Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The comedy duo at their absolute best!
Series 5 is finally here, and it just keeps on getting better!

The format is still the same - opening with the usual news items, guest stars - (another seriously scary looking woman!) more news, serials and more sketches.

Well, this series proved to be one of the best, because it contains Two Ronnie's fans most beloved sketch of all time - "Fork...
Published on 14 Jun 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The 2 Ronnies could describe the sender better than I !
With "The Two Ronnies" season 5 and its Christmas Specials they arrived together in a cardboard package without any effort to add any padding, I could call such a person who would post DVD's in such a way a Stupid Bastard, however having been brought up better than that I will not.
Published 8 months ago by DavidJohnStock


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The comedy duo at their absolute best!, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 5 is finally here, and it just keeps on getting better!

The format is still the same - opening with the usual news items, guest stars - (another seriously scary looking woman!) more news, serials and more sketches.

Well, this series proved to be one of the best, because it contains Two Ronnie's fans most beloved sketch of all time - "Fork Handles!" an absolutely diamond sketch that was nothing short of genious, beautifully played out by a deadpan Barker and irritated Corbett.

Thought it couldn't get better? Oh yes it can! Follow this up with the series' best serial to date- the wonderfully Spike Milligan penned, "Phantom Raspberry blower of Old London Town."

Then there's the equally funny sketch "Cain and Abel Church of Hampsted Heath" featuring cockney rhyming slang, more (p)ispronnounciation, Dr Death, Barker and Corbett as red indian chiefs, Corbetts witty monologues, Barker's televised appeals for women...and himself... and broadcasts on behalf of all three political parties.

And that's just the first four episodes!

Sp I guess what I'm trying to say, is that for Two Ronnies fans, this just keeps on getting better - this dynamic, well loved comedy duo are at their peak here - I can't remember if they were funnier - and certainly the Fork Handles sketch is legendary.

For newcomers, presented here is the golden age of comedy, when you could still take the mikey out of everything and anything and PC still meant Police Constable and not Political Correctness.

So - add it to your DVD collection - and be prepared to fall off your seat laughing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gets better as the time passes, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly I would like to point out that this season (Season 5) of the great Two Ronnies shows was broadcast between 4 September 1976 and 23 October 1976 - and yes some of the jokes are telling of the time (i.e. not politically correct when compared to our current "standards"). Some of the jokes will require a little explanation for the younger viewers

The running serial through the shows is the iconic Phantom Raspberry Blower of Old London Town, which was written especially for the show by the late Spike Milligan.

Barbara Dickson is the featured singer for this season; once again the age of the show is evident when you look at her clothes and hairstyle.

The musicals are:

- American Indians
- Nana Moussaka and Charles Azenough
- Orchestra Cleaners
- Morris Dancers
- Jehosophat and Jones
- Chelsea Pensioners
- Amateur Dramatics
- Arbroath Pipe Band

The season also includes some great sketches including:

- rhyming slang service at St Cain and Abel Church, Hampstead Heath
- fork handles
- joint Party Political Broadcast (stands the test of time)
- rhyming train journey
- mixed up drinks order
- GPO spokesman

For me the Two Ronnies are well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one yet!, 1 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
About time series 5 is here, it's been ages since series 4 was released but was it worth the wait? You can bet your Dad's car it was!

As it says on the DVD, this is probably the best of all the series. I haven't seen all of them, so I don't know about that but it's certainly one of the best, if anything just because of the Fork Handles sketch! For anyone who hasn't seen it, it's basically just legendary in terms of writing and acting and is easily one of the best sketches in the history of comedy.

But it's not just that. Oh no! This is also the series that features the fantastic Phantom Raspberry Blower (written by the marvellous Spike Milligan) which features various unusual events such as a man and woman's voices swapping persons due to the shock of their attack, displaying the inept capacities of the Police force, someone having raspberries tattooed on their knees, and the main Police inspector falling into a coffin full of.....you guessed it, rapberries.

Other great moments include the speeches on behalf of the three political parties (where they each talk at once), Ronnie Corbett's monologues, the Round of Drinks, mispronunciation and GPO sketches. Each adding a further touch of genius to the series.

A must buy for any true fan. If you thought the last four series were good, you haven't seen anything yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 18 Nov 2011
By 
redversb (Kendal, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The long run of The Two Ronnies must be the best comedy series ever transmitted. Not only is it always very funny, the variety of material almost beggars belief. This particular season has to be one of the best of all, containing wonderful material, including the famous "Fork Handles" sketch. We will never see anything as good again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy!, 12 Oct 2010
By 
Big Kid (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I used to watch the Two Ronnies with the rest of my family as a teenager & still love the combination of these classic comedians. From the witty word-play to the shaggy dog stories- the Two Ronnies are a great advert for all that's good about British comedy. If you aren't a massive fan, but need at least a small dose- then try this DVD. Series 5 is probably the best of these fantastic comedians/ comic actors! Enjoy.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Fast delivery made a birthday treat really happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Ronnies hit top form, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Messrs Barber and Corbett finally hit top form in series five of their long-running entertainment programme. |The famous Fork Handles sketch appears along with many other funny sketches. The serial is the Spike Milligan written The Phantom Raspberry Blower of Old London Town. The musical regular is Barbara Dickson. The eight programmes provide six hours of high quality entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Two Ronnies DVD Series 5, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
As always, the Two Ronnies are brilliant, but we are not keen on the serial sketches and some of the musical guests. Otherwise
very enjoyable. There are so many of these DVDs to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The Two Ronnies what more can you say it includes the "four candles" " fork handles" sketch which to all that know them is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd especialy candles
would recomend it to
any two ronnies fans hope you
enjoy it as much i did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD]
The Two Ronnies - Series 5 [DVD] by Ronnie Barker (DVD - 2009)
7.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews