 30 Sep 2008
This is not a criticism of the music, nothing wrong there at all, but the packaging. The discs are stored in tight cardboard sleeves and are terrible to get out if you are not careful there others can fall out by accident whilst you're trying to extract another. The cardboard has already ripped on mine. It's so fiddley and badly designed. They really could have done better designing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just go and buy it!, 29 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Live In Gdansk (2CD) (Audio CD)
This set is worth the price of admission just to hear Dave dust off Fat Old Sun, which was a shameful omission from PF's Echoes collection. A beautiful melody which is played acoustically but just when you think it's over Dave plays a blistering electric solo. Just awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHEER CLASS - SUPERB ALBUM, 23 Sep 2008
By 
R. G. Williams "raywilliams12" (Cheshire, England , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live In Gdansk (2CD) (Audio CD)
David Gilmour once again shows his incredible talent, by collating an exceptional live set, that will delight both Floyd fans and those(if any)who lean to his solo work. Poignantly, this album features Rick on keyboards, and also vocals (he solo's on Comfortably Numb, covering Roger's pieces)so is a lasting memory as his last recording.

Now,what makes this album so great, is not only the superb balance of songs over the Floyd era (from Astronomy, Echoes, Dark Side, WYWH through The Wall and ending up with Division Bell, and the best of his more recent solo album "On an Island", but the production quality and final arrangement are amazing for a live album.

The Floyd tracks are perfectly reproduced, with the exception of "Shine On" which starts as per the original, but the chorus is simply David, Guitar and Piano - it works beautifully!. Comfortably Numb is probably even better than the "Pulse" version, with Gilmour squealing the guitar through the epic ending riff - superb. The only Floyd track missing which I would have expected to hear is "Sorrow".

As mentioned, the solo set list misses out completley David's first two albums and focuses on a selection of tracks from On an Island - tracks I have slated on this website for being dull and boring, yet on this new live album they seem to have come to life and fit in with the set so well.

Live albums by the nature need some crowd sing - along to the opening verses, but the Polish crowd listen intentley and clap politely, with no oversinging the opening verses!(Wish you were here comes to mind where at Earls Court the crowd can be heard singing every word - on this album silence!)

Some people ask why Gdansk?, well Gilmour was invited to play here by the former Solidariy movement to 50,000 people against the historical backdrop of the Gdansk shipyards in Poland to celebrate the 26th anniversary of the Solidarity movement.

The band are backed by the 40-strong string section of the Baltic Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra conducted by Zbigniew Preisner.

So to sum up, all in all in my opinion this is the best sounding, produced live Gilmour/Floyd album. With a full orchestra, the music is breathtaking, his vocals strong and powerful. Well worth adding to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilmour may not be God,but he comes close., 30 April 2009
By 
I. Stott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent outing from Mr Gilmour and band. The use of the orchestra is inspired as is the venue. All in all a totally involving experience for the vinyl buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, 23 Sep 2008
By 
M. Coldwell "Mike Coldwell" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Do you like Pink Floyd? You'll love this. The addition of the orchestra bringing to the fore the late Michael Kamen's original, beautiful string underscore makes for an all-time best performance of "High Hopes" - the greatest compostion of Gilmour's career so far. The excellent "On An Island" album (2006) comes alive in its entirity and there are majestic renderings of "Comfortably Numb" (again, sublime with the orchestral backing) and the album (and DVD's) highlight - "Echoes". This is, without a doubt, the most intense version of the 1971 Floyd classic you will ever hear. Just buy this now and marvel for the last time at the late, great Rick Wright. Superb album and a DVD that trumps last years Albert Hall DVD for sheer chutzpah. This was clearly a very special show in front of a huge and appreciative crowd. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live in Gdansk, 18 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A concert that it as near to Pink Floyd Live as you will get post-Waters.

The performances are superb with the band playing with relaxed and intimate candour. The big tracks are given fresh life rather than being churned out as they were on the Delicate Sound of Thunder and Pulse albums. Shine On you Crazy Diamond is given an exquisite delicacy that makes it even more ethereally beautiful (if that can be imagined)than usual, but the first time you hear Echoes on this album it will take your breath away. This is live music at its absolute pinnacle from a bunch of the very best craftsmen in the industry, and at its heart stand Gilmore and Wright giving a master class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aural Magic .., 26 Sep 2008
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Gdansk (2CD) (Audio CD)
This is probably one of the best produced live albums I've heard but that is irrelvant beside the sheer quality of the music. A big part of the songs are all of the latest Dave Gilmour album 'The Island' and I have to say they sound soooo much better live. On the studio album there is quite a low key , almost sad feeling. Live on this CD they fit very well instead with the older Pink Floyd ones. I think my studio album will be quietly filed away. The Pink Floyd songs are just outstanding - the version of Comfortably Numb is just brilliant. I had it cranked up in the car and its just a great soundtrack for driving. Other standouts are Time, Echoes (all 25 minutes of it..) and what for me is one of their best songs 'Wish You Were Here' - made even more aposite with the death of Rick Wright
A great album and a potential classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilmour at his very best!, 3 May 2010
By 
Michael Botham (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always been a Pink Floyd fan and have also enjoyed David Gilmour's solo work.
Having decided to buy the 2 cd/2 dvd version,I was expecting something good, but this exceeded my expectations.
I liked the On An Island cd, but really feel that Gilmour performs this album live so much better than the original studio recording. Maybe it is the musicians he plays with on tour but the album seems to take on a new dimension. This is especially true of this recording which he performs with the addition of an orchestra.
The whole album is played in the original track sequence and sandwiched between various Pink Floyd tracks. All the material, whether new or old, is excellently delivered. It even seems to sound better and better with repeated playing!
The dvd is also excellent. Good sound and picture quality. I have watched it several times and the individual tracks just seem to flow from one to another. However, I really must disagree with the common trend of having different tracks on the cds compared to the dvds. This happens so often on music dvds, even with some tracks appearing as "bonus" material and added as extras, out of sequence from their original running order in the concert. With this package, it is just that some of the concert cd tracks are ommitted from the dvd. I suppose this may have something to do with the time capacity of the dvd but I suspect they are just left out rather than having identical material on both. However, this is soemthing I would like to have - the same music and the same running sequence on both.
The second dvd is a gem in its own right though, with the band perfoming material in a variety of other settings. Some tracks were not included in the concert so it makes for a genuine addition to the package. It is also good to see the band perfoming in some other more informal surroundings.
A final mention about the packaging of the cds and dvds. It could and should have been better. All are housed in card slots within the sleeve and as such they are difficult to remove. I immeditaley took the discs out and placed them in two double plastic cd cases. Very advisable as they will not now become scratched or damaged.
Despite my reservations about the packaging and dvd track ommisions it still has to be given 5 stars.
A really special concert captured forever and for that we must all be thankful. Richard Wright performs as well as he always did. How sad it is that this was one of his last perfomances. He really can't be adequately replaced, so I hope that there will be no future chance of Pink Floyd recording new material without him. However, I do hope that Gilmour will continue his solo work and will perform this live alongside a selection of the original Floyd tracks.
If you are a Floyd or Gilmour fan and havn't bought this yet, the question has to be asked why? Just order it now and then sit back and enjoy an absolute master perfoming happilly and to the very best of his immense ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf2b3cc)

This product

Live In Gdansk (2CD)
Live In Gdansk (2CD) by David Gilmour (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews