Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original hits and something more
One of the risks associated with buying hit songs from the 60's is that you never know if you will get the real deal until you put the CD on!
The are a lot of re-recordings of Bachelors songs around, but the good news is, not on this new album from Decca/Universal. This package of 25 songs contains 23 original Decca singles, 17 of which made the top twenty.
All...
Published on 21 July 2008 by J. Leyland

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD cover
I am disappointed because what is stated on cover is not what is on the cd .loking forward to hearing some tracks but they did not exist.
Published 10 months ago by DENNIS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original hits and something more, 21 July 2008
By 
J. Leyland (Blackpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
One of the risks associated with buying hit songs from the 60's is that you never know if you will get the real deal until you put the CD on!
The are a lot of re-recordings of Bachelors songs around, but the good news is, not on this new album from Decca/Universal. This package of 25 songs contains 23 original Decca singles, 17 of which made the top twenty.
All the massive songs are there, Diane, I Believe, Marie, No Arms Can Ever Hold You etc, but among the non-hits there are some classic and well crafted recordings of songs that suited 'the boys' perfectly. 'If Ever I Would Leave You' (from Camelot) is one such number. I well remember hearing them perform it live at The Royal Court Theatre in Liverpool; the audience went wild with a standing ovation! It should have been a hit record, so maybe now, as part of this CD it will be. The two remaining tracks are recent recordings by Con and Dec Cluskey (the three original members have not performed together since January 1984 - mores the pity).
'Gortnamona' bears witness to their Irish roots and 'Somewhere' is totally typical of the powerful ballads that Decca used to find for Con Cluskey to sing his heart out.

But, is it 'the very best of The Bachelors?' No. Of course, an album like this has to have all the big hits - that's why people loved them so much and still do. The group recorded over 350 songs with Decca over a ten year period alone and there are some amazing songs, beautifully recorded that have never seen the light of day on CD. 'Sally' (the Gracie fields song) 'Invisible Tears' 'Put your Head on My Shoulder' are just three that spring to mind. Come on Universal - let's have another compilation with their best album tracks!

If this CD charts (and I suspect thats likely), it will be a lasting testament to the tremendous vocal versatility of John Stokes (the one with the bass and supplier of those lovely soaring high harmonies)Dec Cluskey (lead guitar and low harmony) and Con Cluskey (rhythm guitar and lead vocal).

So....go out and buy this slice of 60's pop history. These fabulous recordings will have you hitting the replay button on your stereo for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers in Harmony!, 23 Aug 2008
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
This CD is not the most comprehensive release of The Bachelors tracks (that honour belongs to the double CD ' The Bachelors - The Decca Years', also available from Amazon). However it does feature most of their best-known tracks, including the US no.1 'Diane' and of course the title track 'I Believe'. The brothers are celebrating their Golden anniversary in the music business, and one of the highlights of the CD are the excellent sleeve notes written by Dec Cluskey himself. The fantastic harmonies alone make it worth buying this CD, plus the big endings and seamless key changes. Not many groups last 50 years in showbiz, but this album makes it quite obvious why The Bachelors are the exception to the rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy listening, 2 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
pleased with this easy listening Cd as the bachelors were a favourite of my late mum delivery and packaging were very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories of some great songs..I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors, 24 Aug 2008
By 
V. M. Brown (Devon. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
I've always loved the Bachelors and grew up listening to their music, dad was always playing them...of course I had a crush on them, after all they were two great looking blokes from Ireland with superb voices.
It's a great CD with all my favourite songs and makes for wonderful lazy Sunday morning listening. Just to sing along with none of the hissing and static that used to go with vinal records is a bonus as well.
If you are a fan of the Bachelors then buy this CD I can promise you won't be disappointed. Just listening to Marta...wonderful,hmmmm!!, happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
Great cd forgotten some of songs but after hearing them again it took me back to my youth great nostalgic cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ...Yes, but where's 'The Unicorn'?, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
If you want a basic single CD of The Bachelors Greatest Hits, this one will do it for you, but I was personally a bit disappointed that 'The Unicorn' wasn't among the track listing. No problem, ultimately, because this 'Golden Anniversary' Hits collection contains the trio's biggest-selling songs. rendered with their consummate professionalism and emotive warmth. 'Diane', 'Charmaine', 'I Believe' - they're all there. Strange to think that the same producer of their hit 'Charmaine' - Shel Talmy - also recorded the likes of The WHo and The Kinks in all their early feral fury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD Bachelors, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Sandra Bennett (Rotherham South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
Mum was surprised to receive this at Christmas as she did not think she would ever see
anything on the shelves again. She can't take it out of the CD player.

Arrived on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
Fab taking a trip down memory lane with this album!! Item exactly as ordered and came in very good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Bachelors, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
Very good CD and certainly brings back memories.

I also would certainly recommend using this supplier for both the speedy service and packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Irish gold, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic compilation of the hits of the group which my Mum has enjoyed all her life. We played the CD for her to stimulate some memories and provide a talking point, as she has dementia.

Well worth the price - and delivered very fast too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors
I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors by Bachelors (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews