Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2016
Inspiring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
This place is just down the road from where I used to live in Waterfall South Africa. It's real, it touches my soul and I e shown my kids, so that they can learn to appreciate this life they have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
Beautiful music and a deeply touching story. A skillfully made documentary about real life for poor South Africans and a caring orphanage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Brilliant documentary, really pleased with the delivery time and condition. Was exactly what I wanted and wasn't too expensive, would definately recommend to a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
The dvd did not look new, because it had no cellophane packaging, and there was no writing on the dvd itself. It looked like a pirate copy, but it played ok so I kept it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
this is a beautiful documentary simply narrated. the children, orphaned by AIDS, without artifice reveal their sadness and their resilience through their singing. their 'mother' is a powerful presence but always unobtrusive as are the other adults some of whom are famous. i will not mention their names.

the visit of the choir to new york is a stark reminder of the inequalites within the family of the world.

buy it, watch it and tell your friends.

you will want to know what happened next. websites and blogs are available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
The documentary itself is amazing. Tear jerker! However I haven't been able to watch much of the fifth scene as the DVD skips & freezes at this point every time. As with most, I'm too lazy to go through the annoying exchange process, & realise this is just a risk you take when you buy online.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
It's superb!!!!! :) Who loves Africa, children voices, the spirit of African people, MUST HAVE this documentary. I recommend another one too, if you don't mind... "War Dance". Great documentaries about this rich continent, Africa.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
A wonderfully moving and hopeful film about the power of a few people to transform a seemingly hopeless situation into an inspirational outcome. This is about an orphanage in South Africa for Aids children - you follow the lives of some of them and particularly one beautiful smiling girl and her brother and sisters - tragedy strikes, but somehow the wonderful singing in the orphanage helps all of them transcend their experiences and find recognition in the rest of the world.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2009
It's not hyperbole to say that this is one of the most uplifting and emotionally moving films I have ever watched,and I have seen it several times. Everyone with even a passing interest in South Africa and/or the issue of HIV/AIDs should see this. The film is gentle, intimate but not intrusive, and covers life, death, family and childhood for the kids of Agape Childcare Centre in Durban. It will make you think twice before next complaining about your lot and marvel at the resilience and spirit of these children who have lost so much to AIDS yet continue to smile, and sing with gusto.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)