Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joke Product...
Bought this as a Christmas present for a close friend as we're both chilli sauce fanatics and kebab connoisseurs. I was looking for something explosively hot, and found myself tempted by the "Insane++" rating on this particular sauce. Gosh had I bought him the right one.

Half a drop (and a tiny drop at that) left us both streaming with tears, ears burnt to...
Published 19 months ago by Sal Ersan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chemically taste - too much extract, not enough Chilli!
Hot sauces have come a long way since 'Tabasco Sauce'. Some sauce manufacturers try to out-do others by simply making the hottest product they can; in this respect there is no hotter product than 'Blair's 16 million reserve' - indeed there can scientifically be no product hotter because it is made up of pure Capsaicin (the chemical that creates the burning feeling)...
Published 11 months ago by Charlie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joke Product..., 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a Christmas present for a close friend as we're both chilli sauce fanatics and kebab connoisseurs. I was looking for something explosively hot, and found myself tempted by the "Insane++" rating on this particular sauce. Gosh had I bought him the right one.

Half a drop (and a tiny drop at that) left us both streaming with tears, ears burnt to crisps, mouths on fire with throats drier than a desert and faces redder than a chilli itself. At this we both jokingly laughed, nay, nervously laughed. Then came the real pain. In the stomach.

We spent well over fifteen minutes bent double, convinced death was upon us. I simply cannot express enough how powerful the burn was: as men it was far far worse than a kick to the privates. Those who review this product saying it's 'weak' or not 'hot enough' are simply trying to trick you into consuming this infernal thing. We're both experienced chilli consumers; our lineage coming from the east- where heat in cooking is a fact of life. Never have we had such a sledgehammer of a condiment.

If you're insane, then this sauce is perfect for you. But we recommend you DO heed the warning on the bottle- to dilute it first (and not use more than a drop) as it almost hospitalised us. We would have called an ambulance but couldn't even make use of our voices. We calculated that it takes around 20 seconds for the full effect to develop, whether in mouth or in stomach, 10 - 15 minutes for your throat to normalise and around 30 - 40 minutes for the gripping stomach pains to completely subside.

All in all, if you're looking for a cheaper alternative to a nuclear missile then look here. On a serious note, anything hotter than this, or indeed any more than a teaspoon of this, will simply kill you. It doesn't say who makes the product for a reason- it just says 'made in Costa Rica.'

All in all an excellent yet thoroughly dangerous product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respect the sauce, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: Dave's Gourmet Ultimate Insanity - 142 g (Grocery)
This sauce is hotter than the original Dave's Insanity Sauce as the "Ultimate" indicator suggests. It is considerably hotter than eating any raw chili I have yet to encounter.

If when you get it you stick your finger in it and then lick your finger it will hurt you badly and the pain will last some time. Do not get it on your fingers as an invisibly small amount will later surprise you when you touch your nose, eyelids, ear lobes etc. Wash hands after using it and keep the outside of the bottle clean. Be careful where you keep it if you have children in the house.

Using it requires practice. For example if you can spread it very thinly (using no more than the size of drop that can be held on the end of one prong of a fork) across a whole slice of bread, it will really spice up a sandwich.

I think there is a slight smoky/woody taste if you get the balance right and don't put too much in what you are eating.

This stuff seems very over priced for such a small bottle. However, if you find the hottest sauces you can buy in the supermarket not hot enough, think of it this way... At 1.80 a pop if you are buying one bottle of supermarket sauce every two weeks I would expect this to last at least 10 times as long. My last bottle lasted about a year.

This is the hottest sauce I have tried and will probably not go hotter as diluting it evenly can already be an issue with this one.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hotter than Satan's B****cks, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave's Gourmet Ultimate Insanity - 142 g (Grocery)
We have a Chinese friend who insists she can only eat spicy food, and does several bottles of Tabasco sauce weekly.
Bought a bottle of this and took it round to her place for a meal.
She decided she would ‘taste’ it first before trying it out with food I did try and warn her!
So, find a straw, dip it in the bottle (say an inch) then suck it out – easy.
Smiled – said it was ‘hot’, then within a minute headed for the fridge, where she began chewing on ice cubes.
Next she drank milk, water, and any other cold drink in the fridge.
Within 5 minutes she was in the bathroom retching, coughing and spluttering!!

She now admits it’s “hotter than Satan’s bo11*cks”, and she’s using it as directed – as a food additive to spice up a meal, and not on itself.

Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chemically taste - too much extract, not enough Chilli!, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave's Gourmet Ultimate Insanity - 142 g (Grocery)
Hot sauces have come a long way since 'Tabasco Sauce'. Some sauce manufacturers try to out-do others by simply making the hottest product they can; in this respect there is no hotter product than 'Blair's 16 million reserve' - indeed there can scientifically be no product hotter because it is made up of pure Capsaicin (the chemical that creates the burning feeling).

For every person there is a limit where a sauce ceases to be a sauce and becomes instead an additive which must be diluted first before it can be 'enjoyed'. To put things in perspective a regular bottle of Tabasco Sauce measures between 2500 and 4000 SHU (Scoville Heat Units) and pure Capsaicin is 16 million SHU. Dave's Ultimate Insanity Sauce measures between 90,000 and 250,000 SHU , as always, depending on the batch, the heat varies slightly from bottle to bottle. Rest assured, there is no man alive who can deny that this sauce is hot, however there are far far far hotter sauces out there if it is purely heat you are after. I myself keep a bottle of Blair's 3am Reserve which I use drop-by-drop to spice up my Chilli's.

Dave's Ultimate Insanity includes Habanero and 'red' chillies among its natural ingredients . As it's Chemical ingredients it lists 'hot pepper extract' (capsaicin) on the back of the bottle which it uses to greatly boost the heat of what would otherwise be a fairly mild sauce (Tabasco's Habanero Sauces measures around 7000 SHU for example).

As a general rule sauces which use extract to obtain great levels of heat (and pain) are used as additives, and sauces (true sauces) use natural products.

The flavour of this sauce tastes very chemically and actually smells of the chilli extract used (based on past experiences with hot sauces); as such I cannot recommend this product as a sauce. As an additive it will surely provide ample levels of heat for all concerned though I still could taste a faint hint. I'm not good with describing tastes but as a poor attempt I would have to say smoky with a burn that doesn't hit straight away but gradually builds, with a rather unpleasant chemically after-taste. It is not vinegary like some sauces, but rather oily with quite a liquid consistency which makes it come out of the bottle rather easily.

Note: My references are based on own experiences in regard to taste but scoville units were found online with a bit of searching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST hot sauce bar none!, 26 Jan 2012
By 
A. Coleby (This Bit, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first time I came across Dave's I mistakenly added a spoonful to a pizza. Jesus, that was an experience!

A bottle lasts AGES and you'll find yourself adding a drop to everything from soups to pasta and of course curries.

It used to be good value for money but those wimps at Tesco stopped stocking it, no doubt because some fool took their "Every little helps" mantra too literally and fed it to their child and complained. Shame. Whatever happened personal responsibility?

Now it's only available online at a VERY inflated price. But it's still fantastic. The taste is pretty neutral and though it doesn't replace chillies in a recipe it adds depth to the heat and complements the real thing marvellously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave's Gourmet Ultimate Insanity - 142 g (Grocery)
Love it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not 450g as stated - only 142g, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave's Gourmet Ultimate Insanity - 142 g (Grocery)
This is supplied as a 142g bottle even though the headline description says 450g. Feeling a bit cheated now as I thought that I was going to receive a mega bottle.

Having used in the past, I know that it will last a LONG time used sparingly, but knocking 1 star off because of the misleading size stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave's Gourmet Ultimate Insanity - 142 g (Grocery)
Tried this sauce out with various dishes and its great if you like really spicy food, although do take heed of the warning on the bottle as it is a tadge warm !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its really really hot, 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: Dave's Gourmet Ultimate Insanity - 142 g (Grocery)
It dies what it says in the bottle. This is the hottest sauce I've tasted so far and still has a good taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 14 Feb 2014
By 
V. M. Aspinell-faux (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave's Gourmet Ultimate Insanity - 142 g (Grocery)
As always, this product lives up to it's reputation as one of the finest and hottest (without being vinegary or bitter) Hot sauces available on the market. A shame it's not available in stores in Suffolk as it used to be. That said, the 2-3 day delivery service is pretty damn good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dave's Gourmet Ultimate Insanity - 142 g
10.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews