Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do what? Av it.
I read a review of The Football Factory that said the characters are so "orrible" and "hateful" it was impossible to like them at all! You have to think that that particular reviewer knows nothing about the subject matter of the film he was writing about. Does he think that hoards of footie hooligans, who delight in knocking seven bells of tar out of each other, want to...
Published on 28 Mar. 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE ISLAND RACE? BIT OF A DISGRACE
Based on John King's overrated book (his others are even worse), Football Factory the film has also been wrongly raved about, its reputation enhanced by a series of shoddy rip-offs (Green Street is way more repugnant). The fun begins with a gimmicky, scene-setting montage and a kicking soundtrack. Away we go and it's straight into the cliches and bad boy language as Danny...
Published 3 months ago by SIMMO SEZ


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WATCH GREENSTREET, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
L. Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Only one film about football firms worth watching and that is greenstreet. this film is watchable but pretty poor. Not really very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre and violent brit-flick, 18 Nov. 2007
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Football Factory is based on John Kings novel of the same name, focusing on a thuggish bunch of Chelsea fans who live for the weekend when they can beat rival fans up and smoke bomb pubs etc. etc.

The subject of football violence is definately an interesting one and there are hundreds of books written by former hooligans who grew up on the terraces in the 1970's. The trouble is, no-one seems to be able to make a truly good film about it. ID is so so and Green Street is a poor effort at making that Hobbit from Lord of the Rings look like a hard man. I was hoping The Football Factory would break the mould but sadly it's another mediocre effort. The film just seems too similar to Trainspotting for me. It's as if a thousand film directors used Trainspotting as a template for nearly every brit-flick that has come after it. The Football Factory has the central character questioning his direction in life and providing narration, a very similar pumping soundtrack, similar grim looking pubs and council housing and the same casual violence. What it doesn't have is the originality, the script or the charisma in it's characters. Danny Dyer seems to only be able to play loutish cockney lads and everyone else in this film is utterly horrible. The only nice touch is the sub story of the two war heroes moving to Australia to escape a country going to the dogs. All that said, the film is reasonably entertaining and there is some decent bits of humour and plenty of action. One to watch with the lads probably as I can't imagine women enjoying a single thing about it.

Like this? Try: ID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Football Factory [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really love Danny Dyer’s films and this one is not the exception. The acting is great and the plot is easy to understand. The best is the Blu-Ray disc is “REGION FREE” and I can watch it with no problems here in South America. I wish there were more Danny Dyer’s films available in "Region Free" format. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching if you like the genre, 13 Nov. 2013
A bit of an odd genre, the football hooligan film, nevertheless a part of British culture. Over the top, and simplistic, this is not meant to be a documentary but a piece of entertainment - and for people of my generation who understand a little of the football hooligan era, a very entertaining hour and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Footy Fun, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
Tmvipan (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the best football hooligan of them all! And there's quite a few out there now. Great idea, script, and totally convincing performances from an excellent cast. If you like non stop swearing, drugs and a couple of huge fights then this is for you! Strongly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good Nick Love, Danny Dyer combo!, 23 Jan. 2014
I had great expectations of this film and I wasn't disappointed. It's a film that's easy to watch (if you don't mind the odd fight scenes)and one that I could watch again and again. If you want an in depth storyline then this film isn't for you, but I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Football fanatics, this is just your movie!, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Football Factory [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A great cast with cockney legends like Danny dyer, this is a classic movie of the stereotypical outset of British football. The audio and picture is also stunning and for the price you can purchase this blu ray is a bargain! Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mother of all footie hoolies film!, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
B. Tan (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've seen and owned almost all films that deals with the subject of football hooliganism (From the original The Firm to the run of the mill Hollywood storyline Green Street Hooligan)and my conclusion is this is the very best! The heading on the dvd cover says it aptly, "A nose-bursting blow to the senses, totally infectious, hilarious and gripping from start to finish" You don't need to be anywhere remotely interested in football to watch it. Action, humour, witty dialogue (maybe only to a non-English?) sex, drugs and rock n roll (the soundtracks at least) Fast paced entertainment that will bring a smile to your face. Filming was shot stylishly and every character portrayed is as real as it gets. Its one of those few movies that I'll watch much more than once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars magic, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
tarintino meets football well worth a Saturday night in to watch well acted and plenty of action dany dyers best film by far plus a lot of well known faces ive used novostock a lot and have never been disappointed always 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars watch green street lol, 1 Nov. 2013
Watch Green Street , you avin a laugh . This film is 10 times better , real football hooligan culture.Green Street is a Americanized film for the Yanks to try and understand football violence . Nick Love is a legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Football Factory [Blu-ray]
The Football Factory [Blu-ray] by Nick Love (Blu-ray - 2008)
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews