Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually very good!
'Hitman' is another game-to-film conversion based on the violent series of the same name where an assassin known only as Agent 47 is hired by a group known only as 'The Agency' to kill the Russian president but he has been double-crossed, which finds him pursued by both Interpol and the Russian military.

It's not very often you can come away from watching a...
Published on 7 April 2008 by Dr Evil

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thank God Vin Diesel pulled out...
This has to be the best video game to film adaptation I have seen. Granted, examples in recent years haven't exactly been earth shattering (Tomb Raider, Alone in the Dark, Resident Evil) however this film is surprisingly good and a solid stand-alone action movie in its own right.

Timothy Olyphant (Die Hard 4.0) is Agent 47, an unnamed assasin who is part of an...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by C. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually very good!, 7 April 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Hitman' is another game-to-film conversion based on the violent series of the same name where an assassin known only as Agent 47 is hired by a group known only as 'The Agency' to kill the Russian president but he has been double-crossed, which finds him pursued by both Interpol and the Russian military.

It's not very often you can come away from watching a game-movie and think "well that was pretty damn good!" but this here is one where I did. I'm a pretty big fan of the Hitman games with Blood Money being one of my favourites of all time and when I first heard that Timothy Olyphant had been chosen to play the notorious anti-hero Agent 47, I had pretty much written the film off completely as I really didn't think he fit the part well at all. I've now watched the film after a friend's strong recommendation and have been proved completely wrong by this casting decision as I now think there would be no one better for the role. The character is confident and has no feelings, just like in the games and Olyphant pulls this off perfectly. If there is ever a sequel (which is most likely...) I really hope that he returns to fill the suit of 47 again. Dougray Scott also plays an excellent part in his role as the Interpol agent, in fact this is one of the best performances I've ever seen him in.

For once the film sticks close to the style of the games and doesn't try and change anything that didn't need changing (like the unneccessaryAlice character in the Resident Evil movies). The story isn't too complicated and doesn't require much thinking, which is what you'd expect from this kind of movie. The action is pretty much non stop and there are some really impressive fight scenes all the way through, so there is never a dull moment. Basically, if you take this movie for what it is, it is a very fun, very enjoyable film that is entertaining from start to finish and it actually surprised me at how good it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xavier Gens delivers a very good film of a video game!, 27 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Hitman games are excellent stealth games which have a large fan base. The critics really slated this film which put me off a bit. After reading some of the other reviews and being a fan of the games myself, I thought I must see this film. I wasn't disappointed as it captures the games perfectly and has a pretty good story in there too within the bloody action. With Hitman and Die Hard 4.0 Timothy Olyphant is a up and coming big movie star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars guilty pleasure, 3 April 2011
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I feel that I really need to defend my five star rating for this film when I have rated some arthouse classics lower.

It is great fun from beginning to end, it features some some dazzling action sequences. It brings together some great supporting actors in prominent roles. Dougray Scott was tremendous in Mission Impossible 2, Timothy Olyphant was tremendous in Die Hard 4, Olga Kurylenko was tremendous in Quantum of Solace.

It is also a really odd mix, the action has the full blooded feel of a John Woo action film, with many sequences feeling uncomfortably full on for a 15 certificate. But at its heart there is a touching relationship between Olyphant and Kurylenko. Although the action is brutal, it really does not take itself too seriously and at heart it is quite sweet.

There is also a good selection of extras, including an amusing gag reel and some even more gore soaked deleted scenes.

The original director was replaced so that the final edit could be brought down to a 15 certificate, but even so the film hangs together well.

With action films you don't expect great art, the art direction is proficient rather than outstanding, the script is similarly proficient, but there is a real energy and sense of fun about this film that makes it one well worth watching and rewatching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thank God Vin Diesel pulled out..., 5 Nov 2011
By 
C. Smith "dundeelaw" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has to be the best video game to film adaptation I have seen. Granted, examples in recent years haven't exactly been earth shattering (Tomb Raider, Alone in the Dark, Resident Evil) however this film is surprisingly good and a solid stand-alone action movie in its own right.

Timothy Olyphant (Die Hard 4.0) is Agent 47, an unnamed assasin who is part of an organisation of bald, barcoded killers who are raised as such from birth. Apparently, the role was originally intended for Vin Diesel but he pulled out for whatever reason and Olyphant stepped in. Well, I'm glad he did, otherwise I may never have watched the film - we don't need yet another xXx film, thank you very much. Olyphant brings an certain human quality to the role and performs well within the contraints of Agent 47's character.

The film does suffer somewhat from an attempt at an over-complicated storyline at times (and this is the only reason why I restrained myself in giving the film 4 stars), however this film is all about the action and there is no shortage of that. Watch out for the brilliant scene involving four other barcoded assassins in a swordplaying stand-off with Olyphant - an original take on your run-of-the-mill Tarantino-esque Mexican stand-off, to say the least.

The action scenes are very slick and can be wonderfully graphic at times. The penultimate fight scene in particular is reminiscent of a certain scene from American History X and definitely raised an eyebrow or two, achieving the desired effect.

Overall, this film is definitely worth a watch. Given the film's relatively modest budget of 25M, the results are pleasing and after the film managed to quadruple its budget at the box office, it is no surprise that a Hitman 2 is in on the way. Good effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Action Movie, 26 Jun 2010
This is a solid action movie that you can watch without having to think too much. Since it's based on a game I would consider it one of the better game to film adaptions. For fans of action movies perfectly watchable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good film., 11 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. S. Lewis (Saltash, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a pretty good action film based off a very good series of action games. The plot can be a bit confusing at times and needs several watches until you will fully understand what is going on.

However, there are some fantastic action scenes with great gunfights. The acting is quite good but there are some cheesey one-liners that act as bit of comic relief from all the dying. Recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I was expecting, 3 Feb 2009
I watched this in the cinema, and wasn't expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised. It had the right combination of action and intrigue, but perhaps there was a downfall to the film- it was very complicated and the plot was often confusing. Timothy Olyphant did a good job in the movie, and the director managed to bring the game to life for those of us who hadn't seen it. Overall a good film, I'd recommend it. However, I don't think it will be to everyone's taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Hitman" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc - Buy The UK Version..., 6 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
As a one-man bald-headed semi-cyborg assassin with a very tasty set of side arms – Timothy Olyphant cuts a dash as the barcoded killer that maybe has a heart as well. There’s also a truly brilliant piece of choreography in the fight out sequence with a girly opponent on a subway carriage sat in a dock…

But British fans should be aware that the ‘US’ edition of the BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' which most aren't.

Buy the UK version instead - it's dirt-cheap now - a looker on the Format - and a half decent popcorn-munching guilty pleasure into the bargain...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HITMAN IS A HIT!, 10 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. S. A. Woodward (Stoke-on-Trent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having never played the video game or knew much about it, I decided to watch this on pay-per-view not expecting a great deal from it to be honest. I had read mostly negative reviews when it was released on the cinema but I like Timothy Olyphant, excellent in gritty western series Deadwood and good as the villain in Die Hard 4.0, so I thought I would give it a go. And I'm really glad I did. This is slick entertainment from beginning to end and it isn't just `all' action. There is a plot and some characterisation and build up to the set pieces, some of which are stunning. One of the best being how the Hitman escapes from his hotel room when raided by an army of Russian cops using a bomb attached to the door and a rope hanging over the balcony. The ensuing chase through the hotel is superbly done. Olyphant is a revelation in this role. His performance is understated but charismatic. The look of the Hitman is very cool to say the least and Olyphant carries it off with style. Olga Kurylenko as the prostitute he comes to protect is also very good in this, boding well for the next Bond movie she's starring in, Quantum of Solace. Dougray Scott is also effective as The Inspector, an Interpol agent whose sole obsession is to track the Hitman down. I expected a childish video game movie but was rewarded with an excellent thriller featuring a great new action hero.

I will certainly be investing in the DVD and I hope they do a sequel.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars don't complain but not much enjoyable, 19 Jun 2008
By 
Chang H. Park "ruccki" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
watched this film with a bit of expectation as it had lots of stars from other viewers. yes probably enjoyable for those who love to see fluffy action scenes but was not for me. just plain and boring. I will give 2 stars, but up to 3 stars if you are a fan of action movie with no story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman [UMD Mini for PSP]
Hitman [UMD Mini for PSP] by Xavier Gens (UMD Mini for PSP - 2008)
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews