Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product and great beer! Perfect for beginners.
My wife bought me this as a surprise christmas present. Probably the best christmas present I have ever got!! I always toyed with the idea of home brewing beer but never knew how easy/difficult it would be.

This kit provides the basic stuff needed to brew a batch of your own beer. Just add sugar! (you can buy brewing sugar online, otherwise castor sugar is just...
Published 22 months ago by padwarian

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad
This is a review of the product and not the seller. I got given this product as a Christmas gift that was bought in store.
From the other reviews the seller sounds good!

This kit is good but is missing a few things you will need.
- Bottles (or pressure barrel)
- Brewing sugar (the instructions say you can use table sugar, dont. It will leave a...
Published on 11 Nov 2011 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product and great beer! Perfect for beginners., 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
My wife bought me this as a surprise christmas present. Probably the best christmas present I have ever got!! I always toyed with the idea of home brewing beer but never knew how easy/difficult it would be.

This kit provides the basic stuff needed to brew a batch of your own beer. Just add sugar! (you can buy brewing sugar online, otherwise castor sugar is just as effective).

I am now onto my 3rd batch of home brew, still using the equipment provided in this kit. It is a bit of a learning curve starting to brew beer. Below are some tips I hope are helpful to any wannabee home brewers buying this kit!

1. Brewing your own beer is easy. Follow the instructions and you can't go wrong!
2. Do not buy bottles online. It is actually cheaper (and more enjoyable!) to buy a few cases of beer in the shop, drink it and reuse the bottles. I spent a good few hours soaking and removing the lables from the bottles but it is worth it!
3. You need to buy bottle caps and a capper. Youngs sell a very sturdy hand held capper on amazon for about £12. This does the job perfectly! Bottle caps are also not very expensive.
4. Set aside a good 3-4 hours for the bottle sterilising, bottling and capping stage. This requires a decent level of graft but it is worth doing right.
5. With home brew beer you always get a yeasty settlement in your bottles. This is normal. Some people like to mix the yeasty settlement in with their beer (doing so gives it a very different taste!) but most don't mix. Therefore, you need to store your bottles upright. Generally, home brew beer is poured into a glass because of the yeast settlement. When pouring I would usually leave a bit in the bottom of the bottle so that this does not get into my glass.
6. It is useful to buy a tall 100ml measuring cylinder for taking samples to check the gravity of the beer with the hydrometer.
7. Try not to open the lid of the fermenting beer during the first 5-6 days as this will increase chances of infection.
8. When using the syphon to decant the beer into bottles, be careful not to disturb the yeast cake which forms at the bottom of the bucket. This is about 15mm thick usually.
9. Store the beer somewhere warm, and where it won't be disturbed. Wrap in a heavy blanket or coat to keep heat in.

One of the most important things with brewing beer is TRY NOT TO RUSH!!!! Be patient with this, make sure things are done right and don't do things too early (like bottling before fermentation is finished) as this will ruin the batch. Over-eagerness is a blight that ruins many a batch of beer.

Back to the product... 5 stars. Does exactly what it says on the tin! Basic, yet effective. Perfect for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfied, 16 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
Deilvery was under 2 days by UPS so it could be tracked- this was deliverd to the Isle of Man so the seller is doing a good job.
The product has clear instructions and everything you need aside sugar, water and bottles to put the finished beer in. All of which can be obtained cheaply.
A well priced fantastic Product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I made lager!!, 7 May 2011
By 
Mr. K (North East) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
Simple and easy to use kit. You will need bottles or a pressure barrel to decant your lager into though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
This is a review of the product and not the seller. I got given this product as a Christmas gift that was bought in store.
From the other reviews the seller sounds good!

This kit is good but is missing a few things you will need.
- Bottles (or pressure barrel)
- Brewing sugar (the instructions say you can use table sugar, dont. It will leave a bad cheap cider taste to your beer)
- Thermometer (not essential but very handy so you know when to add yeast)

There are a few other things that this kit could benefit from too. A tap would be nice because while filling your bottles with a syphon you are guaranteed to spill a lot out. I personally didnt care much for the beer included in the kit but its great for beginners to start off with. If I were you I would probably go for a different starter kit. There are others for not much more in price that come with everything, even down to the priming sugar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 29 Sep 2012
By 
Tom Gilpin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
£30 pounds and you get a brewing bucket and the ingredients for 40 pints! Great deal bought it with my birthday money in july managed to get through all 40 pints over the summer on my own. It tastes great the only time i buy lager is while it is brewing as i like this as much or possibly a bit more. The down side is you have to spend another £30 on a keg or bottles I would NOT recommend bottles as you have to re buy them and buy lids because i don't think they're re usable buy a keg as it will last forever unless it is damaged badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product but be careful with the box!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
The brewing buddy came within two days if ordering which I was really happy with, the only problem was that the box was ripped, marked and had writing on which was disappointing as it was a gift but the product itself was great and a great present for a great price. Although make sure the person receiving the present doesn't open the door as it's not covered up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gift..., 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
I got this as a gift for my fiance and he loves it. I'm still not sure if it's a Larger or a Brew?! And neither is he but all the same I'm sure it will taste good. I bought this from Wilkinsons which is actually cheaper so maybe Amazon should match their price OR you could buy it from there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great flavour, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
This went down well even with picky family who like good beer. Recommend bottling rather than barrel unless you are going to drink at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
great thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Buddy Lager 40 Pints Home Brew Starter Kit
Bought as a christmas present for my son who wants to have a go at home brew found this to be an excellent starter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews