Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hand from The Band
I didn't know who Bobby Charles was when I purchased this record. I bought it solely because "The Band" (minus Robbie Robertson) were the backing musicians. While individual players do stand out, particularly Garth Hudson's unique organ and accordion parts and Levon Helm's incredibly laid-back drumming, the spotlight belongs firmly on Charles' effortless vocals and...
Published on 14 Sep 2006 by Mr. D. Harvey

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some choice moments
When it's good ('Small Town Talk', 'Tennessee Blues', 'I Must Be In A Good Place Now', 'All The Money') it is REALLY high quality laid back country/blues/soul, but the other tracks can be a bit nondescript. Still worth a punt, though.
Published 19 months ago by Tony T


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hand from The Band, 14 Sep 2006
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
I didn't know who Bobby Charles was when I purchased this record. I bought it solely because "The Band" (minus Robbie Robertson) were the backing musicians. While individual players do stand out, particularly Garth Hudson's unique organ and accordion parts and Levon Helm's incredibly laid-back drumming, the spotlight belongs firmly on Charles' effortless vocals and peerless song writing.

Put quite simply this is one of those very rare albums where there isn't a single bad track. The contrasting tempos and moods of the song create a charming variety as Charles swaps between funky country grooves ("Street People", "Save Me Jesus") to exquisitely sweet and tenderly arranged ballads ("I Must Be In A Good Place Now", "Tennessee Blues"), whilst all the while maintaining a coherent and seamless flow across the course of the record.

Despite writing "See You Later Alligator" for Bill Haley in the Fifties and recording this fine album in 1972, Charles remains somewhat of an unknown commodity, which is a shame given the outstanding form he exhibits throughout this heart-warming collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best album The Band never made, 27 Feb 2006
By 
James Tobiasen "anfieldjet" (Cheshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
Bobby Charles is one of those characters who has been around rock and roll for decades (he wrote Later Alligator for example) without ever really achieving great recognition from the general public. This album, his solo debut, is one of the great lost albums. It is broadly a Band-like sound with strong hints of the cajun groove and R&B rhythms that are are strong elements in his musical background. The influence of the Band on this album is considerable with Levon Helm, Garth Hudson and Rick Danko all in attendance, as well as an array of Butterfield Blues Band members. The songs are gentle, subtle and they sneak their way into your consciousness slowly and then take a tenacious hold. And although it all sounds very laid-back (Let Yourself Go is maybe the prime example) and lazy, the lyrical concerns hint at a dis-satisfaction, an oppositional world-view that is expressed through the most simple of stories - choice of friends, the plants grown in the garden, a Saturday night out on the town. Its sounds mundane but it takes you to another, simpler world. Enjoy the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered, 11 Sep 2008
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
I'm in total agreement with the previous reviewers, if listening to this doesn't make you feel better about life, get someone to check your pulse. It's one of those, all too rare, albums where you would be hard pushed to think of ways of improving it. The playing is superb throughout, featuring many musical styles and its appeal grows with each subsequent listen. The vocals remind me of J.J. Cale...no bad thing, in my humble opinion and with the backing of (most of) The Band, you can be assured that the "feelgood factor" is second to none. Rhino have just re-issued this CD and you can pick it up for around a fiver, so do yourself a favour and buy it...you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good place, 13 Oct 2011
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
"Wild apple trees blooming all around,
I must be in a good place now"

Louisiana-born Robert Charles Guidry (1938-2010) was one of those less than famous people who nevertheless changed the course of rock `n` roll, even if slightly.
Anyone who could write not only See You Later Alligator but three of the great Fats Domino`s best hit songs - Walking To New Orleans, It Keeps Rainin`, and Grow Too Old - deserves our gratitude. The last named is included on this self-titled `72 debut, a now-classic album that not only brought this lovable man into our lives but also has a killer bunch of backing musicians, comprising four-fifths of The Band, and other luminaries such as Geoff Muldaur, Bob Neuwirth, Ben Keith, Amos Garrett, David Sanborn, and Mac Rebbenack (aka Dr John). Now, that`s some back-up band!
When I had the LP, I always thought it was a rather muddily produced record, but the CD sounds just fine, with the singer`s unassuming, languidly smoky voice well to the fore. The songs are mostly wonderful, highlights for me being the tenderly lovely I Must Be In A Good Place Now, the irresistible Small Town Talk with its slow tempo and whistled intro, the gorgeous Tennessee Blues, and his own rollicking version of Grow Too Old.
One or two of the songs drag, and are not, with the best will in the world, his best. Save Me Jesus and He Got All The Whiskey are repetitive, tending to slow down proceedings, which is a shame. They`re not bad tracks, just a little trying, especially the latter, a song that doesn`t really go anywhere.
This is still essential, Bobby Charles being something of a minor legend in the New Orleans area - as well as in the restless history of rock `n` roll music.

"I want to go out dancin` every night
And I wanna see all the city lights,
And I wanna do everything, that I`ve been told
But I`ve got to hurry up before I grow too old.
And I wanna take a trip around the world
And I wanna kiss all the pretty girls..."

I hope he got his wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic sounds, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Søren Eigaard "Gilzean" (Odense, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
A classic record from the early seventies with the almost forgotten Bobby Charles. Lots of Band-sound with contributions from Rick Danko, Levon Helm & Garth Hudson and it sounds a lot like the solo-album, Danko put out a couple of years later, where he too played Small Town Talk, a high light here. Fine remastering by Rhino, but the booklet is a disgrace without any information of the players, studio and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as I remembered, 31 Jan 2009
By 
D. Corser "davidwm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
I had this album on LP when it first came out and always remembered it fondly - buying it on CD didn't disappoint. If you like laid back New Orleans music this is amongst the best on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buried TreasureFrom, 14 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
Superb album features all of The Band apart from Robbie Robertson , an underated gem! Buy this if you like the Bands Brown album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Liavag (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
This is a great album, great songs, laidback country rock, sometimes funky, something like the Band,real organic feel to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... of the classic 'Small Town Talk' & some other fine stuff; if you're old enough to remember the ..., 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
Contains the original of the classic 'Small Town Talk' & some other fine stuff; if you're old enough to remember the 70s, this should bring back some good memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars country and funk united, 11 Feb 2014
By 
W. Driebergen "music collector" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Charles (Audio CD)
Amazing album by Bobby Charles, why this album isn't more well known is a mystery to me! Beautiful songs played with a amazing laid back funky feel (with great parts by Dr. John). Outstanding tracks (for me) are Small Town Talk, Street People and I Must Be In A Good Place Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bobby Charles
Bobby Charles by Bobby Charles (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews