Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS!
This is absolutely hilarious and will have you laughing from start to finish! Frank is a comedy genius - have seen him a few times and he always has me laughing till tears are streaming down my face. Brilliant!
Published on 11 Nov 2008 by Frank fan!

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 & a half stars
I hadn't realized it was Frank's first stand up for 10 years. He is one of my favorite comics, especially his work on Fantasy Football, Unplanned and his talk show.

So, is the DVD funny? Indeed it is. So why only 3.5 stars? Well, the material is not very broad. Frank spends too much time on sex, or more so, his sexual experiences, in graphic detail. About 70%...
Published on 9 Dec 2008 by MrH77


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 & a half stars, 9 Dec 2008
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't realized it was Frank's first stand up for 10 years. He is one of my favorite comics, especially his work on Fantasy Football, Unplanned and his talk show.

So, is the DVD funny? Indeed it is. So why only 3.5 stars? Well, the material is not very broad. Frank spends too much time on sex, or more so, his sexual experiences, in graphic detail. About 70% of the act in fact! It's all very funny but he could have moved on to something different just to break it up. A lack of material is apparent. The best comics on their day cover a lot more day to day misgivings. His visuals and timing are spot on however, and he writes a good song too while playing the banjo. His encounter with a horse was a highlight.

He closes with an account on how people behave while txting, especially during the start of a new fling. It is so true, and this is what makes comedy work when comics touch on day to day activities which make us feel relieved in a way that it's quite normal behavior, but at the same time the mind creating it's own troubles.

The material in the Billionaires extras segment is good enough to have been in the main show. His quick impression of Oko Ono was funny while talking about Heather Mills.

This is still a lot better than Jimmy Carrs DVD also from 2008...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS!, 11 Nov 2008
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
This is absolutely hilarious and will have you laughing from start to finish! Frank is a comedy genius - have seen him a few times and he always has me laughing till tears are streaming down my face. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected., 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
I was very disappointed when I watched this dvd. I know that Frank can be filthy in his humour but this is very smutty and was uncalled for. I like the guy, I watch his room 101 and have followed his career for years but really did not enjoy this offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for 99p, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Chunky1234 (Reading. Berks.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
Cant complain and for 99p including postage, a bargain. Love Frank Skinners humour so this was a fun watch for the holidays..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hysterical - but don't watch with children!, 31 May 2013
By 
accuracy's nice (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
He makes everything extremely funny, including his sexual history! - hence perhaps it'd be rather embarrassing to watch this with one's grown-up children! - & of course it's too adult to watch with actual children.
But please don't think from that that this is a porny video cos it's not; it's just making light-hearted fun of many things, including sex.
&, as a Brummie, I found it nice that he still has a genuine Brummie accent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
utterly brill my husband cloudnt stop laughing great dvd will be getting more of is stuff with out a doubt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just excellent, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
Great concert by one of the best (if blue) comedians around - seen so many time and always great - highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars frank skinner stand up, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best DVDs for a long time. Even your mum would not be able to hide her laughter. Your dad would love it.

Brilliant. More of the same please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 10 Nov 2008
By 
K. Moore (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
This show was fantastic live, can't wait to relive it on DVD. Watch out for his genius songs and the bit on texting is so true, I laughed so hard I was nearly sick! It's the funniest stand-up show I've watched in a long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper Funny!, 11 Nov 2008
This review is from: Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this show on the night which was ace, and now I've got the DVD too! Brilliant to be able to relive it, and the behind the scenes stuff is really interesting to watch. Nice one Frankie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frank Skinner - Stand-Up (Live from Birmingham's NIA) [DVD]
£2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews