Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars8
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2015
This review is for the French DVD on Bach Films (ASIN: B001RQPZWE). Subtitles: French (optional) Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1.Non-Anamorphic. English Dolby Digital 2.0 Dual Mono. French Dolby Digital 2.0 Dual Mono.
Best version currently available, by some distance. Very good clean print, uncut and in Widescreen too. Far superior to all the public domain, full frame copies out there. Good film as well, particularly for sci-fi enthusiasts. It has a very 70's US TV Movie vibe about it, though contains scenes that would have definitely been cut, had it actually been one. Decent acting, competent direction and a quite original story line. Recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
A similar story to Frankenstein but this time its a grow your own instead of making a amn from body parts, Rock Hudson plays the proffessor very well , and can grow a foetus to an adult in a few days but something goes wrong and the newborn is on a killing spree,
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
Embryo is without doubt a great Science fiction film, Rock Hudson at his very best potraying Dr Paul Holliston a scientist deeply involved in research science on human and animal feotuses,it's a tail of a kind loving man hoping to bring better survival chances to early pregnancies with complications. During a raging storm he accidently runs down a dog, trying to save the dying dogs life, he realises the dog is pregnant and manages to save the life of one of the pup foetuses in his laboratory with newly developed growth hormones,the experiment is a success, a second time he tries a similar experiment trying to save the life of an early developed feotus taken from a recently deceased pregnant lady. Again this time the human foetus is fast tracked with growth hormones and develops into a fully grown adult in just days, she is called victoria a beautiful highly intelligent 25 year old woman, yet things are about to go tragically wrong.

Sadly the quality of the dvd is very poor, the print is obviously taken from video.

Embryo 8.5 . 10 as a sci fi movie
Quality of the movie poor, it's very dark and grainy 4/10
But because I love this film I hope to find somewhere a better print.
If it's possible, look for a better quality print rather than buy this one if possible.

Hope this helps.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
The DVD turned up in good condition and also very quickly, and it was the DVD I ordered, that is why it gets two stars.
I love b moovies, I enjoy wide eyed vampires with plastic teeth.
I enjoy watching men in monster costumes fighting Doug Maclure
I also enjoy black and white dramas,
But I did not enjoy this dismal excuse of a film.
The very very bad transfer of the film was not the worst thing about this film, Rock Hudson gives probably his worst performance of all time and Roddy Mc Dowall was not much better in this flick, the rest of the people in this film which I will not call actors give a flat dry bland attempt at a performance

It is sad that an interesting story line was so botched up by poor script writing, this film could have been so much better and should have been
The only good thing about this film was Barbara Careers, but not for her acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
This review is for the GREAT widescreen dvd transferred from a French print. It opens with a short printed disclaimer, en francais, then the film begins in spoken English and it's a CRISP, CLEAN transfer. FINALLY!! It hasn't been professionally available on home video since VHS was invented. ALL home video versions except for this one are crap, so don't waste money on them. I'd given up on this ever showing up in UNCUT, widescreen, beautiful quality; quelle surprise!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
The image was not good. Fast shipping.. but the movie is a classic. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
seen this film years ago and wanted to see it again,so purchased it from amazon, very happy with the film and the short delivery time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
very disturbing very disturbing if I knew I would not have bought it the age of the picture I didn't believe they can make anything like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.