Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you can tell this product has been around for a while ..., 30 July 2011
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
The Trangia spirit burner has two major advantages over other cookers:
- it has no movable parts
- it is very easy to operate

You just pour in methylated spirit, and light it with a match. 10 minutes later, you have enough water for two mugs of tea. The hard anodized aluminium is durable and easy to clean.

The best bit is the in-built wind shield. It works even when it's quite windy. This tends to be a problem with most other camping stoves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about hard andonisation, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Having used a trangia for just about 20 years thought it was time to add an extra one now i have another mouth to cook for, last trangia was a 27 with the non sick coating and is still going strong and will still be in use i would rate that 5 stars. Thought this time to go the extra bit for the 25-8 UL HA and i am now not sure about how long the coating will last as it seems not very hard and easily scratched but will update in 6 months again after a bit of use .

Review update -

Have now used a few times and also looked at the stuff in shops and it looks like all you can get is the UL versions which feel flimsy but actually are pretty tuff . The hard coating option is good for pans and seems to be not stick enough to avoid food being welded to the bottom but i suspect i will purchase a non-stick version of the frying pan soon as it is not good enough for fry ups ( needs a lot of cleaning afterwards ) but the coating does seem to age better than i suspected initially .

Will now give 4 stars instead of 3 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking product, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Trangia may be 70 years old but they still make a great product. The design is so simple yet so clever - everything about this product is so well thought through. The efficiency of space, of weight, ease of use, stability on the ground, ease of cleaning and maintenance are all amazing and that;s why it gets 5 stars. If you can remember some basic discipline (safety-fuel bottle, always let it cool, with an invisible flame assume it's always alight unless the lid is on etc) then you mitigate the risk of meths over gas. And don't believe the naysayers who say it takes an age to cook - don't try and do too much at once and you'll be fine (if you need 1 cup of water, boil a cups worth not a litre). The hard anodised version is worth the extra cash - my brother has the original and it is much harder to cook on and clean up. Buy it - you'll be able to leave it to your grandkids because it will outlast you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have used Trangia before and still one of the best sets (if not the very best - I have ..., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Not yet used the kit "in anger" but out on Duke of Edinburgh Silver as supervisor in 2 weeks time and can't wait to try it out! Have used Trangia before and still one of the best sets (if not the very best - I have not found better!) Good idea to invest in the gas burner however if you are impatient for your dinner and a cup of coffee at the end of the day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cooker, 15 Aug 2013
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
I went camping with my son and took the trangia cooker. Although it's a bulky cooker compared with others it is all self contained. Pots and pans fit neatly together. My 10yr old son was able to use it to under a watchful eye. This is a fantastic easy to use cooker and ideal for using with young ones and it works every time. I live it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant buy, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
This a fantastic product and at a great price. Had the smaller one and have been after a large one for ages. What a find- cheaper than second hand ones on ebay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Excellent if bought with multifeul adaptor otherwise the meth burner takes forever to boil the kettle.
If first using do it outside of your tent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
I bought this earlier in the year for when I was going camping. Having now used it, I found it to be a great product. Pretty easy to clean with the non-stick, simple, well made and meths is a lot cheaper than gas.

OK, so it is slower to heat stuff up than gas, but, that doesn't bother me as I don't wild camp so I'm not looking for that quick hot cup of tea to warm me up. If you are then you may wish to consider something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of kit, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Great piece of kit. Simple, well built, easy to clean. I expect it to last a lot longer than my dragonfly and all parts are replaceable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for camping, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 25 Hardanodised Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
The best compact cooking set ever, so compact. Very clever design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews