Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading delight: Spiral Economy Light Bulb by Philips
I use bright lights for reading. Previously I have used Philips 'Pro Halogen' 60 watts bulbs which are no longer available, or 'Pluslite' spiral 20 watts which are also no longer available. I searched Philips current light bulb product list and decided to try the new Tornado spiral 20 watts. This bulb produces dense bright but soft light which is easy on the eye when...
Published on 9 July 2011 by I. B. Pearson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive
Got this because it was the recommended bulb for the fitting. Takes time to reach brightness, but I'm resigned to that with all bulbs these days.
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading delight: Spiral Economy Light Bulb by Philips, 9 July 2011
By 
I. B. Pearson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
I use bright lights for reading. Previously I have used Philips 'Pro Halogen' 60 watts bulbs which are no longer available, or 'Pluslite' spiral 20 watts which are also no longer available. I searched Philips current light bulb product list and decided to try the new Tornado spiral 20 watts. This bulb produces dense bright but soft light which is easy on the eye when reading. Switch on is prompt and full. On this occasion search to replace earlier preferred choices provided an improved alternative. These 'Tornado' bulbs come in other sizes and fittings. I regard the Tornado bulbs as worthwhile upgrades and recommended them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright energy saving light bulb, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
Unlike many other energy saving light bulbs, this one was advertised as lighting up immediately - and it does! I'm delighted with the brightness too and will be buying more like this, when I need them. The cost with Amazon was very good too, especially as so many of these bulbs are really expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice bedside reading light., 12 Jan 2012
By 
D. L. George "wilscombe" (Cirencester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
This item was for a desktop-style lamp used at the bedside. It is a perfect size for the smaller lampshade and produces a very pleasant, warm, light that is also perfect for reading. Given the long-life and low price, it has to be a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually 20w = 91w equivalent, 14 Aug 2013
By 
D. Henry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
On first impressions these start fast and seem well made, as you would expect from Philips.

However the spec listed is not correct, off the Philips Box it reads:

Power: 20w = 91w equivalent
Brightness: 1250 lm
Lifespan: 12 years 12,000 hours
Colour: Warm White 2700k
Rapid start: 60% brightness in 5-30 seconds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars light on the subject, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
These were good value. They seem brighter than other similar 20w energy saving light bulbs I have bought before and claim to be equivalent to 97w in the old tungsten bulbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and good, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
This light might not beat the new LEDs on energy usage but the lumens it produces is very good.
Light quality is also pleasant, it seems to get to the full brightness fairly quickly, but I have not measured it.

1250 Lumens (per a different reviewer below) and 20 watts, that would be 62.5 lumens per watt. Still better than more expensive LEDs.

UPDATE: no problems but check in your local supermarkets - I found the same light for 3.5 in Sainsbury's, drat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Bulb for the Money, 20 July 2012
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
Ordered the bulb on Monday and it arrived on Thursday with free delivery(wanted it to replace the light I had in my fish tank)however the fitting was too big, found a place for it in the kitchen when a bulb blew and it's a lot brighter than the bulb that was there before, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excelent, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
product is excellent and working. recomended seller. Will buy from him in future. i had no trouble using it. i am very happy with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars for the bulbs no stars for the way they were packaged, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. I. Tyrrell (Colchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
Came in a box that was too large with no protection one bulb was broken but the other three are still going strong over a year after purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not dimmable!, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips Tornado 20W E27 CFL T3 Energy Saver Light Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
I carried out a search on Amazon for dimmable energy saving bulbs, and this one was one that the search produced - bit it's NOT dimmable. In fairness, the description doesn't mention that it is dimmable but I kind of assumed that it would not have popped up in the search otherwise (that's how naive I am!).

However, it's a great looking bulb and very bright - even though it doesn't function properly in my HiLo Security Light. Product arrived well packaged and very promptly from Amazon. Just wish it was dimmable that's all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews