Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars13
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2010
Have not used this extensively yet but have copied a couple of holiday camcorder videos. The first one i copied using a manufacturer reccomended DVD-R took as long as the running time of the video itself to copy using the maximum speed setting. The second time around i used a Sony DVD-R and changed the speed which i found in the advanced settings to 4x and it completed in 6 minutes. Installation was quick and easy and the pc (with windows XP) recognised it right away.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
A lttle larger than other drives, but it was easy to set up and it works well. There are no worries about marginal performance from USB as in others, because it has its own power supply. I'm happy!
33 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
Im not a computer tech, but this is a very reliable peice of tech, just connect the usb to your computer + plug in power supply and away you go. ive had no problems as far as listening to music + watching films
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
a good solid sturdy external CD drive is what I was looking for, mostly for importing audio CDs (and "backing up" audio files) and this does the job admirably. It's not exactly mega-slimline, and does need its own power supply rather than take power via the USB - but since i wanted something robust that wouldn't fall apart just by looking at it, or take an age to import a CD, I picked the right one.

the software takes a fair while to install, but once it's on and the computer's rebooted you're good to go. Zips through an audio CD much faster than my PC's old internal drive did!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This LG drive has been sitting obdurately on my desk, doing it's thing for a year now with absolutely no problems at all. It's slightly old-school in appearance: it's quite large in comparison to the latest designs, and at full whirr it does get rather loud. Connects via USB, and has it's own independent power supply.

Nevertheless, it's reliable and pretty quick. I used to have so many problems with these infernal devices - they were always having to be replaced for one reason or another, and it's nice to be able to (almost!) forget it's there.

A good value, chunky, strong machine. Half a point off for the larger than average size.

Edit 01-09-10: Still working well.

Edit 26-04-12: Still working well!

Edit 04-12-14: STILL working well!!!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
I have dealt with a lot of drives and this one has prompted me to write my first review on amazon, the drive works ok for cds, some fails with dvds and big problems with dual layers.Usually a new drive might need a firmware update but when you go to LG's website the GE20NU11 is not even listed, further googles searches reveal other people having the same problems with Dual layers. Ive had pioneers/liteons,Asus drives and this has to be the worst performing ever!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
I run a small mITX system with only one internal 2.5" drive that all runs off of a pico power supply so there is no spare power or space to facilitate an internal CD/DVD drive. Hence I needed one that had it's own power supply and used a USB connection as the data interface. This drive fits the bill perfectly, runs like clockwork, always there when you need to read/write from/to CD/DVD and as it has it's own power supply it means that you don't need to buy one CD/DVD drive per machine, you can just move the LG GE20NU11 from machine to machine as required. An excellent purchase and I'd highly recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
I bought the lg GE20NU10 20 external drive ,i find this product excellent it plugs into a USB and you can copy discs fast,I download things from the computer i want to save plus photographs.
I highly recommend this product and well worth the money.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
My PC-resident burner died and I needed a replacement. This one connected up and worked first time without need to install drivers and software. Burns faster than the old PC one which is nice. It's quiet and does just what it needs to. Nice to have lightscribe, though with a ton of conventional discs I've not tried that out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
Excellent burner iv had it burning 30DVD's one after the other without it losing speed or anything. only problem is with this product is the fact its not plug and play but the plug and play dvd burners wouldnt be able to cope with the demands on DVD burning these days.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)