Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Job
Quickly covered the item with one coat and I did not even get paint on my hands. Well worth the money
Published 11 months ago by Taffy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing against Hammerite paint but I just couldn't get this ...
Nothing against Hammerite paint but I just couldn't get this to work properly at all. Didn't matter how long it was shaken or what angle it was tilted to, it came out as a black watery stream. changed the nozzle...same thing. I'll use a pot & brush next time.
Published 4 months ago by Seaboot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Job, 22 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quickly covered the item with one coat and I did not even get paint on my hands. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I applied this to some ugly rusty steel trailer hubs and they now look great., 14 Nov. 2014
By 
G. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammerite 5084783 Metal Paint: Hammered Silver 400ml (Aerosol) (Automotive)
If you follow the instructions, shake for several minutes, apply multiple layers without over-application, and leave to dry between applications then it does exactly what it says on the tin and treats rust and leaves a tough finish. I applied this to some ugly rusty steel trailer hubs and they now look great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't get this review wrong - I'm pleased with the results of this product, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't get this review wrong - I'm pleased with the results of this product. Bought several of these to spray a treasured old cast iron bench seat. Be aware that a lot of this product goes into the air, not necessarily where you aim it ... so use in an area that wont mind a bit of air-spraying, and also be prepared to use more than you think you might need. Also it is a very runny liquid, so you really do need to do several coats (there is no such thing as one thick coat with this). And between coats you do need to wait longer than the suggested (15 minutes ?) between coats. I waited 30 in the sun outdoors and the surface was still tacky (beware fingerprints then !). But its done now and seems to adhere well (I did wire brush, wash, rinse and dry the surface) to a mixture of bare cast iron and old-paint that was not going to be removed without sand blasting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing against Hammerite paint but I just couldn't get this ..., 29 Oct. 2014
By 
Seaboot (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Nothing against Hammerite paint but I just couldn't get this to work properly at all. Didn't matter how long it was shaken or what angle it was tilted to, it came out as a black watery stream. changed the nozzle...same thing. I'll use a pot & brush next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idiot proof!, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammerite 5084783 Metal Paint: Hammered Silver 400ml (Aerosol) (Automotive)
Excellent stuff - arrived quickly and idiot proof to use! Would use again and this comes from someone who hates DIY - used it to spray a rusty old milk churn - perfect job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PAINT, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammerite 5084783 Metal Paint: Hammered Silver 400ml (Aerosol) (Automotive)
bought to spay tatty alloy wheels I put in minimum preparation and the result was a good finish overall covering good to well impressed with product can recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
By 
D. J. Bethell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great finish for touching up some patio furniture and gates - love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great paint in a spray can!, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammerite 5084783 Metal Paint: Hammered Silver 400ml (Aerosol) (Automotive)
perfect for what I wanted - which was to spray a metal camping stand. Hammerite is always so good, just spray it over rusty metal and it can make it look like new again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Hammerite paint, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammerite 5084783 Metal Paint: Hammered Silver 400ml (Aerosol) (Automotive)
Been using Hammerite for 50 yrs.Tins only in those days,hammer finish best,smoothe finish ( in spray) a bit ". iffy " but overal a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars but! ....be careful who it is ordered from!, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
CSMedia (Gospel Oak, London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammerite 5084783 Metal Paint: Hammered Silver 400ml (Aerosol) (Automotive)
Presently ordered to refurbish two excellent studio light stands from 'Strobe' a London light company, a 'Fish Fry S60' and an 'SAS Swimming Pool', both have Hammerite coated parts on the weights and base plates that reflects perception of the product in it's use.

RRD Automotive : A cautionary note however, the item arrived from RRD Automotive with one of the 2 canisters used / tampered with, they were packed in a tired thin jiffy bag , thus dents all around. Initially the seller informed to throw the products away and they would refund which was of little help as we needed the paint, they then retracted as they did not like our honest feedback. To inconvenience us further they informed that the only way to get a refund would be through Amazon claims in the knowledge that it is a drawn out process, such is the charm!

Yodel : The item was delivered by Yodel, a questionable courier company that we always, always find problematic. Attempts were made to use them once to deliver but they were 3 days late in collection, despite waiting in for them to collect, so we cancelled. They then kept turning up to collect parcels without request. They had to be informed that further attempts to attend our address would be considered harassment to stop them from calling.

Sellers like this unknowingly outwit themselves and Amazon with such acumen, it was thought a step up from Ebay but there is err for caution; will reconsider local shops in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews