Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie Magic
Arguably the best superhero movie of all time, and certainly the first decent one, is Superman: The Movie.

From the rousing opening credits to the iconic fly-by at the end, the film remains one of the most enjoyable spectacles you could ever see and even improves on dvd. The sound and picture quality is excellent although the full anamorphic frame is not always...
Published on 15 April 2006 by M. JONES

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it a bird, is it a plane, no..... it's an overpaid Brando
Superman (1978) was the first big-budget reinvention of a super hero for the modern-day audience, and overall delivers on most counts (especially for Marlon Brando, who was paid a record amount for just a few minutes screen-time).
The initial sequence on the dying planet of Krypton sets of a chain of events which are well choreagraphed throughout, from Clark...
Published on 20 July 2000 by chrishyams


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD worked but, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DVD arrived but case was absolutely scratched, was not covered by cellophane. Okay if it was for me but it looked like a dvd had been put in an old case, not good for a present. Purchased a box set from my local shop for a small amount of extra money. Returned item for credit VERY DISAPPOINTING. Will shop local in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated in places but still the ultimate superman experience, 17 Mar 2011
By 
C. P. Ryan (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The film for me is the best of the superman films. From the beginning sequence on krypton to the end where superman tries to save Lois and the emotions he feels at his failure the film balances characterisation with action. You share the wonder of the crowd when superman 1st appears to save Lois in the helipcoter, his inability to understand the motives of Lex Luther and are engrossed during his attempts to save people from the damage caused by the missile. The acting is excellent and reeve was an inspired casting. Lois is a generally positive female lead and Gene Wilder a good mix of the genius and insane. Otis and Miss Tessmarker are unnecessary and add little to the film. Overall the extra scenes do add some interesting extra background and the film moves at fast pass without sacrificing characterisation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor copy, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
badly scratched illegal copy.
copywrite fraudulent issue.
criminal transaction.
i need to be clear on the fact that i assumed i had purchased other than a burnt duplicate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ripped off, 6 April 2014
By 
Miss Burscough (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman (Amazon Instant Video)
Bought this film totally by mistake after searching for Superman on 30day free trail of Amazon Instant Video. No screen comes up telling you it's a pay per view. Feel totally conned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all time great but let down by the ego of marlon brando, 29 Sep 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
superman is a classic,of that there is little argument,it is an adaption from the comic book and can be regarded as a major boxoffice success that generation from generation of viewer has embraced and rightly so as it is a magical film that i have loved as a child and man.

The film stars chris reeve as the awkward clark kent and superman,who is cool,stylish and heroic and regardless of the fact that we all must show a level of disbelief in that people cant see that superman is clark and vice versa,can the removal of glasses and hair parted in other way fool people,this is still a cracking and pretty believable film,even if it can never be true.

The films only fault is in the presence of marlom brando as supermans father who was paid millions for a cameo part such is his ego,he isnt that good and with his crap white hair looks like a right lemon,but thats a fault that cant ruin what is essentially a stormer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for fans, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film hasn't aged well. The effects look old, the screaming Lois comes across as silly, Luthor is more bufoon than villain, and the whole story is too simple and two-dimensional.
Highly recommended for fans, but not anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars made in the70s, 7 Aug 2012
well the begining was bad it gets better than worse the superman movie let me down when i spent 5£ on it at tesco rent or borrow but do not buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A superhero film which fails to fly, 23 July 2007
I know a lot of people will find this review scathing, not least so my brother Anders, who used to be an avid Superman fan. He collected all the comics and I recall many fine afternoons spent in the gardens where I would be Superman and Anders would assume the role of Lana Lang; he never wanted to be a baddie.

This film arrived at a time when studios were in deep financial turmoil. The box office failure of films like 'Camel's Gate' and 'When Mommy Fell In The Lake' had been a trying time for MGM, so they needed a big hit on their hands. Step forward screenwriter Gene Roddenberry and his rather bold designs for a film version of Superman. The studio reluctantly accepted, but on the condition Roddenberry co-direct with Leni Riefenstahl overseeing the direction duties. Coaxed out of retirement, it was her first film since her wartime masterpieces.

The original cut of the film, which still exists, was heavily influenced by Riefenstahl's previous films. A largely German cast filled the roles and the film had a strong political tone, choosing to focus on Superman's quest to turn the world into a left wing democracy, where communism was rife. The strong propaganda alarmed the studio and Riefenstahl was asked to take a back seat while most of the film was reshot.

The movie benefits from strong performances, not least from creepy bad guy Lex Luther, played with sinister charm by Gene Wilder. Wilder is both scary and sensual as he swans about, issuing ultimatums from his swanky Miami mansion. In a bizzare casting twist, the actor originally slated to play Superman, Richard Pryor, would go on to appear in Superman 3. Pryor pulled out at the last minute, leaving the role available. Open auditions resulted in the casting of former Mr Universe, Christopher Reeve as the superhero. Reeve is acceptable in the role and despite wearing padded suits and a hairpiece, delivers on most of his scenes.

A less successful bit of casting is Maud Adams as the snotty Lois Lane. She fails to capture the character's magic from the comic books and her performance is shaky and stilted. The scene where she attempts to seduce Perry White in the printing room is ill conceived and embarrassing to watch.

The DVD cut of this film included some scenes which were not shown in the theatre. I was pleased to see the inclusion of the scene where Clark Kent puts away some ring binders in an office drawer and the much talked about moment where Lois Lane feeds her cat makes a welcome return in this DVD version.

Criticism is due though, wires are visible for all of the flying scenes and Reeve appears to have been dubbed for the best part of the movie by renowned Austrian actor, Gert Frobe. On a plus side, the film does come with a live commentary from Leonard Nimoy. If you want real excitement though, head for the superior 'Superman 3' or watch 'The Caped Man' which came out a similar time, but is not as well known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superman The Movie - VHS, 9 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Regretably, through nobody's fault but my own, I ordered this product on VHS when I intende to really order it on DVD. The seller responded immediately to my mistake and cancelled the order before it was despatched and also refunded my purchase money without delay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superman [UMD Mini for PSP]
Superman [UMD Mini for PSP] (UMD Mini for PSP - 2008)
Used & New from: £19.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews