Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars macabre and interesting film...
Seth is an 8 year old..growing up in the harsh realities
of the post second world war era..in the states(Idaho),
with his mother..and guilt ridden father..helping out
at the gas station,whilst waiting for the return of his
older sibling from the war in the pacific.

His whole world changes however,the day he decides his
neighbour widow...
Published 12 months ago by freddy47

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars HAVE YOU BEEN EXPLODING FROGS AGAIN?
I admit. I missed it. There is clearly some sort of metaphor and symbolism at work. The semi-surreal background kept he thinking about what is really happening. Seth Dove(Jeremy Cooper)is a young boy with a wild imagination growing up on a farm in Idaho. He believes the widow (Lindsay Duncan) next door is a vampire. His name oozes with symbolism, but I missed it. I...
Published 10 months ago by The Movie Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire movie or not?, 18 Jun 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dolphin Blue is an enigmatic English woman who lives alone in the country in fifties America. She has pale white skin and always covers her head and wears sunglasses when she goes out. Her young neighbour Seth decides after reading a book with a similarly dressed woman on the cover that she must be a vampire, and then his best friend goes missing so that proves it. When his beloved older brother returns home from the Navy and seems to be getting involved with her Seth decides he must do everything in his power to save her.
This is a very slow and melancholy film set in the a remote rural area and only just enough happens to keep the casual viewer watching but it is fascinating and you will soon be dragged into the strange world of these little boys and the prejudices that abounded in fifties America.
These people were dirt poor and the director has gone to great lengths to accurately portray the world in which they live.
The ending is tragic but inevitable but there is a big red herring before you get there.
If you want a film that makes you think this may be for you.
There is no real gain in getting it on blu ray as the picture is quite grainy but it is a full screen presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HAVE YOU BEEN EXPLODING FROGS AGAIN?, 21 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I admit. I missed it. There is clearly some sort of metaphor and symbolism at work. The semi-surreal background kept he thinking about what is really happening. Seth Dove(Jeremy Cooper)is a young boy with a wild imagination growing up on a farm in Idaho. He believes the widow (Lindsay Duncan) next door is a vampire. His name oozes with symbolism, but I missed it. I suppose the symbolism involves the title, "The Reflecting Skin" which is mentioned late in the film.

His brother Cameron (Viggo Mortensen) shows up from watching a-bomb tests and falls in love with the woman whose dead husband's name was Adam. More of the metaphor? Adam's first wife was supposed to have been a succubus according to lore. There is diverse religious discussions among the kids involving angels. The black Cadillac??? Was that the grim reaper?

At times I felt I was going to watch another "Sailor Who Fell From Grace From the Sea" combined with "Summer of '42" combined with "Pan's Labyrinth". Sheila Moore, as the mom reminded me of the moms I grew up with before Valium. The movie had been fascinated and interested the whole time. If I had caught the symbolism, I would have perhaps gone 5 stars.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, adult themes. Male rear nudity (Viggo) and B&W photo. I obtained this film on a horror film 8-pack at Walmart, although this is not really a horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars macabre and interesting film..., 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seth is an 8 year old..growing up in the harsh realities
of the post second world war era..in the states(Idaho),
with his mother..and guilt ridden father..helping out
at the gas station,whilst waiting for the return of his
older sibling from the war in the pacific.

His whole world changes however,the day he decides his
neighbour widow woman ...is a Vampire!!!..(inspired by his
Fathers' story telling)..he then thinks that she is responsible
for all the terrible events occurring around him......

Well worth a watch...you won't be disappointed....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reflecting Skin, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A masterpiece. Hauntingly beautiful and creepy at the same time. The picture, the pacing, the music are exquisite. I first saw it in the mid-1990-ies, and could never forget, despite hundreds (maybe thousands) of other films I've seen since then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rare horror film so different from all other films, which ought to be more known ! Great, beautiful, moving .... !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different!, 1 April 2013
By 
P. Sadler (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent offbeat film. A change from the usual Hollywood s***. Didn't think it would play on our TV, it, (the TV) being quite old, but it did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb59c20c0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews