Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just FIVE simple steps.....
......that's all it takes to learn how to come up with new & creative ideas, time after time. As Young says, the idea & the technique itself are so plain & logically simple that you may even miss it; despite the fact that the book is only some 48 pages long. It's easy to read & in your haste to learn "the secret" you may finish the book too quickly. Some thoughtful...
Published on 3 Oct 2007 by Terry Tozer

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably a must-have in its day
I bought this book because I've heard it mentioned often and it's really cheap!

It's also a very short book with quite large type!

Basically he says new ideas are made from putting bits of old ideas together, and that you should find out as much as you can and think on it, then go away and have a rest and come back and look again.

And...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Em


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just FIVE simple steps....., 3 Oct 2007
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
......that's all it takes to learn how to come up with new & creative ideas, time after time. As Young says, the idea & the technique itself are so plain & logically simple that you may even miss it; despite the fact that the book is only some 48 pages long. It's easy to read & in your haste to learn "the secret" you may finish the book too quickly. Some thoughtful reading is required, so please don't dismiss the book because of its apparent brevity.

The fact that the book has survived successfully for over 40 years in print is testament to Young unique (but not new) teaching.

Although Young does not refer to it, I am reminded of many writers & books that go into great detail explaining the "science of the mind" & the wonderful way the brain [or mind] works & how it can be used to spawn new ideas & create solutions to problems. Sometimes referred to Mental Science, its philosophy & teachings go back thousands of years & weren't fully recognised until around the time of the 1900's.

If after reading this you wish to develop & research this technique further, I would highly recommend Emmet Fox's "Power Through Constructive Thinking".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and reassuring?, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. R. "Polymath" (London, England, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What surprises you first (if you weren't expecting it) is that the book is so very tiny. For 4.99 you don't get many words for your money, and the first ten pages are introductions and a preface. However, once you get into it, its brevity is its charm. I suspect that readers divide into two camps. The ones who think he's right (and probably already follow Young's methods) and the ones who don't (and probably don't). I'm pitching my tent in the first.
As Young said, he's wasn't afraid to give away his secrets because he was certain that hardly anyone would be prepared to put the work into step one. His five step method is simple but not easy. It's a bit like writing a guide to joining an orchestra and giving step one as passing grade eight violin, with distinction. He also suggested that you never stop observing and recording everything you notice in your daily life. The other thing I particularly like, but which isn't part of modern business, is allowing yourself time to do something completely different. Young reckons that you have to give your brain a pleasant distraction while your massed collection of many possible combinations of thoughts unconsiously comes up with the big idea.
You might have your big idea while you're relaxing in the bath, but it won't happen if you haven't studied all the possible options beforehand.
Great thinkers of the past permitted themselves a breathing space to solve problems. Brindley, the Duke of Bridgewater's canal engineer, used to retire to bed to think until he had come up with his solution. Imagine suggesting that to your boss.
While you're using your imagination, picture what might happen when an ambitious business type looking for a fast, wonder-fix comes across a little book that tells them they have to change the way they live in order to become a more creative person. Not such a big hit, perhaps. TO have to time for seriously good ideas, you've got to put down your Blackberry, work reasonable hours, spend time on other interests apart from work, but while you're there dedicate your life to learning more and more about your business or craft.
Get one, and while you're there, get a copy for everyone who demands that you produce an eldless stream of ideas with no time in between to top up your supply of new experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little book for big ideas, 6 Dec 2010
By 
Dawn Sillett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How can a book of less than fifty pages, published over sixty years ago, be relevant and useful to us now? Let me count the ways. This is a gem and deserves to be used (important point: not just read, but used) by anyone who wants to come up with more and better ideas, whether being creative is part of your job description, a hobby or simply an important part of how you live your life. Mr Young writes knowledgeably and humorously, outlines a straightforward five-step process - then challenges us to follow it.

Some creative souls may worry that this book will so demystify the process, they may lose their `magic'; that everyone out there, having read this book, will be able to have a go. That's Young's challenge: few of us will believe that producing ideas can really be so simple, and of those that do, few will try. Hi s book shows us the ways and means to do just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, 28 Oct 2001
Although it is not a very new book (about 50 years old), its significant, simplified, and disciplined way for innovative thinking is just as effective and valuable as the day it was first published. I am sure you will fall in love with the book so much that it will take an hour to read. Enjoy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably a must-have in its day, 5 April 2011
I bought this book because I've heard it mentioned often and it's really cheap!

It's also a very short book with quite large type!

Basically he says new ideas are made from putting bits of old ideas together, and that you should find out as much as you can and think on it, then go away and have a rest and come back and look again.

And combine things you've found out to create something new. That's really all there is to this book. So the title is very accurate, it is 'a' technique for coming up with ideas, but a pretty obvious one nowadays?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good perspective, 20 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's useful for helping you step back and evaluate the creative process. Short enough that you can read it often - which helps reinforce its message. I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I can't think!, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Jb Fethers "JonnyF" (Macclesfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Should be titled "Stating the obvious" Not the best book I have ever read. Seemed to take a long time to actually say very little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says.., 30 Jan 2010
By 
tim (South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The concept of the power to generate ideas being portrayed in so few pages was daunting...but the advice is simple to understand and logical when applied - simply it works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 24 Aug 2009
By 
Can Burak Bizer (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book! Clearly defines the process of tninking and idea finding. Thre might be some exclusions and cases. Yet it fits to my overall experience. Translated to Turkish as "How to find good ideas" in tricky way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, 26 Nov 2007
Very few books I've read are so direct and simple. The author gives away his secrets in this book, he says that he is not scared to do so because - as with many things - very few people are actually dedicated and disciplined enough to follow through (I'm paraphrasing).

It gives you the principles and methods in a 1 hour read, whether you get ideas and the quality of your ideas all depend on you.

Great, great, great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews