Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have
The Blues have influenced all modern popular music in the US, what with the influence of jazz and rock and roll etc. Is there anyone who doesn't like the Blues? With some of the greatest Blues singers of all time and some tracks sung by the original singers there is more than enough for anyone here. At the price and the number of tracks here you just can't go wrong -...
Published on 21 Sept. 2009 by M. Dowden

versus
77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation but partially sourced from MP3
This is a great compilation of some of the best 50's post-Depression blues records, so there ain't any of the very early blues records included here, and no Robert Johnson, despite of beeing named on the cover. The liner notes from Michael Heatley are brief but informative.
There is one serious issue to this compilation however. I noticed some of the typical MP3...
Published on 1 Oct. 2009 by Tim Graf


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 21 Sept. 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Audio CD)
The Blues have influenced all modern popular music in the US, what with the influence of jazz and rock and roll etc. Is there anyone who doesn't like the Blues? With some of the greatest Blues singers of all time and some tracks sung by the original singers there is more than enough for anyone here. At the price and the number of tracks here you just can't go wrong - this is definitely one cd that you have to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blues to Choose, 2 Aug. 2009
By 
P. Bayley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Audio CD)
This anthology repeats a number of tracks ( about a dozen) that you'll find everywhere, but also has some rarer artists and songs that make it worth the ridiculously cheap price. A good ones for blues fans new and not-so-new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation but partially sourced from MP3, 1 Oct. 2009
By 
Tim Graf - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Audio CD)
This is a great compilation of some of the best 50's post-Depression blues records, so there ain't any of the very early blues records included here, and no Robert Johnson, despite of beeing named on the cover. The liner notes from Michael Heatley are brief but informative.
There is one serious issue to this compilation however. I noticed some of the typical MP3 artefacts on one of the first tracks of CD 2 and according to a quick analysis of the waveforms at least some of the tracks from the second disc are sourced from MP3s. So be aware of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some great tunes, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
B. Shpherd-ashby "treeman" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Audio CD)
Wanted a taste of old time blues and this turned out to be ideal. A few tunes I knew and many I am learning day by day. Having read Ronnie Woods autobiography I can see how much of the early Stones stuff was influenced by many blues players. Good foot tapping stuff, recomend to anyone wanting some ol' blues at good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star value, 28 Aug. 2009
By 
Steve Gomersall (Blackpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Audio CD)
This is indeed essential listening at phenomenal value. Great to hear the original versions of tracks that have become well known by other artists, check out 'I Put a Spell on You' by Screamin' Jay Hawkins.....mind blowing! The sound quality is remarkably good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Belter, 20 Mar. 2011
By 
D. Carmichael "DC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Audio CD)
I bought this album for less than the price of a pint of beer, and I now feel ashamed for getting it so cheap. It is simply one of the best blues collections around, with hardly a weak track among the many featured. These are the best of the best artists and some great songs. It's a treasure trove that you can dig amongst for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars various blues masters, 2 May 2011
By 
Mr. Kenneth Hurcombe "Ken.H." (Yorks.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Audio CD)
quality & value very good-covering some of the best & greatest blues names of all time.
The title says it all-excellent for anyone who wants to start listening to & understanding
blues music.Regarsd,KH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars faulty tracks, 28 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Audio CD)
very good blues compilation for the money, but I was disappointed to find out that tracks 16 and 17 on the first disc were badly distorted,I checked on a friends CD player but it did not improve.Nevertheless I still enjoyed listening to this product. W.F.WILLIAMS."blueslider" Cheshire,England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so essential!, 16 Mar. 2011
Calling some of these tracks "blues" seems to me stretching it a bit. But some rare tracks as well as some great blues standards. About a third of the tracks made it onto my iPod. But, hey, at this price who's complaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Worth every penny", 27 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Audio CD)
I recently bought BB Kings "His definitive greatest hits" compilation and thought i have got to get some more of this American R&B genre. Having listened to this compilation it has inspired me to buy work of Bo Diddley, John Lee Hooker, Elmore James, Howlin' Wolf and even though he is not on the album, Robert Johnson. I am a big music lover and thought it is only right that i should get into American R&B material and their artists, because lets face it what an influence they had, still have on the worlds music industry. If you are like me and want a taste of the American blues then this compilation is a ideal place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Blues Anthology
Essential Blues Anthology by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews