Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest forgotten live rock album of all times
I should know! My cassette copy from 1986 got worn out years ago and I bought 3 copies on CD from Amazon! Why 3? because my brother 'borrowed it' from me around 1990 and has been hunting for it in HMV and Virgin for years (Thanks Amazon!) His friend who wasnt even a rock fan got hooked on it as well hence the 3 copies. I ask how many live rock albums do that? Made in...
Published on 16 Nov 2004

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another live album to CD comes up short
Although the tracks included are without doubt truly excellent, I have only given two stars as yet again when transferring a live album to CD, tracks are omitted. Walk on the side of Angels and Walk with you. I am sure they could have released as a double cd and included these two songs as well as others that had been left off the original album. Hence the two stars...
Published 19 months ago by Catfish Knight


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest forgotten live rock album of all times, 16 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Trouble Live (Audio CD)
I should know! My cassette copy from 1986 got worn out years ago and I bought 3 copies on CD from Amazon! Why 3? because my brother 'borrowed it' from me around 1990 and has been hunting for it in HMV and Virgin for years (Thanks Amazon!) His friend who wasnt even a rock fan got hooked on it as well hence the 3 copies. I ask how many live rock albums do that? Made in Japan? I doubt it! Ive listened to other Hatchet records but none is as fresh and exciting as this! It is minus two tracks from the original release which upset my brother a lot , but what the hell, its still an absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 9 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. S. M. Berry "simonb365" (Steeple Morden, Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Trouble Live (Audio CD)
Possibly the most under rated live recording of all time. At the time of the live recording (1984) Hatchet had honed their live sound to an almost telepathic ability, the guitar interplay between Dave Hlubek and Duane Roland (especially on the epic 'Fall of the Peacemakers') is epic beyond belief and 'Edge of Sundown' from lead singer Danny Joe Brown's solo album is given a savage shot of adrenalin.

I was lucky enough to meet keyboard player John Galvin at the Sweden Rock Festival in 2006 and he felt the production wasn't all that good (!), I think the great man is being modest, it's a stunning sound.

It's a pity that two original numbers 'Walk with you' and 'Walk on the Side of the Angels' were cut to fit this on a single CD. This minor niggle is akin to parting the waters of the Red Sea and stating "it's a bit muddy", but it should be mentioned - Prehaps this is a golden opportunity for a review & expansion of this classic?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 7 Aug 2009
This review is from: Double Trouble-Live (MP3 Download)
I have just got hold of the CD after 20 years of tape ownership. I feel like I reacquainted myself with an old mate. This album is every bit as good as I remember. Molly Hatchet may have suffered in some way because they weren't Lynyrd Skynyrd, but Skynyrd had huge admiration for the band and I understand the groups were pretty close friends. Tackling Freebird is surely enormously audacious. Imagine a Led Zep-type band putting out a live and faithful recording of Stairway To Heaven? If you do a good job everybody just says "copycats" and if you mess up, you are going to be accused of being "poor imitations". But the beauty of Hatchet is that you get the impression they don't care. This is just good, honest, impeccably performed rock and roll. For those of you who appreciate such things Double Trouble will be a mighty fine addition to your collection. And as for Freebird...? Yes, they pull it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Live Disc, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Double Trouble (Audio CD)
In 1985 there were 3 outstanding live doubles issued,you'll have heard of,possibly own two of them LIVE AFTER DEATH(maiden)/WORLD WIDE LIVE(scorpions),this is the 3rd and is the least known,its arguably better than or at least the equal of the other two.
The cd features 13 tracks,6 of which were from the ist 2 albums Molly Hatchet(1978) & Flirtin With Disaster(1979),confirming what we all knew already,those 2 disc's have never been bettered.

Opening with a stunning one ,two of 'Whisky Man & Bounty Hunter' the band are on fire immediately before classic number one arrives in the shape of 'Gator Country',originally on the debut disc,here its ramped up and blows you away,Flirtin With Disaster keeps up the break neck pace.

Next up are the 2 better tracks from the apalling Deed Is Done Disc,namely 'Stone In Your Heart/Satisfied Man' before we head back to boogie land with a manic 'Bloody Reunion' before classic number two,the quite awesome 'Boogie No More' where Hlubeck & Rolands guitars spiral off into another planet,stunning!

The original album had 2 unreleased tracks at this point,which are bizarely left off,only a dumb record exec would disregard the 2 tracks unique to the album!!,the tracks in question,'walk with you and walk with the angels' were pretty good,they remain unreleased on CD.

Classic tracks 3 and 4 are up next and 2 stunning cover versions,Skynyrds Freebird and The Allman Brothers' Dreams,two iconic tracks from the southern genre and both executed beatifully,the latter staying fairly close to the studio version whilst the former highlight Galvins prowess on the keyboards(when he keeps it simple its classic).
The album charges to the finish line with 'Edge Of Sundown & Fall Of The Peacemakers' which to my mind gives classic tracks 5 and 6,Edge.. being a faithful reproduction of Danny Joe Browns solo version while a slightly shortened version of..'Peacemaker highlights yet again how tight the band were live.By the time 'Beaten The Odds' finishes you will be exhausted,happy but exhausted.

This is a superb live disc and is ripe for a deluxe remastered edition reinstating the tracks left off and adding a few bonus live cuts,we know you have them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molly Hatchet Live, 28 Dec 2011
By 
J. E. Fillis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Trouble Live (Audio CD)
Cracking album with all of their best numbers and a version of Freebird which takes some bottle to do but they do it justice - if you like live albums then you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Southern Rock, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Double Trouble Live (Audio CD)
Brilliant live album with loads of Hatchet classics. Standouts are Boogie no more, Flirtin' with disaster and Freebird. Personally I prefer Hatchet's Freebird to Skynyrd's - it has bigger balls/more oomph... take your pick. So shoot me!
Double Trouble Live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 May 2011
By 
Mr. R. A. Jenkins (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Trouble Live (Audio CD)
Have over the years collected many of Molly Hatchet's CD and Albums.

This CD is fantastic and gets better and better with each play.

Free Bird is equally as good as the original Lynyrd Skynyrd version. I personally find each track compliments the one previous to it. A well orchestrated CD played by brilliant musicians.

The reaction from the audience is great and the presence of the artist's can be felt though out this CD.

Molly Hatchet at their best.Southern Rock Rolls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 April 2009
By 
Kingsley Elliff (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Trouble (Audio CD)
Once it finally arrived, an excellent album.
Does what it says on the box, long haired southern rock just begging you to turn up the volume. as a bonus a pretty good version of Freebird in amongst the boogies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the same, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Double Trouble (Audio CD)
I first heard this live recording on vinyl. It was a double album and I felt it was the best live recording I had heard since AC/DC's, If You Want Blood You Got It". However, a few tracks have been omitted from the CD and this alters the feel and tempo of Molly Hatchet's live set. It's still a balls out performance but now something is missing. If you haven't heard the vinyl version then this will wow you, but try to find the original recording if possible, that will blow you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Live Album, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Trouble (Audio CD)
One of the best live albums ever It has a fantastic version of Freebird just love this album from start to finish Just pure class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Trouble Live
Double Trouble Live by Molly Hatchet (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews