Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun
US Navy F14s fighting Japanese Zeros just before Pearl Harbour. Survivors picked out of the water by 1980s helicopters. This film is a joy to watch. Filmed on board the USS Nimitz.
When they discover the Japanese fleet approaching Pearl Harbour one of the US Navy officers says to Capt Kirk Douglas 'shall we take it out sir?' One modern day warship against the whole...
Published on 9 July 2007 by England

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seen a lot worse
Nearer 4 stars for me. This is a fine piece of entertainment that doesn't overstay its welcome (running time = 98 minutes). I've always been a sucker for time travel stories and this is pretty good.

This has a good cast, including Kirk Douglas, Martin Sheen and Katherine Ross. The story is incredibly unlikely but somehow it works and the ending was a complete...
Published on 12 Oct 2007 by S J Buck


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 9 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Countdown [DVD] (DVD)
US Navy F14s fighting Japanese Zeros just before Pearl Harbour. Survivors picked out of the water by 1980s helicopters. This film is a joy to watch. Filmed on board the USS Nimitz.
When they discover the Japanese fleet approaching Pearl Harbour one of the US Navy officers says to Capt Kirk Douglas 'shall we take it out sir?' One modern day warship against the whole Jap fleet. Great fun.

UPDATE I've just purchased the Final Countdown on blu ray and the picture quality is excellent. Some of the indoor scenes are slightly out of focus round the edges. I don't think it's the blu ray's fault. It seems to highlight the depth of field. However the outside scenes are amazing! The clarity and colour are so much better than the DVD. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Improvement!., 15 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Countdown [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Final Countdown [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import]
Having Owned This Time Travel Classic On Video & On DVD I Was Delighted With The Transfer To Blu-Ray.
Although Being An U.S.Import I Have Had No Problems Playing This On My U.K. Blu-Ray Player.
A Must For Film Collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Who are you people?", 12 July 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Final Countdown [DVD] (DVD)
What would have happened if an aircraft carrier of today (1980) went back in time to the Pearl Harbor of December 7, 1941? Kirk Douglas (along with a great cast of actors) finds out when a storm (unlike any he has ever seen) transports him back there.
Will this make a difference in history?
What would you do?
I originally saw this movie in the theater. It is really a long advertisement for the technology of the day (1980). However I still find my self watching this every time it comes on TV. It is time to buy the DVD (be aware that there is a wide range of DVD quality out there; best to pick the two disk limited edition) incase they stop showing it. I find my self kibitzing and wondering what would have happened if they stayed a little longer.
Now it is time for a sequel with stealth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars final review, 7 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Countdown [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I love this movie anyway. Enjoyed watching it on Blueray so much. Had to buy this import. Much better than the cheap version we have hear and its region free. I highly recommend you purchase this movie, a brilliant time travel story. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Countdown To A Great Movie, 12 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Final Countdown [DVD] (DVD)
What an outstanding concept for a movie. The idea of a modern day warship being transported back to another war time era of our history is mind boggling. The struggle of the USS Nimitz crew on whether to chance changing history as we know it, or deal with the immenent attack on Pearl Harbor is truly felt by the viewer. The charactor portrayed by Martin Sheen as a civilian, added that extra conflict for the captain to deal with. This movie was excellently made, and the plot rivoting, especially the major twist in the end. I recommend this movice for not only for the sci-fi enthusiast, but the war movie enthusiast as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally Good Sci-Fi Movie, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Countdown [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I first saw this movie on TV in the late 1980's. I purchased the pre-recorded VHS version of this film, then the standard DVD a couple of years ago and was very impressed with the picture quality.
This USA sourced Blu-Ray region free product is scintillating both in picture and audio quality.
Bearing in mind that this film was made in 1980, the quality is remarkably good.
In addition, the 'extras' give significant insight into what went on during the making of the film and have added to the enjoyment.
If you are into time travel sci fi movies and you've got a Blu Ray player with, preferably, a surround sound system, you will definitely be impressed with this movie.
Well worth the near £20 cost. Top marks again, Amazon, for the prompt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seen a lot worse, 12 Oct 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Final Countdown [DVD] (DVD)
Nearer 4 stars for me. This is a fine piece of entertainment that doesn't overstay its welcome (running time = 98 minutes). I've always been a sucker for time travel stories and this is pretty good.

This has a good cast, including Kirk Douglas, Martin Sheen and Katherine Ross. The story is incredibly unlikely but somehow it works and the ending was a complete surprise to me. Unlike one of the previous reviewers I didn't find the acting/script that bad.

OK so I wouldn't buy it at new release prices but at the right price (i.e. cheap) its worth getting and my feeling is that I'm going to enjoy it more when I watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best timetravel movies ever, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Countdown [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Terrific story superb acting throughout. If you have not seen this one I would highly recommend it. If you are into jet aircraft and the like it is quite spectacular. Wont spoil the story as it is best seen then discuss later. Wonderful Blu Ray transfer crisp and the colors are fine. GOOD SOUND TOO WITH THOSE JET ENGINES ROARING OFF THE AIRCRAFT CARRIER. I would go out and buy this one. Cant wait to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great improvement over the DVD, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Countdown [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
This is a review of the Blu-Ray edition of the film, not the film itself.

Compared to the DVD edition (which I also own), this is a huge improvement. The resolution is higher; this gets the extra details and not just blur. The color balance is better: the DVD is rather blue, but the Blu-Ray gets it just right. The only thing wrong with the picture is the occasional speck of dust from the film transfer. I can't comment on the sound, since I only listen through headphones.

The disc itself comes packaged in an unusual slimline case, with a catch that must be pulled outwards from the case before opening. I like the case; in fact, I wish all my cases were like that to save on shelf space.

If you're considering buying the Blu-Ray and are worried about the poor-quality transfers that plagued the DVD releases, don't be. The quality is everything that can be expected from a Blu-Ray release of a 1980 film. Enjoy this cult sci-fi classic again in glorious HD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gtreat film, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great product very hard wearing and simple to use sylish and easy to usetime and again. would buy it again if needs be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Countdown [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import]
Final Countdown [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] by Don Taylor (Blu-ray - 2008)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews