Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you have only one, make it THIS one
I have "discovered" Bonamassa with this album and I have been totally impressed and seduced. It is a top mix of rock, acoustic, blues, etc, with good vocals and exceptional guitar that sounds like ... his own style but tinted with Beck (intro to "Django"), Clapton, even BB King at times ... basically all the good influences.
So after getting this I bought all his...
Published on 15 Oct 2008 by Ramses

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The world is full of "great guitarists", but...
There have of course been many good guitarists - past and present - so, for me, the question is not: how good is so-and-so? (partly because that is impossible to quantify), but more: does their playing move me? Are they able to communicate some real emotion with their playing? The concept of the next great guitar hero has long since bored me - give me good bands with...
Published on 21 May 2010 by Mr. A. J. KNEALE


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST BLUES ROCK SETS EVER, 27 Aug 2008
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live from Nowhere in Particular (Audio CD)
Joe Bonamassa is already one of the best guitarists ever in the blues rock arena.This live release proves that beyond any doubt,I would go as far as saying he could well be the best since Jimi Hendrix.His tone,his creative playing just develops with every release,he's an original,even on blues covers he breathes such a freshness into all he does.His other strength is his voice such depth and soul there it just totally compliments his playing.The band now with keyboard as well,is just awesome the way his band has developed is quite remarkable to now being surely one of the best around.The set recorded on his 2007 tour is a mix of blues classics and songs from his albums,the most recent being the truly stunning Sloe Gin from last year.
This album will be played for many years to come,if you like classic guitar played as well as its possible,here's your man,a band as good as it gets and Joe's fabulous voice on truly great material this is it.You will not hear a better album by anyone anywhere this year,buy with absolute confidence,this is a world superstar in the ascendance,this is the man who will take over ultimately the Clapton mantle ,boy wouldn't it be great to get them together,it would be pretty wonderful.
A fabulous set not to be missed,FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonamassa Classic Rock, 31 July 2008
This review is from: Live from Nowhere in Particular (Audio CD)
The latest CD from the fast rising star that is Joe Bonamassa. I've been following his progress for several years now and have to say how totally heartwarming it is to genuine talent and sheer hard work rewarded in an age of vacuous talent(less) shows & the fast buck. Joe seems to have tapped into an audience that really wants to hear classic rock & blues with a distinct UK flavour; think bands like Free, Cream, The Jeff Beck Group & with the odd tongue-in-cheek musical quotes from progressive bands like Jethro Tull, Yes & even the Beatles! Joe's guitar playing is endlessly inventive, displaying ferocious chops on both acoustic & electric; with a very refreshing lack of Stevie Ray Vaughan influences. As wonderful as SRV undoubtedly was, there was only one SRV & too many modern wannabee guitarists now try to emulate that style- enough already! Unlike many of his contemporaries, Joe has the vocal skills & power to match his guitar playing with artists like BB King & Paul Rogers showing their influences. The CD features much of Joe's set from his marathon 2007 tours, and if you can get to see him live- then you really must. Exemplary sound & production skills from veteran producer Kevin Shirley (Led Zeppelin/Black Crowes) at the helm- one of the best live recordings I've yet heard with the full dynamic range captured from Joe's crack band. Standout tracks include Woke Up Dreaming for it's explosive acoustic playing & dynamics. 'Django' displays Jeff Beck style lyricisms, and the sheer boogie marathon that is ZZ Top's 'Just got Paid'. As John Mayer says in his also excellent live CD "We just launched into a slow blues & 7000 people in L.A. just went nuts - there is hope after all..." With artists like Joe Bonamassa at last achieving the recognition they deserve- there is hope after all for classic REAL rock music in an increasingly banal scene. Amen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of heaven, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album for my daughter, I wanted to inspire her guitar playing but hadn't really come across him before in my raising children, non gig going haze. Wow! I was blown away by this guy, so much so I booked tickets to a gig straight away. Loved it 150% and booked for another immediately on my return. I haven't heard a guitar sing to me like this since I saw Eric Clapton live. My 18 yr old daughter loves him too so I've had to buy my own CD. He is a good clean living well mannered guy so a suitable role model for your kids if you worry about that side of it. If you think you will enjoy a 9 minute guitar solo from a guy who can make a guitar weep and sing get along to his tour. In the mean time get this album, dust off your biggest speakers and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live from nowhere in particular, 3 Aug 2009
By 
A. B. Nutt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've Been listening to Planet rock for a few years , and through them made me aware Of Joe Bonamassa . Bought Slow Gin ,then the Ballad of John Henry . This By any means is the best work I've heard from him so far . It might not suit everybody's taste , but that's their loss . Thoroughly enjoyed , and can't recommend this enough . I play guitar , and seriously , this is good . JUST ENJOY .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont think, buy!, 28 Sep 2008
This review is from: Live from Nowhere in Particular (Audio CD)
This is the best live blues album for years.
Like Robert Cray?, then this is for you.
Dont think just buy it.
Love from Joe's mum (not).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one Joe Bonamassa album ..., 19 Sep 2008
This review is from: Live from Nowhere in Particular (Audio CD)
... buy this one. Listen to it, then go and buy the rest of his catalogue. An excellent blend of blues and rock and most things in between, this shows off Joe's touch, feel and tone when it comes to delivering music his way. From the inspiration that is Bridge to Better Days to the emotion that goes in to Sloe Gin and the energy of Woke Up Dreaming - can he play that any faster?! - this will not disappoint anyone who remotely likes blues music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but short, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Harsh Critic "Fan of Great Music" (Ramsgate, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live from Nowhere in Particular (Audio CD)
I totally agree with all the reviews raving about the quality of the music and the performances. However, what no one has mentioned is how short the CDs are: a total of 100 mins over 2 CDs. Remember that you can get nearly 80 mins on one CD. Surely more could have been added to make these even better value and give his growing fanbase more of his tremendous extended tracks. There are two extended tracks which show Joe at his best. I'd like to have heard even more of these and more acoustic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top live album, 3 Mar 2012
This album shows the quality of the artist, a must for any blues or rock fan. Buy it for india/mountain time alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe B live, 9 Jan 2012
By 
W. Adams (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live from Nowhere in Particular (Audio CD)
follows a blues / rock format, its great rock without the POP. Great guitar anthems that help eat the road miles. i prefer the the Albert hall live album for the Sloe Gin track (better detail in recording)but only minor comment. Beyond guitar there is also great supporting musicianship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 13 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live from Nowhere in Particular (Audio CD)
Bought this album recently after hearing India/MountainTime on Planet Rock and can't stop playing it. I put it in my top five live albums of all time. The afore mentioned track will make the hairs on your neck stand up. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live from Nowhere in Particular
Live from Nowhere in Particular by Joe Bonamassa (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews