Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars45
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2010
This is FANTASTIC production! Such passionate, exciting performances. Heart-wrenching too. I have already recommended it to many friends, to the point of becoming a Carmen-bore. Have no hesitation - just treat yourself! (the only down side is Escamillo - not up to the standard of Don Jose, Carmen or the other principles, but don't let that stop you!)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
This is a very passionate excellent production. Pappano is completely in charge and highly effective.
Kaufmann at his very best. . The " flower aria " immensely moving. His Don Jose is more convincing
than many that i have heard. Antonacci is a really wild gypsy woman, well sung and well acted.
Ildebrando d'Arcangelo a very macho Torrero. Norah Amsellem sings adequately.
What I did not like at all was the stage set. ! that was extraordinately bad and unimaginative. The scene in the moiuntains was ridiculous !
I loved the music and the simging so much that I simply closed my eyes to this short coming, but it was
totally unacceptable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
What can one say about Jonas Kaufmann!!! Fantastic voice and terrific acting.
The whole production of Carmen is a real treat. Spectacular - the whole cast - and very enjoyable.
Had the pleasure of seeing Jonas Kaufmann in the Festival Hall last October, sitting in Row 4 his voice was powerful, pure, all the high C's plus depth and warmth. It was a great experience.
Recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
Most previous reviews have been favourable, and with 5 star ratings, BUT I watched it enthralled!
It is a modern version , if that means it was believable, the singing was first class, the acting was better than many operas I have seen, and was thoroughly enjoyable!
If you are considering getting a disc of CARMEN, then this is the one to go for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
I have seen the Opera several times on stage and several times on disc. This performance is the best ever. There is raw passion. The fight scenes are choreographed with amazing skill and, I imagine, a great deal of diligent rehearsal. The singing was sublime and the acting perfect. the orchestra was also magnificent. I doubt this can ever be surpassed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
What a pity this is in NTSC format and will not run on my fairly new digital TV. It runs on my 12 year old laptop and I have yet to discover if I can relay it from laptop to TV. It is not the same on a laptop. If the screen is not at precisely right angle it all looks dark, in fact hardly visible. Otherwise splendid
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
A different portrayal of Jose by Kaufmann which grasps the cruel element in the character. Wonderfully sung as anticipated and. apart from Escamillo, acted superbly by all the cast. A valuable partner for the Domingo filmed version, both of whose performances are equally valid. I would not be without either
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
You couldn't ask for more. Gorgeous singing and very very sexy. Earthly but conventional production but good camera work and excellent sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
USUALLY IT IS CARMEN WHO STEALS THE SHOW, NOT IN THIS PRODUCTION. JONAS IS FANTASTIC. WORTH BUYING AND KEEPING IN HYOUR OPERA COLLECTION.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
This is a stunning production of raw passions with excellent acting and superb singing. Jonas Kaufmann is one of the very best tenors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)